SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2927 (Misses Blouse)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1777 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/05 10:40 AM
Last Updated:1/13/05 11:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheri said...
Thank you for the heads up on the ruffle hem. I think it is beautiful. I am working on this in chiffon. Will post my results.
2/18/11 1:07 AM
donna mel said...
thanks for your review! it has been many years since you wrote this, but i'm getting ready to order this pattern and sew it in chiffon, so your thoughts, and the comments, will be very useful to me.
3/27/09 10:13 AM
Lanna said...
It looks like a beautiful blouse, and that itwould be great in just about any fabric.
10/28/07 2:12 PM
PsychedOnSewing said...
I just bought this pattern and was also concerned with hemming the ruffles. I decided to sew the 3/8" staystitching, then mold by hand as if it were hand applique, tucking in the raw edge, hand basting as i go along, then stitching. I've done this before with other garments with tight curves and I think this will work with most fabrics. We'll see!
10/24/06 12:53 PM
meanjean said...
I'm just about to make a blouse with such a ruffle, so I searched site and found your review. Thanks for describing what worked and what didn't. That is very helpful. BTW, your blouse is gorgeous!
9/16/06 10:08 PM
clematis said...
YThanks for the warning!
4/6/06 4:41 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Mickey, thanks for the ruffle warning. Irina & Robie, what great tips!
6/15/05 10:49 PM
edube said...
I had the same problem with the ruffle and gave up the whole project. I think Irina's idea is the best: make two and sew them together.
1/14/05 10:40 AM
Robie Kentspeth said...
RE: Rufflegate (I love this term!) I know this would be horribly time consuming but it would look great... How about a hand-stitched rolled hem? They are fairly easy, once you get the hang of them. And they are really beautiful. That beautiful silk would be worth the time!
1/13/05 8:06 PM
Celeste said...
It's on here somewhere, but Gigi has a technique for a baby rolled hem that is just right for this type small hem. See if you can find it and print it out to save for the future!
1/13/05 7:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your blouse is beautiful despite your trauma with rufflegate. I've only been successful with this type of ruffle by cutting two of them, sewing them together right sides together, trimming, and turning. I made a silk dupioni blouse with circular ruffle done this way, and it turned out great.
1/13/05 6:27 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
I have this pattern too and it is hemming the ruffle that has put me off starting it! Thanks for a very helpful review and I will certainly bear in mind the template if a narrow rolled hem on the over locker doesn't work. I have a light georgette earmarked for this blouse. Yours is really lovely, very swish and a beautiful colour.
1/13/05 3:12 PM
KarenP said...
Thank you for the helpful review. Your blouse is very pretty. I've been eyeing this pattern to use with some pretty silk I have. Perhaps I should choose a different pattern for my first foray into sewing with silk.
1/13/05 11:32 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Thanks for the heads up! I have this pattern, too.
1/13/05 11:24 AM
MickeyFan said...
Oooo, Mary, I think a chiffon ruffle in the same color as the silk twill would look stunning. Phyllis, I agree, the neckline is rather low. On me it works because I have no cleavage to speak of...
1/13/05 11:17 AM
PhyllisC said...
MF - I made this up over the summer had the *exact* same problem with the edge on the ruffle. I ended up doing a rolled hem on my serger (and just like you, it required much experimentation.) BTW- how does the neckline work for you? I think it dips pretty low - it's ok on me, but I think many will have to adapt the pattern for that.
1/13/05 11:05 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
The blouse and color is beautiful. I agree with you on the choice of fabric for the ruffle. A softer fabric produces a softer ruffler. Perhaps the next time you could get a coordinating soft fabric for the ruffle. I'm sure that would work.
1/13/05 11:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Butterick 5679

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now