Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1320 (Misses' Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 1734 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/12 2:52 AM
Last Updated:8/31/12 5:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $35.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations on sewing your very first jacket! It turned our very well, and just think of all the new jacket sewing skills you learned from this this project. It's definitely time to promote yourself from Beginner to Advanced Beginnner!
8/31/12 5:22 AM
wordchick said...
Great job and I love the fabric!!! Oh...and forgive me--I completely overlooked that you are "striking the pose" displayed on the pattern! FABULOUS!!!
8/31/12 5:38 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great jacket! Can't wait for the photo shoot pics/poses!
8/31/12 7:16 AM
froggiegirl said...
Great Job Chenille! I agree with Nancy, you should up your skill level now. :) Love the fabric and I'm really happy to see this pattern made up. I love it too.
8/31/12 8:18 AM
marthamyers said...
Such courage! Way to go. Interesting and lovely choice of fabric for this jacket. I am anxious to make it so thanks for the review. You've done great.
8/31/12 8:45 AM
MaryDB said...
Very impressive, especially for your first jacket! Love the print, nice work.
8/31/12 9:46 AM
sewnaomi said...
Great pattern and style. Nice job choosing what to match on the design in the front. Your print was challenging yet you did it well. Love it.
8/31/12 11:07 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful project ! Your coat looks great !
8/31/12 11:11 AM
marec said...
This is a wonderful jacket, and I agree that your level should be changed!
8/31/12 11:38 AM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, you've so upped it up a notch! Well done and it's an absolutlely FAB jacket.
8/31/12 12:31 PM
grays08 said...
I'm so glad you were able to get it done in time. Great job and love the fabric and style!
8/31/12 2:34 PM
VogueMistress said...
Oh, that's just beautiful...what a great fabric!
8/31/12 3:13 PM
Aroura said...
Great job on your first jacket! It is a real show stopper. :) Can't wait to see it on you in more pics.
8/31/12 4:42 PM
chenille said...
new photo shoot..unfortunately my window was too short to stand up in - but I did try! Thanks for all the kind comments :)
8/31/12 5:26 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking coat, you did an amazing job.
8/31/12 5:41 PM
Aixoise said...
Love the Vogue pose! You look much happier in your jacket than the model does in hers. And no wonder - what a great job you did. The fabric's amazing. Congrats!
8/31/12 5:55 PM
nancy2001 said...
Chenille, I love the new photo!
8/31/12 6:07 PM
MNBarb said...
You are really working it! I can't believe how prolific you've been with your sewing...and one cute thing after another. I LOVE this coat and how you've styled it with the leggings and turtleneck. Listen...I think Vogue is calling looking for models!
8/31/12 7:59 PM
PattyE said...
Oh, it looks really great. I'm glad you like this pattern as I plan to make it too. Congrats on finishing.
8/31/12 8:12 PM
Elcue said...
You and your coat are some kind of wonderful.
8/31/12 9:06 PM
Barbara V said...
Wow, beautiful fabric and coat. Looks terrific on you!
8/31/12 10:15 PM
Athene said...
Congratulations on making your first jacket. You look fabulous in it - the fabric print is great and thank you for all your great photos to view.
9/1/12 0:42 AM
Scheri said...
First jacket? Its beautiful. Wow cant wait to see your next.
9/1/12 4:03 AM
blue mooney said...
Good job! Thanks for the review.
9/1/12 5:57 AM
Sarsez said...
Fabulous match of fabric and pattern!
9/1/12 7:37 AM
Rebecca D said...
This jacket turned out just great. Your first attempt? Amazing.
9/1/12 9:22 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Thank you for this review! The photo album is super and your jacket is beautiful!
9/1/12 9:47 AM
DorothyK said...
This jacket is a knockout! Much, much better than the jacket on the pattern cover. Your fabric is perfect and I also love the leopard trim. You look fantastic.
9/1/12 11:43 AM
canei said...
AWESOME...I love the fabric and your garment looks like money...again nice pose!!
9/1/12 12:58 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great job! Perfect jacket to show off the fab fabric! Congrats on diving in with a Miyake pattern for your first jacket! Stunning! I love the leopard trim too!
9/1/12 1:30 PM
Ashford said...
You got flair, Chenille. And, your new sewing skills are working. No one would ever know this was your First Jacket. Since I have not sewed a jacket yet, my favorite part of your review is "a flattering shape on many different figures...practice some tailoring techniques without getting too fitted...a good choice for a first jacket"
9/1/12 2:18 PM
KarlaB said...
When you make a jacket that looks that good, you should definitely strike that Vogue Pose! Great Job!
9/1/12 3:29 PM
ChristineX said...
LOL Great jacket! Additional points for the pose ;-)
9/1/12 7:46 PM
CypGrl said...
Too funny! Love your striking coat and that you are striking the type of pose that Vogue is using so much.
9/1/12 9:04 PM
Marge99 said...
Great use of the fabric. Looks like Op Art!
9/2/12 2:54 AM
1SewSweet said...
Nice jacket and I agree, it does look like art!
9/2/12 8:03 AM
Jrhee said...
Oh, you are too hilarious! Great job on your first coat!
9/2/12 6:06 PM
chenille said...
Thank you all so much. Sometimes my fabric choices are a little out there, and it's nice to have the positive feedback on my "vision". DH had fun playing photographer and I was giggling the whole time.
9/3/12 1:53 PM
becca a said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Great poses, too.
9/3/12 4:53 PM
Sewlful said...
Great Jacket! This pattern is my current obsession. When I find a pattern I like, I obsess over it until I get the fabric and get it made. I'm thrilled to see your review in advance of my attempt. I'm looking for Houndstooth for my version but I LOVE your fabric. And the pose is perfect! Excellent work.
9/4/12 9:22 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Looks fantastic, what agreat job! Isnt winter year round there though? ;) (Im allowed to poke fun, Im a born Alaskan)
9/6/12 5:22 PM
Karine said...
Hard to believe that's your first coat - nice job! It looks great on you - love the fabric! Thanks for the review - I appreciate the tips on the armholes/sleeves.
9/12/12 8:33 AM
jlg said...
Love, love, love this.
9/24/12 7:11 AM
twinkle72 said...
Thank you for all the "in process" photos. The jacket looks great and the fabric is fantastic!
12/11/12 4:48 AM
Anne Cherry said...
I'm plotting to make this jacket...your review has been a great help. Thank you!
8/1/13 6:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by BluestRose on 11/5/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1984 Palazzo Pant
photo
Review by Tailypo on 8/22/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us