Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 2550 (Susie's Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 144 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo
Friend of PR
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/12 8:39 PM
Last Updated:9/8/12 8:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia C said...
Very helpful review. Sorry it did not work for you.
9/9/12 10:20 AM
Karine said...
Sorry this turned out to be such a bad experience. It's frustrating to invest so much time and then not love the outcome. thanks for the review - you may have save others lots of aggravation.
9/9/12 12:49 PM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for the warning! Just reading your quote of the instructions make me choke up. I have a hard time interpreting pattern instruction anyhow, unless there are lots of understandable pictures or I can look up the technique on some book or online, but this sounds like a complete nightmare for you. GACK. Sorry your expertise was wasted on this thing. You have so many more patterns that will turn out just wonderfully. :)
9/9/12 1:59 PM
wendyrb said...
Sorry you had to suffer so others would not have to. 1/8" seam allowances? That's sure playing with fire. I'm with you about how much easier it would have been to have a seam on the body of the skirt to mate with each godet. I have an 8-gore Ralph Lauren knit skirt from Kohls that is made that way. So super simple to sew and flattering on, I keep meaning to make one just like it. I really appreciate your frank review and that you included positives about Peggy's other patterns. She has proven herself with appealing patterns that many have made to good results. My objective view of the skirt is that the proportion is difficult. To my eye, the godet flounce is quite narrow in relation to the length of the straight portion of the skirt. The total length stops at a point that's not so flattering to the shape of a leg. It will be interesting to see if it can work well for someone else. I mean that sincerely and not in any underhanded way. I'd be very happy to be proved wrong- won't be the first time!
9/10/12 9:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/4/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2885
photo
Review by knitmachin... on 7/17/12
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 7881 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 7881 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3629 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 3629 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us