Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5521 (Misses' Dress and Belt) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 327 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:sertyan
photo
About sertyanstar
MALAYSIA
Member since: 5/20/10
Reviews written: 25
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/12 11:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lamstu said...
An interesting idea, and you have the right idea about taking lessons from it. Keep trying!
9/3/12 5:37 AM
Rebecca D said...
The lines of the dress look wonderful on you and if you like them, make another. Now that you've got it all worked out, it should be a piece of cake.
9/3/12 8:28 AM
cocosloft said...
Enjoyed your review - the dress lines are so pretty, hope you willl give it another go!
9/3/12 9:05 AM
Lalena said...
I agree with your conclusions about the colors and the mistake of using 3 different weight fabrics, BUT the lines of the dress are lovely and it looks like you have fitted it very well. The fit on you is great. I would take what you learned, and make another one. (You can call this one a deliberately planned muslin!)
9/3/12 10:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
The dress design is lovely on you. Use this as a test garment and give a try again in anohter month or so. I think you can find the right mix of colors and textures now that you have made this one.
9/3/12 11:30 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Please don't give up on this dress. It fits you so well and it has very pretty lines. Another dress with carefully chosen fabric will be a success!
9/3/12 11:58 AM
Re Becca said...
I have exactly the same fabric temptation with all the color blocking that you see these days. But you really do have to be careful with fabric and grain line. I really admire you gumption to stick it through to the end. Thank you for sharing your experience. I agree that this is a muslin, I can see this in houndstooth and black, or try a solid. You have done a great job on the fit.
9/3/12 3:52 PM
wordchick said...
I loved reading the review on your blog--you're very funny! I love that you were able to take away some lessons from it. I had looked at the pattern in the past and wondered how it would look. Thanks for being so transparent! I'm so glad you shared this and pressed through until the end! :-)
9/3/12 6:26 PM
sertyan said...
Thank you everyone for your encouraging comments!
9/3/12 9:44 PM
lynne1nor said...
Well I rather like your Star Trek Dress! Very inspiring color-blocking. Seems like it might be fun to try again with some different colors.
9/4/12 5:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Lazy Girl Designs 211 Wonder Wallet
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/8/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mini Wardrobe May 2009
photo
Review by kal1 on 5/31/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us