SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5521 (Misses' Dress and Belt)

Viewed 330 times 
Reviewed by:sertyan
photo

 
 
About sertyanstar
MALAYSIA
Member since: 5/20/10
Reviews written: 25
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/12 11:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lamstu said...
An interesting idea, and you have the right idea about taking lessons from it. Keep trying!
9/3/12 5:37 AM
Rebecca D said...
The lines of the dress look wonderful on you and if you like them, make another. Now that you've got it all worked out, it should be a piece of cake.
9/3/12 8:28 AM
cocosloft said...
Enjoyed your review - the dress lines are so pretty, hope you willl give it another go!
9/3/12 9:05 AM
Lalena said...
I agree with your conclusions about the colors and the mistake of using 3 different weight fabrics, BUT the lines of the dress are lovely and it looks like you have fitted it very well. The fit on you is great. I would take what you learned, and make another one. (You can call this one a deliberately planned muslin!)
9/3/12 10:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
The dress design is lovely on you. Use this as a test garment and give a try again in anohter month or so. I think you can find the right mix of colors and textures now that you have made this one.
9/3/12 11:30 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Please don't give up on this dress. It fits you so well and it has very pretty lines. Another dress with carefully chosen fabric will be a success!
9/3/12 11:58 AM
Re Becca said...
I have exactly the same fabric temptation with all the color blocking that you see these days. But you really do have to be careful with fabric and grain line. I really admire you gumption to stick it through to the end. Thank you for sharing your experience. I agree that this is a muslin, I can see this in houndstooth and black, or try a solid. You have done a great job on the fit.
9/3/12 3:52 PM
wordchick said...
I loved reading the review on your blog--you're very funny! I love that you were able to take away some lessons from it. I had looked at the pattern in the past and wondered how it would look. Thanks for being so transparent! I'm so glad you shared this and pressed through until the end! :-)
9/3/12 6:26 PM
sertyan said...
Thank you everyone for your encouraging comments!
9/3/12 9:44 PM
lynne1nor said...
Well I rather like your Star Trek Dress! Very inspiring color-blocking. Seems like it might be fun to try again with some different colors.
9/4/12 5:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

New Look 6091

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8626

photo
by: wenznz

Review