SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> KnipMode Magazine> 01-2011-6 (Jeans with front yoke)

Viewed 262 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 229
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/12 4:35 AM
Last Updated:7/27/14 1:12 AM
Project Photo:KnipMode Magazine: 01-2011-6 by treefrog

KnipMode Magazine: 01-2011-6 by treefrog  KnipMode Magazine: 01-2011-6 by treefrog  
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Update July 2014
I made a second pair of these in a dark-wash stretch denim. I love the front yoke and pockets - a bit different from the standard 5 pocket jeans.

full length
yoke detail

Pattern Description: Low rise jeans with slim fit. The front has a v shaped yoke and angled pocket with coin pocket. The back has a narrow yoke and patch pockets.

Pattern Sizing: 34-46. They are consistent with KM sizing.

Fabric Used: Stonewashed light grey denim. Topstitching thread 2 shades darker than the fabric. Antique silver flat rivets.

Alterations / design changes: My main change was to convert them to a mid-rise jean rather than low rise. Being short, the crotch depth was already at the right height, but I needed to make changes to width above the hip and waist band. I used my favourite jeans pattern template (another KnipMode pattern) as a guide for the shaping, making the lines for the yoke an pocket onto the template and then using that to adjust the pattern pieces. I used the waistband pieces from the template.

Other alterations were to tweak the shape of the crotch curve and adjust the length at mid thigh and mid calf to get the knee and ankle lengths right. These are standard adjustments for me.

I added antique silver rivets to the top of the coin pocket and to the back pocket. DH reckons they look like the electrical contactors for a battery charger and asked if I'd put a heating element in the pockets

grey jeans
front pocket detail
back pocket detail

Instructions: The instructions are in Dutch and I just work from the technical drawing and pattern layout. The construction was fairly straightforward and similar to that of sewing regular jeans, the only difference is attaching the front yoke after the front pockets have been made.

Likeness to pattern photo/drawing: The look very similar to the tech drawing, given that I have adjusted the rise. None of the magazine photos show the top of the pants which is a bit of a shame.

Likes & Dislikes: I like the front yoke and styling of the pockets. They are a bit different to the normal rounded jeans pocket.

Sew again? Recommend it? I'd definitely recommend the pattern and will probably make another pair when these ones are worn out.

Conclusion: I made these a couple of months ago and they are usually in the wash most weeks. A very good sign.


<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Fabulous jeans, the flat rivets on the pockets are very stylish!
9/3/12 5:03 AM
Sigrid. said...
What nice detail on the pockets. Nice to have such a pair that you wear all the time.
9/3/12 6:16 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic jeans!
9/3/12 7:24 AM
TJSEWS said...
What a great fit. Those pocket details are fabulous!
9/3/12 10:10 AM
canei said...
Great fit!!!
9/3/12 10:39 AM
QuikSew said...
Great pair of jeans. I love the rivet details.
9/3/12 10:46 AM
Jrhee said...
I love these, and the rivets are very cute! Your DH's sense of humor is like my DH's.
9/3/12 10:48 AM
Renren said...
Fabulous jeans, great fit--definitely suitable for a rock star.
9/3/12 11:33 AM
jannw said...
Very, very nice!!! Love the pockets and the color
9/3/12 12:28 PM
Levone said...
Great looking jeans!
9/3/12 10:11 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very nice detailing!
9/4/12 5:13 AM
Margaret said...
These look great! Love the rivets!
9/4/12 6:34 AM
KarlaB said...
Wow! These are great jeans! Great Fit!
9/4/12 3:28 PM
Janine S said...
fantastic jeans. love the pocket detail
9/5/12 8:04 AM
cerulean said...
They look great! The rivets add a classy touch!
9/12/12 9:52 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, awesome jeans! I may have to give these a go!
7/27/14 1:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 45793-1018

photo
by: nancy2001

Review
Vogue Patterns 8659

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now