SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1263 (Misses' Jacket)

7 more reviews
Viewed 830 times 
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo

 
 
About miausiaustarstar
NY USA
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/12 10:16 PM
Last Updated:10/30/12 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
61sew4fun said...
I have this pattern and am wanting to make it in a heavy knit. Thanks for the review and I think you should just go for it and wear it. We all need a little drama in our lives! Great jacket!
9/8/12 11:19 PM
Lhan said...
I can't help wondering if the examples that work best in this pattern are those that use a fabric with quite a lot of drape - in spite of the fabric suggestions on the pattern. 61sew etc's plan of a 'heavy kit' seems to fit with that, and I read another review that used a similar fabric, and it seemed to result in a less frustrating and more successful outcome than your experiences. I agree with your comments about the style - very interesting and worth trying - and also that DK patterns are never simple, no matter how casual the finished garment looks! Hang in there, and do try the jacket out - you may well enjoy it more than you think. Thanks for the reviews.
9/9/12 0:14 AM
miausiau said...
I definitely agree with you on the fabric suggestions, sometimes they just seem to be off. I think a linen would work nicely as well as a stable knit. Part of my decisions on fabric were made because of some bargain yardage I picked up. The picture on the envelope looks like a wool but now I believe it to be a slightly sheer cloque after closer inspection. Thanks for your input...I really enjoy hearing from other sewists!
9/9/12 0:55 AM
rivergum said...
Love the look of this jacket in taffeta. Any more pics so I can have a better look?
9/9/12 7:49 AM
miausiau said...

9/9/12 11:47 AM
ktr2567 said...
Oh my god, it's my dream jacket, been looking for something like this. Your workmanship is incredible and I'm just getting back into sewing after a LONG sabbatical. I'll just drool over yours for now;-)
10/8/12 10:19 AM
Merche said...
Your coat looks really beautiful. Just as well you are an expert! Sometimes I wonder what they do over in Vogue with the patterns? The ease in some of them make for two sizes smaller, some other time the pieces are not right. I buy them because I learn a lot from the instructions.
10/30/12 6:32 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thank you so much for the thorough review and especially the sizing comments. I am getting ready to make this and you have helped me.
4/10/13 5:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 1294

photo
by: chesneykat

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
Simplicity 1875

photo
by: WinterQuee...

Review