SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1263 (Misses' Jacket)

7 more reviews
Viewed 803 times 
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo

 
 
About miausiaustarstar
NY USA
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 84
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/12 10:16 PM
Last Updated:10/30/12 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $35.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
61sew4fun said...
I have this pattern and am wanting to make it in a heavy knit. Thanks for the review and I think you should just go for it and wear it. We all need a little drama in our lives! Great jacket!
9/8/12 11:19 PM
Lhan said...
I can't help wondering if the examples that work best in this pattern are those that use a fabric with quite a lot of drape - in spite of the fabric suggestions on the pattern. 61sew etc's plan of a 'heavy kit' seems to fit with that, and I read another review that used a similar fabric, and it seemed to result in a less frustrating and more successful outcome than your experiences. I agree with your comments about the style - very interesting and worth trying - and also that DK patterns are never simple, no matter how casual the finished garment looks! Hang in there, and do try the jacket out - you may well enjoy it more than you think. Thanks for the reviews.
9/9/12 0:14 AM
miausiau said...
I definitely agree with you on the fabric suggestions, sometimes they just seem to be off. I think a linen would work nicely as well as a stable knit. Part of my decisions on fabric were made because of some bargain yardage I picked up. The picture on the envelope looks like a wool but now I believe it to be a slightly sheer cloque after closer inspection. Thanks for your input...I really enjoy hearing from other sewists!
9/9/12 0:55 AM
rivergum said...
Love the look of this jacket in taffeta. Any more pics so I can have a better look?
9/9/12 7:49 AM
miausiau said...

9/9/12 11:47 AM
ktr2567 said...
Oh my god, it's my dream jacket, been looking for something like this. Your workmanship is incredible and I'm just getting back into sewing after a LONG sabbatical. I'll just drool over yours for now;-)
10/8/12 10:19 AM
Merche said...
Your coat looks really beautiful. Just as well you are an expert! Sometimes I wonder what they do over in Vogue with the patterns? The ease in some of them make for two sizes smaller, some other time the pieces are not right. I buy them because I learn a lot from the instructions.
10/30/12 6:32 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thank you so much for the thorough review and especially the sizing comments. I am getting ready to make this and you have helped me.
4/10/13 5:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2010-123

photo
by: jennybaxt

Review
The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6111

photo
by: ryan's mom

Review