SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2011-103 (Godet Pencil Skirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 508 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/12 9:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Great looking skirt!
9/17/12 3:18 PM
ChristineX said...
Well, maybe it was trouble sewing it, but it looks fantastic!
9/16/12 3:58 PM
JudyHan said...
This is a wonder skirt pattern - I made my muslin out of a charcoal grey and the lines were incredible. Kudos to the designer really...thanks for sharin' Nicegirl!! Good job as always!
9/15/12 7:14 AM
JEF said...
Excellent review. My DH thinks like your boyfriend. His primary fitting suggestion is always, "it could be pulled in..."
9/15/12 7:10 AM
taylormade said...
I am wondering how this will look on a "flat bottom?" I have hesitiated making it because of the high waist, which probably I could fudge, but mostly because I always adjust anything for a falt bottom. Anyone had any experience with this issue in this style? Thanks1 Your skirt looks luscious, and your pointers on the godet well taken. Thanks for the review
9/15/12 6:33 AM
Aixoise said...
Thanks for the amusing narration of your skirt construction. As Moonthirty says, it's nice to know I'm not the only one who, shall we say, loses track occasionally. Your results are terrifically flattering; no one but you will know about your little glitches, so don't tell them - just enjoy the compliments.
9/15/12 0:55 AM
Stephanie C. said...
What a fantastic fit on you! Great skirt.
9/14/12 11:05 PM
marec said...
haha...comedy of errors-but you have a beuatiful skirt at the end. Really lovely outfit and you are looking quite svelte in this skirt!!
9/14/12 8:08 PM
zoe said...
Just beautiful!
9/14/12 7:06 PM
madebyj said...
Super work on this tricky skirt - glad you persevered with it...
9/14/12 6:15 PM
Vivienne said...
Looks awesome on you! I have cut out and partially sewn a second version of this.
9/14/12 3:30 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Despite the troubles, you have an incredibly flattering skirt! And the top is cute too!
9/14/12 2:56 PM
SewWil said...
Love your skirt! Good for you for persevering. Great addition to your wardrobe.
9/14/12 12:10 PM
Mufffet said...
The entire look is AWESOME. Colors perfect and look so professional....hair good!
9/14/12 12:06 PM
ConnieBJ said...
You look fabulous! That look is perfect for you - and a great review too!
9/14/12 11:19 AM
moonthirty said...
Your skirt looks wonderful! Hilarious recount of your missteps / ripped seams... It's so nice to hear when others have these issues too! (Sorry) :)
9/14/12 10:55 AM
olgarosita said...
What a beautiful skirt, despite all the problems you had with it! Thank you for the review, this pattern is next to sew on my list :)
9/14/12 10:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 5257

photo
by: sewnaughty

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now