SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 125587-1008 (Patagonia Island Shorts)

Viewed 226 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 233
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/12 7:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Baja Susana said...
You did a wonderful job with those shorts, they look better than the ones you knocked off! Good work!
10/4/12 4:00 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Very good-looking shorts with great details. Yes, the details are a pain to do, but they make all the difference. Belt loops: use Freya's selvage trick or just cut a length of fabric and serge one edge. Fold the fabric in thirds and top stitch. MUCH easier than turning a narrow tube, less bulky, and it mimics RTW.
9/27/12 6:57 AM
Levone said...
Fantastic looking shorts!
9/17/12 3:00 PM
velosewer said...
Wow. These are amazing!
9/17/12 5:45 AM
Mel.J said...
Wow. You are amazing at getting the look you want.
9/16/12 9:50 AM
dawn so cal said...
They are awesome!
9/16/12 9:38 AM
Margaret said...
Great shorts! Love all the details! The belt loops look very nice!
9/16/12 8:16 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice, and an impressive effort. Thanks for your comment on linen-rayon blend. I've found cotton-linen disappointing but now I feel like giving linen-rayon a go. To make belt loops, I cut against the selvedge so that one edge is selvedge and one is raw fabric. Then I fold the raw edge in and the selvedge edge on top of that, then stitch. The result is a neat finish, and no turning!
9/15/12 8:04 PM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic shorts, they look so good. Invest in a Fast Turn Tube Set and those narrow belt loops will be a dream to make.
9/15/12 6:28 PM
QuikSew said...
I love these shorts!! I especially like the belt loops and tabs at the bottom. These, I would wear--a LOT!
9/15/12 10:20 AM
Renren said...
Meticulously done! Sorry about the pain of turning those loops but . . .yep, it was worth it, especially with that rivet decorating the angled v-turn. It was also worth redoing the cuffs and making the pocket templates. Everything was worth it because you've achieved perfection in this project! (Plus you are standing in front of a babbling creek which I hope is fed by meltwater from winter snows, because that probably means you are hiking at a higher elevation . . . and hiking at higher elevations--within limits, of course--is always GOOD!!!)
9/15/12 10:12 AM
1SewSweet said...
These shorts are THE cutest shorts ever! Perfect length, fit, everything! Great job!
9/15/12 8:19 AM
JEF said...
Wow, these are gorgeous. I often skimp/simplify details but clearly I need to cut that out. The details on these shorts just make them wonderful.
9/15/12 7:16 AM
jannw said...
Great shorts and a lovely fabric!! The waistband tabs were worth it!! That and the buttons adds a great detail!! have fun hiking in them
9/15/12 6:32 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Love these shorts - they look just like the inspiration and I am interested to find some linen rayon blend. - sounds lovely!
9/15/12 2:40 AM
cerulean said...
Great style! The really look great! The fabric choice is great too!
9/15/12 0:49 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great looking pair of shorts! So professional.
9/14/12 11:04 PM
Mazzygirl said...
an excellent knock-off! well done!
9/14/12 11:03 PM
wildbluestarz said...
I LOVE these shorts!!!! They are my perfect always on the lookout for style. Not too long, not too short in the leg and not too high or too low a waist.
9/14/12 9:45 PM
Dilliander said...
These look fabulous, you are an ace with pants and shorts! I've been enjoying your reviews of the many lovely and beautifully sewn versions.
9/14/12 9:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2007-125

photo
by: liliv

Review
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Sure-Fit Designs Pants Kit

photo
by: allycovey

Review