SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6604 (Misses' Tops)

12 more reviews
Viewed 570 times 
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 98 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/15/12 8:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Thanks for the review - have this pattern but so far have not been very motivated to use - will keep your comments in mind if I ever get to it - love your pose
9/16/12 12:01 PM
ArtAttack said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. Several of you have mentioned the fabric making a difference in the collar being more prominant but I don't think that would matter. My fabric, although sheer, is very crisp and I used a mid-weight interfacting with body. The collar is just tiny, too small to offset the effect of a large cowl. Some crafty person out there could probably enlarge it but it won't be me! Thanks again for the input...
9/16/12 11:25 AM
Wino said...
Thanks! This is in my stash-I wonder if a crisper fabric would help with the collar issues?
9/16/12 9:14 AM
cocosloft said...
Thanks for the review, good comments! And I do love your model pose!
9/16/12 8:51 AM
QuikSew said...
I keep having trouble with cowl neck patterns. The cowls seem goofy. Thanks for posting the review anyway; I will steer clear of another cowl dud.
9/16/12 6:47 AM
velosewer said...
I do understand the 'fake smile'. Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I was also checking this out, but I won't now. I appreciate your efforts.
9/16/12 3:13 AM
pdiddly said...
lucky you muslined the top first, however, despite the collar problem, I like the effect. Could you make it without the collar? cute/funny poses
9/16/12 2:31 AM
joycea said...
I often steer away from cowl collars due to the issues you mentioned. Could some of the problem be the fabric? I have though sewn some things from a Sandra Benzina pattern and it looked exactly like the pic but somehow it just didn't look right on me...very frustrating when you spend the money and the time.
9/16/12 0:24 AM
SewWil said...
Thanks for taking the time to review this. I've been eyeing this pattern but will pass on it based on your review. I like the "fake smile" picture.
9/15/12 10:18 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
I really like the sheer fabric and your red jeans peeking through. Too bad it did not turn out like you wanted. Thanks for putting this in the data base anyway. :)
9/15/12 9:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

StyleArc Cosy Cardi

photo
by: PattyE

Review
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now