Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4043 (Mermaid costume) thumbsup - Type:Costumes
Review submitted in Costume Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 278 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/12 8:49 PM
Last Updated:10/29/12 12:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $14.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julibchickadee said...
I've never sewn anything as complicated as a Halloween costume, so I think that itself is admirable! I also think the Mermaid tail is great and that fabric you found for the tail is perfect! Where on earth did you find something like that? It's really cool! :-)
10/26/12 11:04 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks! I actually found the foil fabric at JoAnn's a couple of years ago before Halloween. It's been in my stash waiting for me to have the time to make it. Be warned: it's a stretch fabric but does not like to be stretched. Any stress at all distorts the pattern pieces or cause the fabric to run. I actually lined it with non-stretch satin (and interfaced the bodice) to prevent it from becoming a total mess when wearing.
10/27/12 10:38 AM
harpsew said...
I agree - the fabric is perfect, and I love the detailed stitching on the tail! Well done!
10/27/12 10:41 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
You husband will have the best "catch" of the party! I think it looks great!
10/27/12 4:03 PM
Sharonspils said...
Amazing mermaid costume!
10/27/12 6:19 PM
Jrhee said...
Another cute, fun costume! BTW, I think I have a similar build (but you are smaller through waist and hips). Don't give up on strapless styles - sometimes excluding the shoulders from the bodice block (if that makes any sense) makes the top appear narrower.
10/28/12 10:53 AM
KathleenS said...
I can't see the problems you had from here. It looks great - like a mermaid, as you say! I've always wondered with this pattern: is it annoying to have to carry the tail around?
10/30/12 6:10 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
KathleenS, the tail wasn't too bad because it has a wrist loop. I just think the bodice makes me look barrel shaped (and the crazy shiny fabric doesn't help)!
10/30/12 11:37 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
Cute! That fabric is perfect and scaly.
11/1/12 11:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Other Knit Felted Purse/Clutch
photo
Review by knitlitcam... on 11/24/08
Read Review

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3936
photo
Review by Sharon1952 on 11/29/09
Read Review

Butterick 5233 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 5233 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8823 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 8823 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us