SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4043 (Mermaid costume)

11 more reviews
Review submitted in Costume Contest Contest
Viewed 290 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/12 8:49 PM
Last Updated:10/29/12 12:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julibchickadee said...
I've never sewn anything as complicated as a Halloween costume, so I think that itself is admirable! I also think the Mermaid tail is great and that fabric you found for the tail is perfect! Where on earth did you find something like that? It's really cool! :-)
10/26/12 11:04 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks! I actually found the foil fabric at JoAnn's a couple of years ago before Halloween. It's been in my stash waiting for me to have the time to make it. Be warned: it's a stretch fabric but does not like to be stretched. Any stress at all distorts the pattern pieces or cause the fabric to run. I actually lined it with non-stretch satin (and interfaced the bodice) to prevent it from becoming a total mess when wearing.
10/27/12 10:38 AM
harpsew said...
I agree - the fabric is perfect, and I love the detailed stitching on the tail! Well done!
10/27/12 10:41 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
You husband will have the best "catch" of the party! I think it looks great!
10/27/12 4:03 PM
Sharonspils said...
Amazing mermaid costume!
10/27/12 6:19 PM
Jrhee said...
Another cute, fun costume! BTW, I think I have a similar build (but you are smaller through waist and hips). Don't give up on strapless styles - sometimes excluding the shoulders from the bodice block (if that makes any sense) makes the top appear narrower.
10/28/12 10:53 AM
KathleenS said...
I can't see the problems you had from here. It looks great - like a mermaid, as you say! I've always wondered with this pattern: is it annoying to have to carry the tail around?
10/30/12 6:10 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
KathleenS, the tail wasn't too bad because it has a wrist loop. I just think the bodice makes me look barrel shaped (and the crazy shiny fabric doesn't help)!
10/30/12 11:37 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
Cute! That fabric is perfect and scaly.
11/1/12 11:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: redsilvia

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now