SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4043 (Mermaid costume)

12 more reviews
Review submitted in Costume Contest Contest
Viewed 324 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/12 8:49 PM
Last Updated:10/29/12 12:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DesignsByDenise said...
Cute! That fabric is perfect and scaly.
11/1/12 11:04 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
KathleenS, the tail wasn't too bad because it has a wrist loop. I just think the bodice makes me look barrel shaped (and the crazy shiny fabric doesn't help)!
10/30/12 11:37 AM
KathleenS said...
I can't see the problems you had from here. It looks great - like a mermaid, as you say! I've always wondered with this pattern: is it annoying to have to carry the tail around?
10/30/12 6:10 AM
Jrhee said...
Another cute, fun costume! BTW, I think I have a similar build (but you are smaller through waist and hips). Don't give up on strapless styles - sometimes excluding the shoulders from the bodice block (if that makes any sense) makes the top appear narrower.
10/28/12 10:53 AM
Sharonspils said...
Amazing mermaid costume!
10/27/12 6:19 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
You husband will have the best "catch" of the party! I think it looks great!
10/27/12 4:03 PM
harpsew said...
I agree - the fabric is perfect, and I love the detailed stitching on the tail! Well done!
10/27/12 10:41 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks! I actually found the foil fabric at JoAnn's a couple of years ago before Halloween. It's been in my stash waiting for me to have the time to make it. Be warned: it's a stretch fabric but does not like to be stretched. Any stress at all distorts the pattern pieces or cause the fabric to run. I actually lined it with non-stretch satin (and interfaced the bodice) to prevent it from becoming a total mess when wearing.
10/27/12 10:38 AM
julibchickadee said...
I've never sewn anything as complicated as a Halloween costume, so I think that itself is admirable! I also think the Mermaid tail is great and that fabric you found for the tail is perfect! Where on earth did you find something like that? It's really cool! :-)
10/26/12 11:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 9264

photo
by: Graca

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now