SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7104 (Men's Tie, Bow Tie, Ascot)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2333 times 
Reviewed by:Kalena
photo

 
 
About Kalenastar
NY USA
Member since: 9/11/04
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/05 6:27 PM
Last Updated:1/17/05 9:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
edube said...
Kalena, I can't access your photo and you don't say which item you made. If you made a regular tie, don't give up. It can be a very simple project, taking about 1/2 hour to complete. The trick is to have the right interfacing. I use armo-rite which I can only get now at The Sewing Place in CA. They used to sell it at Joann's but decided it was too much of a specialty item.(!) The easiest way is to find a tie that fits your dh well and use that as a template, esp for length. I recently went to the store and bought a new tie and took it apart to use as a template, but I have been making dh's ties for over 10 years. I also used to sell them. It is an easy project that makes great gifts. If you need any more help, you can email me.
1/17/05 8:12 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I agree with edube. Please don't give up. There are a few reviews for the birch street clothing company's 7-fold tie. All seem to have success with it. I ordered the armo-rite from a place called patontheback.com. I think I wrote a review for the website. Check on Birch Street Clothing. This pattern also has additional pieces for extra long ties.
1/17/05 9:48 PM
Kalena said...
Thanks for the replies, edube & Mary. I won't try this pattern again, but I think I will give the Birch Street tie a try. And thank you for the tip on armo-rite! I won't give up just yet! :)
1/18/05 7:16 AM
AnneM said...
I've done the birch street tie, & while I won't make it again, it did give good directions. I found it a bit wide, though, for my DH. If I make another one, I am going to try the Simplicity pattern version, or perhaps just modify the Birch-street one using Simplicity as a guide. I also used the armo-rite. Your tie looks very nice - great fabric.
1/18/05 6:19 PM
Needles9 said...
Vogue patterns have always been, in my experience, difficult to use. I made shirts from a Vogue pattern, but I had to modify it extensively, using my most comfortable shirts as a guide. Problem was that the yoke was too deep. I was glad I used crummy fabric for my first try. The arm/shoulder seams gave way when I raised my arms overhead and bound when I reached forward. If reviews on this site allowed video grabs, that would be great for illustrating the problematical aspects of the patterns--though the reviewer would have to have a scanner or digital camera to get the images into the computer. But by now, digital cameras with "plug-in" cables for the computer are pretty common and simple to use (at least on the Macintosh, which has been my engine of choice since 1984 when the Mac II came out). But I digress. I was able to put two breast pockets on each shirt, and could make the right wrist nice and snug and the left one a bit looser to accommodate my wristwatch. I tackled a suit from a Vogue pattern, made with a dark blue (but hardly subdued) upholstery fabric. It required a great deal of reference to an example jacket and pants to figure out the intricacies of exterior pockets, inside breast pockets (I made one on either side, a biz card pocket beneath one and a pencil/pen pocket beneath the other, with coin sub-pockets in jacket and pants pockets. Lots of freedom but took lots of time to figure out. (The jacket was great with jeans, but I couldn't quite muster the nerve to wear both pants and jacket together, as the combo was kind of a jaw-dropper.) When I did a batch of ties for myself back in the early 1970s I lived in Manhattan and had access to Paron and Poli fabrics, which got remnants from designer houses in the city. I wanted silk ties but couldn't afford them. With Paron and Poli to search through, though, I found fantastic fabrics. (Paron is on the web--dunno about Poli). Thai silk (no pun intended) seemed most likely to have great woven patterns (I was on TV at the time and patterns like herringbone & others shimmered on the screen--so had to use solids for workaday ties. Making sharp points was a learning experience. Used rayon or other very thin material for the tip linings, and had to experiment with just the right amount of backing to trim across (horizontal & at right angles to axis of the tie). Don't want to trim too much, or I'd poke through when turning right side out; and not to little, or it was hard to turn and iron into a sharp point. For length & technique, I always studied/measured from my favorite specimens. For the tie interfacing/filling, I found that there are/were three "weights", called, I think, one-, two- and three-stripe; they had a corresponding greyish thread (one, two or three) so you didn't have to guess by "fingering the goods," though I got reasonably good at that. When I got the pattern to the state I wanted it, I found some friendly folks in the garment district who gave me a bit of their "pattern cardboard," a bit stiffer than oaktag, then ironed my tissue pattern onto the cardboard--made it stick with paraffin or candlewax--and trimmed it to the pattern lines. I then laid out four or five ties-worth of fabric and cut the stack with single-edge razor blades--the ones with the stiff back--that I bought by the 100 count at the local paint store (used for wall papering to cut overlapping seams, etc.). Then could "assemble" them when I had a spare few minutes (didn't have children then). I moved on to shirts, because i couldn't stand the mixed fabrics and wanted 100% cotton (Sea Island cotton was a true revelation (it's like silk in "hand" or feel, but you can wash it--as was silk--no wonder women like to wear silk blouses, i thought, after I put on my first one. BTW, if anyone knows of a source for Sea Island cotton, let me know, please. Seems all the cotton fields on Sea Island have been replaced by vacation homes, hotels, similar developments. I guess a lot changes in 30 years, hunh?
6/1/08 7:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 5362

photo
by: Nanax4

Review
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now