SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3052 (Misses Unitards)

9 more reviews
Viewed 413 times 
Reviewed by:pepperbots
photo

 
 
About pepperbots
WI USA
Member since: 5/25/11
Reviews: 1 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/12 1:20 PM
Last Updated:12/6/15 6:22 PM
Project Photo:

  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3052
Kwik Sew Pattern Info

More Info provided by pepperbots

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
Type:Activewear
Fabric:Nylon-Lycra  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses Unitard pattern

Pattern Sizing:
Misses XS through XL (I used the Medium size.)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Mostly, but I made modifications to the pattern so that's to be expected.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't use the instructions very much, the pattern was pretty straight forward, but the directions were clear.

Fabric Used:
4-way stretch fabrics work best. I've used:
Milliskin and moleskin (nylon lycra blends)
Stretch faux leather (treated poly blends)
Heavy ponte de roma (woven knits)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Depending on what design I need, I make several different alterations, extra seams, color blocking, etc., but those are really easy to add on using the pattern as a base. I've moved the zipper to the back in some cases as well.

The only permanent alteration I'd make to the pattern is the sleeves. They needed to be taken in quite a bit so that the aren't so baggy.

ETA: I thought I'd jump in again to update with some modification recommendations.

If you're finding that there's too much ease in the sleeves (they're too big), I recommend cutting the sleeve and the arm on this pattern one size down from the rest of your pattern. For example, if the body of your suit is cut out to Medium, cut the arm hole and the sleeve piece to Small. This allowed for much better fitting sleeves without having to make major alterations to suit cut entirely to Medium.

Also, if you're going for the "catsuit" look rather than the "dancer" look (aka "no boob squishing"), and/or you're a tall gal like me (I'm 5'8"), make sure you use the lengthen/shorten line on the pattern to add or remove length. The girth measurement for this suit isn't stated anywhere, but I'm pretty sure this is measured to a lady of more average height (KwikSew site says 5'6" is their "Misses" height.) I lucked out having a 4-way stretch fabric for my stuff so that I could still fit into a suit cut without lengthening alterations, but adding the two inches definitely helped.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I'm definitely planning on using this one again! I've got the "digital" version of this pattern now that I use it so much. It makes it easier to print it out and then add any extra alterations I need.

I recommend this pattern to anyone looking for a good unitard base for your costumes!
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
caper81 said... (12/10/15 8:17 AM) Reply
Great second and third costumes! Fabulous!:) Yes this is a great pattern!
Vancouvergirl said... (12/6/15 9:12 PM) Reply
Both are just fabulous!
caper81 said... (10/1/12 8:28 AM) Reply
Really cool costume! You look fantastic! :)
Raye Ann said... (9/20/12 12:57 PM) Reply
How fun! Great costumes.
zeoplum said... (9/18/12 9:45 PM) Reply
How impressive! That looks difficult to do.
Rhoda K said... (9/18/12 7:25 PM) Reply
Great job!
treefrog said... (9/18/12 5:02 PM) Reply
Wow! Your costumes are great. Looks like a lot of fun!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

StyleArc Slip-on Suzie

photo
by: Couturemum

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Pattern Details