SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Premie pattern downloaded (newborn sleeper)

5 more reviews
Viewed 973 times 
Reviewed by:sewgirl
photo

 
 
About sewgirlstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/6/03
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/18/05 7:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewgirl said...
I also didn't find measurements for the neckline and wrist bands. I measured as you said, then cut a slightly shorter length so that it would stretch a bit when sewn on.
1/19/05 3:56 PM
Chimene said...
Sewgirl- Thanks for the review. I downloaded the pattern and it looks very easy. However for the ribbing I must have missed the measurements needed for fabric. I am assuming measure the arm and neckline and multiply by 2. What did you do? Thanks Chimene
1/19/05 1:15 PM
tamtay said...
Sewgirl--so glad that Emma is healthy. She's lucky to have an aunt like you.
1/18/05 11:58 PM
BjP said...
This review and all the comments have really made me think about contacting our local hospitals to see if there is a service like this to which I could contribute. Thanks for the review and your good and helpful work!
1/18/05 5:40 PM
sewgirl said...
I used the same knit, Pam, as it was stash fabric, and I didn't have matching rib.
1/18/05 5:40 PM
Pam Z said...
Did you use the same knit fabric for the body & the trim or is that rib knit?
1/18/05 5:24 PM
Jayme said...
Sewgirl, my daughter also was born early, at 31 weeks, and weighed 2 lbs. 6 oz. I have the same feelings as sosoatsewing, having these wee little babies, with nothing to put on was so frustrating! It was all I could do to find an outfit to bring her home in (at a whopping 4 lbs.). Gestures such as yours are truly appreciated by those who receive the gifts! Thanks from all "parents of preemies"!
1/18/05 12:44 PM
sewgirl said...
Soso and Debbie, you make me cry. Thanx for your comments.
1/18/05 10:25 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute! I've sewn a number of preemie items and sent them to TLL. The lady who's the Pres of TLL is just the nicest person and it really makes me feel warm & fuzzy to sew and then send these little clothes to someone who'll put them to good use.
1/18/05 10:12 AM
sosoatsewing said...
Sewgirl, My 16 yr old son was born at 26 weeks, weighing 2 lbs 7oz. He was in the newborn intensive care unit for almost four months after his birth. He has had no health problems since, and is 5' 9" and 150 lbs now. I can't tell you how much it would have meant to me to have seen him in a little outfit during his stay in the NICU. There is just something about seeing those little babies in just diapers and receiving blankets that makes them look just as vulnerable as they are, what with all the wires, tubes, etc. coming from their little bodies. I wished many times I could dress him, but the nursing staff would not use my "full term" baby clothes, as they said they were way too big. This was of course, back before the days of high priced preemie outfits in department stores. I applaud you for your work, as well as I think it was Candyo, who sews the burial layettes. Having lost another preemie, which the hospital did not allow me to see (policies have changed now I hear), I would have loved to have known that at least my baby was outfitted for our first meeting before he was off to heaven.. I noticed there is a group in my local area. I think I will contact them, and also see about getting my son's youth group involved in helping this organiztion. Bless you for sharing this..
1/18/05 7:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 6611

photo
by: LizJaneB

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now