Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Premie pattern downloaded (newborn sleeper) thumbsup - Type:Baby clothes    printable version
Viewed 973 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:sewgirl
photo
About sewgirlstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/6/03
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/18/05 7:12 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sosoatsewing said...
Sewgirl, My 16 yr old son was born at 26 weeks, weighing 2 lbs 7oz. He was in the newborn intensive care unit for almost four months after his birth. He has had no health problems since, and is 5' 9" and 150 lbs now. I can't tell you how much it would have meant to me to have seen him in a little outfit during his stay in the NICU. There is just something about seeing those little babies in just diapers and receiving blankets that makes them look just as vulnerable as they are, what with all the wires, tubes, etc. coming from their little bodies. I wished many times I could dress him, but the nursing staff would not use my "full term" baby clothes, as they said they were way too big. This was of course, back before the days of high priced preemie outfits in department stores. I applaud you for your work, as well as I think it was Candyo, who sews the burial layettes. Having lost another preemie, which the hospital did not allow me to see (policies have changed now I hear), I would have loved to have known that at least my baby was outfitted for our first meeting before he was off to heaven.. I noticed there is a group in my local area. I think I will contact them, and also see about getting my son's youth group involved in helping this organiztion. Bless you for sharing this..
1/18/05 7:47 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute! I've sewn a number of preemie items and sent them to TLL. The lady who's the Pres of TLL is just the nicest person and it really makes me feel warm & fuzzy to sew and then send these little clothes to someone who'll put them to good use.
1/18/05 10:12 AM
sewgirl said...
Soso and Debbie, you make me cry. Thanx for your comments.
1/18/05 10:25 AM
Jayme said...
Sewgirl, my daughter also was born early, at 31 weeks, and weighed 2 lbs. 6 oz. I have the same feelings as sosoatsewing, having these wee little babies, with nothing to put on was so frustrating! It was all I could do to find an outfit to bring her home in (at a whopping 4 lbs.). Gestures such as yours are truly appreciated by those who receive the gifts! Thanks from all "parents of preemies"!
1/18/05 12:44 PM
Pam Z said...
Did you use the same knit fabric for the body & the trim or is that rib knit?
1/18/05 5:24 PM
sewgirl said...
I used the same knit, Pam, as it was stash fabric, and I didn't have matching rib.
1/18/05 5:40 PM
BjP said...
This review and all the comments have really made me think about contacting our local hospitals to see if there is a service like this to which I could contribute. Thanks for the review and your good and helpful work!
1/18/05 5:40 PM
tamtay said...
Sewgirl--so glad that Emma is healthy. She's lucky to have an aunt like you.
1/18/05 11:58 PM
Chimene said...
Sewgirl- Thanks for the review. I downloaded the pattern and it looks very easy. However for the ribbing I must have missed the measurements needed for fabric. I am assuming measure the arm and neckline and multiply by 2. What did you do? Thanks Chimene
1/19/05 1:15 PM
sewgirl said...
I also didn't find measurements for the neckline and wrist bands. I measured as you said, then cut a slightly shorter length so that it would stretch a bit when sewn on.
1/19/05 3:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2561 Women's Pants
photo
Review by SewRusty on 3/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 2470 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1389 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1078 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by AnnQ on 2/19/09
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us