Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: E3137 (Excella E3137) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 300 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:The Dreamstress
photo
About The Dreamstressstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 7/4/09
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/12 7:57 AM
Last Updated:10/5/12 5:19 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Paulapants said...
I love this dress and you wear it well! You were right to choose silk chiffon.
9/21/12 8:29 AM
Elona said...
The dress is adorable, and you were right: It needs those hip ruffles. Flutter is what it's all about with this one. I think it is cute enough that you should make it again in a solid. On a different subject, how did you get those vintage color values in your photos?
9/21/12 11:46 AM
Re Becca said...
I think its really cute, the chiffon flows wonderfully.
9/21/12 12:32 PM
The Dreamstress said...
Thank you all! Elona, I used Pixlr-O-Matic on these photos. Quick & dirty, but free and downloadable from the internet
9/21/12 7:05 PM
Carolyn.S said...
The dress is very charming! and I expect that silk chiffon flutters about beautifully. Must be a dream to wear :)
9/21/12 7:42 PM
JEF said...
Thank so much for the interesting review. It's a lovely dress and you carry it off so well.
9/22/12 6:17 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely lovely!
9/22/12 7:42 AM
cleverkitty said...
Super cute!!!!
9/22/12 8:37 AM
mmcp said...
Just think of the ruffles as a precursor of the peplum and you're right on trend. I love the whole thing.
9/22/12 8:54 AM
zoe said...
It's a beautiful dress; very breezy and elegant. Not 'frumpy' at all!
9/22/12 6:57 PM
The Dreamstress said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! I've edited the link to the pattern image, as somehow it was going to the wrong pattern.
10/5/12 5:18 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Both versions are quite lovely! The first version still screams early 30's to me. I think a self fabic belt for the second version would work nicely.
10/5/12 10:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Butterick B4474 Purse
photo
Review by MarilynB on 7/10/07
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7086 Shirt
photo
Review by Lucinda on 7/14/08
Read Review

Burda 9478 Pattern
Burda 9478 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us