SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2012-112 (Bittersweet/Godet Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 294 times 
Reviewed by:MelaD
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MelaD
TX USA
Member since: 11/20/11
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/12 9:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
You picked a real retro feel with the color choices...I was wondering when this dress would pop up here. That issue was chock full of dresses. Nice work!
9/22/12 0:18 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
That looks lovely on you, very nice work! Reminds me of a vintage 1920's dress but with a modern edge.
9/22/12 0:53 AM
moonthirty said...
Looks awesome, Mela! Beautiful dress and great review. :-)
9/22/12 1:11 AM
JEF said...
Congrats on your first review. What an interesting dress. I think it looks great...comfortable with style.
9/22/12 6:31 AM
PattyE said...
Great dress
9/22/12 11:00 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very stylish dress!
9/22/12 11:40 AM
taylormade said...
I'm so glad you posted this review. I'm wanting to make this dress, but had some questions on the godet,etc. Also on the fit at the bust line. Did you have a lot of problems with inserting the godets? The dress looks really good on you! Love your color choices! I'm thinking of leaving off the belt also. Do you think that would work. Thanks so much for the review!
9/22/12 1:38 PM
carolynw said...
So nice - love how this looks on you
9/22/12 1:45 PM
Merche said...
Great dress. The colour combo is splendid! I know what you mean about the Burda instructions, I leart how to sew following them, and it was not an easy task!
9/22/12 4:40 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Darling dress!
9/22/12 8:04 PM
MelaD said...
To answer taylormade: the godets weren't hard at all. I was kind of worried about inserting them, since I'd never used godets before. So I consulted Sandra Betzina's book "Power Sewing: Step-by-Step" for her advice on godets. Basically if you match the seamline top point of the godet, where the seamlines meet, with the point to insert in the dress seam it'll work fine. I topstitched close to the seam and was pleased with the look. I think this pattern may work without the belt depending on the fabric used. Maybe use the different color godets like in the Burda Magazine picture. Additional note: the shoulder to bust pleats were the hardest thing for me to understand on this pattern. I'd never seen them before.
9/22/12 10:47 PM
taylormade said...
Thanks so much for your response. I'll look closely at those shoulder pleats before I attempt the pattern. I hope to post a review when I'm finished!
9/23/12 4:29 PM
marmaladefille said...
You really did a beautiful job on this retro/modern dress. I am very intrigued by this pattern but also intimidated.
2/1/13 0:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 7270

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2012-120

photo
by: dillyo

Review