SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 125587-1010 (The North Face Raven Shorts)

Viewed 307 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 229
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/12 8:33 PM
Last Updated:9/27/12 2:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
These look great. Well worth all the effort you put into it.
9/29/12 11:27 AM
Levone said...
Great looking shorts! I enjoy reading about all of your projects! You really do excellent work.
9/28/12 10:48 AM
Margaret said...
Great-looking shorts! Worth all the effort, and they sound like a real improvement over the RTW ones. Thanks for the details on the gusset.
9/27/12 11:47 AM
barbcl said...
Fantastic job!
9/27/12 11:01 AM
jannw said...
Great!!! The gusset really adds to it..I won't say it's a great knockoff as it looks like it should be the other way around! Yours will stay up and are more practical for their intended use!! Congrats!!
9/27/12 9:44 AM
Sigrid. said...
Perfection. What a great knockoff.
9/27/12 8:27 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Your work is amazing! Love the whole package!
9/27/12 7:50 AM
Mel.J said...
Another awesome knock-off. The pockets are very cool, I can see why you wanted to have them. :)
9/27/12 6:59 AM
Dilliander said...
Thanks for the extra details and photos of the leg gusset, really appreciated :) You did a great job with fitting these as I imagine the gusset would affect the fit too. You do make the best shorts!!
9/27/12 5:56 AM
treefrog said...
Thanks for the lovely comments! Dilliander, I've just added a couple of photos and a really lame attempt at describing the benefits. It is hard to describe but makes a big difference
9/27/12 2:55 AM
Dilliander said...
Wow, these are impressive! Fabulous details and top-stitching perfection! Is it possible to add a photo showing a closeup of the gusset, you've peaked my interest :) Also wondering if you could mention the benefit of a gusset over the standard inner leg seam as this is not something I'm familiar with. Thanks for a great review.
9/27/12 1:12 AM
ChristmasHills said...
You are an inspiration to me.
9/27/12 1:03 AM
KarlaB said...
You should definitely feel proud of your work on these shorts! I enjoyed reading your review: your skill is inspiring!
9/27/12 0:50 AM
loti said...
I want. I love the repeat of the v yoke with the v belt carriers, very very nice.
9/26/12 11:56 PM
cmcarr said...
Wow, you do great work.
9/26/12 10:48 PM
FreyaStark said...
You certainly are allowed to feel a little smug. You've done a great job, and the quality of your finish is especially impressive. No way would I go to such trouble, not even for something as important as camel-riding pants.
9/26/12 10:33 PM
katlew03 said...
Wow, what a lot of steps. But the results were worth it. Great top stitching. Amazing job. You deserve a hand for all the work you put into these shorts.
9/26/12 9:47 PM
Renren said...
Yes, you are allowed to feel smug! We are all feeling a ittle smug because of our association with such a clever person! Love all these details--they make an extraordinary pair of gusseted hiking shorts.
9/26/12 9:15 PM
cerulean said...
Great job! It's really a great style of shorts! I love the pockets!
9/26/12 9:09 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
What a great knock-off! Absolutely worth all the work!
9/26/12 8:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now