SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 125587-1010 (The North Face Raven Shorts)

Viewed 304 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 223
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 220
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/12 8:33 PM
Last Updated:9/27/12 2:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
What a great knock-off! Absolutely worth all the work!
9/26/12 8:48 PM
cerulean said...
Great job! It's really a great style of shorts! I love the pockets!
9/26/12 9:09 PM
Renren said...
Yes, you are allowed to feel smug! We are all feeling a ittle smug because of our association with such a clever person! Love all these details--they make an extraordinary pair of gusseted hiking shorts.
9/26/12 9:15 PM
katlew03 said...
Wow, what a lot of steps. But the results were worth it. Great top stitching. Amazing job. You deserve a hand for all the work you put into these shorts.
9/26/12 9:47 PM
FreyaStark said...
You certainly are allowed to feel a little smug. You've done a great job, and the quality of your finish is especially impressive. No way would I go to such trouble, not even for something as important as camel-riding pants.
9/26/12 10:33 PM
cmcarr said...
Wow, you do great work.
9/26/12 10:48 PM
loti said...
I want. I love the repeat of the v yoke with the v belt carriers, very very nice.
9/26/12 11:56 PM
KarlaB said...
You should definitely feel proud of your work on these shorts! I enjoyed reading your review: your skill is inspiring!
9/27/12 0:50 AM
ChristmasHills said...
You are an inspiration to me.
9/27/12 1:03 AM
Dilliander said...
Wow, these are impressive! Fabulous details and top-stitching perfection! Is it possible to add a photo showing a closeup of the gusset, you've peaked my interest :) Also wondering if you could mention the benefit of a gusset over the standard inner leg seam as this is not something I'm familiar with. Thanks for a great review.
9/27/12 1:12 AM
treefrog said...
Thanks for the lovely comments! Dilliander, I've just added a couple of photos and a really lame attempt at describing the benefits. It is hard to describe but makes a big difference
9/27/12 2:55 AM
Dilliander said...
Thanks for the extra details and photos of the leg gusset, really appreciated :) You did a great job with fitting these as I imagine the gusset would affect the fit too. You do make the best shorts!!
9/27/12 5:56 AM
Mel.J said...
Another awesome knock-off. The pockets are very cool, I can see why you wanted to have them. :)
9/27/12 6:59 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Your work is amazing! Love the whole package!
9/27/12 7:50 AM
Sigrid. said...
Perfection. What a great knockoff.
9/27/12 8:27 AM
jannw said...
Great!!! The gusset really adds to it..I won't say it's a great knockoff as it looks like it should be the other way around! Yours will stay up and are more practical for their intended use!! Congrats!!
9/27/12 9:44 AM
barbcl said...
Fantastic job!
9/27/12 11:01 AM
Margaret said...
Great-looking shorts! Worth all the effort, and they sound like a real improvement over the RTW ones. Thanks for the details on the gusset.
9/27/12 11:47 AM
Levone said...
Great looking shorts! I enjoy reading about all of your projects! You really do excellent work.
9/28/12 10:48 AM
Nancywin said...
These look great. Well worth all the effort you put into it.
9/29/12 11:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Marfy 2280

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now