Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 125587-1010 (The North Face Raven Shorts) - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 300 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/12 8:33 PM
Last Updated:9/27/12 2:51 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
What a great knock-off! Absolutely worth all the work!
9/26/12 8:48 PM
cerulean said...
Great job! It's really a great style of shorts! I love the pockets!
9/26/12 9:09 PM
Renren said...
Yes, you are allowed to feel smug! We are all feeling a ittle smug because of our association with such a clever person! Love all these details--they make an extraordinary pair of gusseted hiking shorts.
9/26/12 9:15 PM
katlew03 said...
Wow, what a lot of steps. But the results were worth it. Great top stitching. Amazing job. You deserve a hand for all the work you put into these shorts.
9/26/12 9:47 PM
FreyaStark said...
You certainly are allowed to feel a little smug. You've done a great job, and the quality of your finish is especially impressive. No way would I go to such trouble, not even for something as important as camel-riding pants.
9/26/12 10:33 PM
cmcarr said...
Wow, you do great work.
9/26/12 10:48 PM
loti said...
I want. I love the repeat of the v yoke with the v belt carriers, very very nice.
9/26/12 11:56 PM
KarlaB said...
You should definitely feel proud of your work on these shorts! I enjoyed reading your review: your skill is inspiring!
9/27/12 0:50 AM
ChristmasHills said...
You are an inspiration to me.
9/27/12 1:03 AM
Dilliander said...
Wow, these are impressive! Fabulous details and top-stitching perfection! Is it possible to add a photo showing a closeup of the gusset, you've peaked my interest :) Also wondering if you could mention the benefit of a gusset over the standard inner leg seam as this is not something I'm familiar with. Thanks for a great review.
9/27/12 1:12 AM
treefrog said...
Thanks for the lovely comments! Dilliander, I've just added a couple of photos and a really lame attempt at describing the benefits. It is hard to describe but makes a big difference
9/27/12 2:55 AM
Dilliander said...
Thanks for the extra details and photos of the leg gusset, really appreciated :) You did a great job with fitting these as I imagine the gusset would affect the fit too. You do make the best shorts!!
9/27/12 5:56 AM
Mel.J said...
Another awesome knock-off. The pockets are very cool, I can see why you wanted to have them. :)
9/27/12 6:59 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Your work is amazing! Love the whole package!
9/27/12 7:50 AM
Sigrid. said...
Perfection. What a great knockoff.
9/27/12 8:27 AM
jannw said...
Great!!! The gusset really adds to it..I won't say it's a great knockoff as it looks like it should be the other way around! Yours will stay up and are more practical for their intended use!! Congrats!!
9/27/12 9:44 AM
barbcl said...
Fantastic job!
9/27/12 11:01 AM
Margaret said...
Great-looking shorts! Worth all the effort, and they sound like a real improvement over the RTW ones. Thanks for the details on the gusset.
9/27/12 11:47 AM
Levone said...
Great looking shorts! I enjoy reading about all of your projects! You really do excellent work.
9/28/12 10:48 AM
Nancywin said...
These look great. Well worth all the effort you put into it.
9/29/12 11:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's m6508
photo
Review by creatarian on 2/1/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8817 Misses Top
photo
Review by jlg on 7/17/13
Read Review

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5354 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 5354 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us