SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 125587-1010 (The North Face Raven Shorts)

Viewed 307 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 229
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/12 8:33 PM
Last Updated:9/27/12 2:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
These look great. Well worth all the effort you put into it.
9/29/12 11:27 AM
Levone said...
Great looking shorts! I enjoy reading about all of your projects! You really do excellent work.
9/28/12 10:48 AM
Margaret said...
Great-looking shorts! Worth all the effort, and they sound like a real improvement over the RTW ones. Thanks for the details on the gusset.
9/27/12 11:47 AM
barbcl said...
Fantastic job!
9/27/12 11:01 AM
jannw said...
Great!!! The gusset really adds to it..I won't say it's a great knockoff as it looks like it should be the other way around! Yours will stay up and are more practical for their intended use!! Congrats!!
9/27/12 9:44 AM
Sigrid. said...
Perfection. What a great knockoff.
9/27/12 8:27 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Your work is amazing! Love the whole package!
9/27/12 7:50 AM
Mel.J said...
Another awesome knock-off. The pockets are very cool, I can see why you wanted to have them. :)
9/27/12 6:59 AM
Dilliander said...
Thanks for the extra details and photos of the leg gusset, really appreciated :) You did a great job with fitting these as I imagine the gusset would affect the fit too. You do make the best shorts!!
9/27/12 5:56 AM
treefrog said...
Thanks for the lovely comments! Dilliander, I've just added a couple of photos and a really lame attempt at describing the benefits. It is hard to describe but makes a big difference
9/27/12 2:55 AM
Dilliander said...
Wow, these are impressive! Fabulous details and top-stitching perfection! Is it possible to add a photo showing a closeup of the gusset, you've peaked my interest :) Also wondering if you could mention the benefit of a gusset over the standard inner leg seam as this is not something I'm familiar with. Thanks for a great review.
9/27/12 1:12 AM
ChristmasHills said...
You are an inspiration to me.
9/27/12 1:03 AM
KarlaB said...
You should definitely feel proud of your work on these shorts! I enjoyed reading your review: your skill is inspiring!
9/27/12 0:50 AM
loti said...
I want. I love the repeat of the v yoke with the v belt carriers, very very nice.
9/26/12 11:56 PM
cmcarr said...
Wow, you do great work.
9/26/12 10:48 PM
FreyaStark said...
You certainly are allowed to feel a little smug. You've done a great job, and the quality of your finish is especially impressive. No way would I go to such trouble, not even for something as important as camel-riding pants.
9/26/12 10:33 PM
katlew03 said...
Wow, what a lot of steps. But the results were worth it. Great top stitching. Amazing job. You deserve a hand for all the work you put into these shorts.
9/26/12 9:47 PM
Renren said...
Yes, you are allowed to feel smug! We are all feeling a ittle smug because of our association with such a clever person! Love all these details--they make an extraordinary pair of gusseted hiking shorts.
9/26/12 9:15 PM
cerulean said...
Great job! It's really a great style of shorts! I love the pockets!
9/26/12 9:09 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
What a great knock-off! Absolutely worth all the work!
9/26/12 8:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-122

photo
by: thepegret

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

More Info
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2938

photo
by: Monica Wal...

Review