Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1209 (Monaco Shell) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2238 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/05 1:44 PM
Last Updated:1/21/05 1:56 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Modiste Madness said...
Love the fabric, it is a great match for the pattern. This is going to look great on.
1/21/05 2:44 PM
PhyllisC said...
Great looking top and great review too! Lots of good tips.
1/21/05 2:54 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Lingerie elastic! What a great idea! (do you see the head slapping?) I'm going to use that one! I really like that print on your top...looks like high end RTW! I still grab this pattern when I want a quick knit top. BTW, another good use-up-that-last-bit-of-fabric pattern is Loes Hinse's Sweater Set Shell.
1/21/05 3:50 PM
Annette H said...
Beautiful, and so much more interesting than the one in the pattern photo.
1/21/05 4:10 PM
Hilary said...
Very pretty! It looks wonderful in the fabric you chose- far better than the pattern photo, I agree!
1/21/05 4:26 PM
jlg said...
Great looking top.
1/21/05 4:55 PM
drsue said...
Lisa: Gigi is the one who gets credit for the Lingiere elastic idea, though I don't think she used it on a hem. Since I read her review of the Jaile wrap top in which she used it for the neckline stabilization I've just become enamored with the stuff.
1/21/05 5:17 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great top! Thanks for the review and the helpful hints. Where did you find your gorgeous fabric?
1/21/05 6:24 PM
drsue said...
Jenifer: Welll, it was a final markdown clearance sale sort of fabric from fabricl.com. I didn't realize when I bought it that there were 12" flowers and a 24" reapeat on it.
1/21/05 7:16 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thanks for the extra detail that make this a pattern to get. Without this detail, I figured it's just another shell. Maybe not! Do you think it's possible to eliminate the CF seam and still get the benefits of the pattern?
1/21/05 9:22 PM
drsue said...
Debtro: You could certainly try the eliminate the CF seam, but it would make the self facing part harder to pull off effectively.
1/22/05 9:37 AM
kmouse said...
Yum yum top and fabric. I have this pattern but have yet to make it. Question about the lingerie elastic..is that the elastic (usually white) that is scalloped on both sides that looks like lace but stretchy? Or does it look like regular elastic with some loopy trim on one side, like the kind of elastic on slips? The reason I am asking is because I am in a fabric desert here and getting such notions is often difficult.
5/23/06 9:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Self Drafted Pattern 92116-1005 dust ruffle
photo
Review by halleyscom... on 6/26/11
Read Review

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-111 Top
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 12/29/06
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3764 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3764 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us