SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 2238 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/05 1:44 PM
Last Updated:1/21/05 1:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kmouse said...
Yum yum top and fabric. I have this pattern but have yet to make it. Question about the lingerie elastic..is that the elastic (usually white) that is scalloped on both sides that looks like lace but stretchy? Or does it look like regular elastic with some loopy trim on one side, like the kind of elastic on slips? The reason I am asking is because I am in a fabric desert here and getting such notions is often difficult.
5/23/06 9:08 AM
drsue said...
Debtro: You could certainly try the eliminate the CF seam, but it would make the self facing part harder to pull off effectively.
1/22/05 9:37 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thanks for the extra detail that make this a pattern to get. Without this detail, I figured it's just another shell. Maybe not! Do you think it's possible to eliminate the CF seam and still get the benefits of the pattern?
1/21/05 9:22 PM
drsue said...
Jenifer: Welll, it was a final markdown clearance sale sort of fabric from fabricl.com. I didn't realize when I bought it that there were 12" flowers and a 24" reapeat on it.
1/21/05 7:16 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great top! Thanks for the review and the helpful hints. Where did you find your gorgeous fabric?
1/21/05 6:24 PM
drsue said...
Lisa: Gigi is the one who gets credit for the Lingiere elastic idea, though I don't think she used it on a hem. Since I read her review of the Jaile wrap top in which she used it for the neckline stabilization I've just become enamored with the stuff.
1/21/05 5:17 PM
jlg said...
Great looking top.
1/21/05 4:55 PM
Hilary said...
Very pretty! It looks wonderful in the fabric you chose- far better than the pattern photo, I agree!
1/21/05 4:26 PM
Annette H said...
Beautiful, and so much more interesting than the one in the pattern photo.
1/21/05 4:10 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Lingerie elastic! What a great idea! (do you see the head slapping?) I'm going to use that one! I really like that print on your top...looks like high end RTW! I still grab this pattern when I want a quick knit top. BTW, another good use-up-that-last-bit-of-fabric pattern is Loes Hinse's Sweater Set Shell.
1/21/05 3:50 PM
PhyllisC said...
Great looking top and great review too! Lots of good tips.
1/21/05 2:54 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Love the fabric, it is a great match for the pattern. This is going to look great on.
1/21/05 2:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Butterick 5610

photo
by: Aurelie

Review
J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

More Info
Lutterloh 85

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review