SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 2240 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews: 169 (patterns: 152)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/05 1:44 PM
Last Updated:1/21/05 1:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kmouse said... (5/23/06 9:08 AM) Reply
Yum yum top and fabric. I have this pattern but have yet to make it. Question about the lingerie elastic..is that the elastic (usually white) that is scalloped on both sides that looks like lace but stretchy? Or does it look like regular elastic with some loopy trim on one side, like the kind of elastic on slips? The reason I am asking is because I am in a fabric desert here and getting such notions is often difficult.
drsue said... (1/22/05 9:37 AM) Reply
Debtro: You could certainly try the eliminate the CF seam, but it would make the self facing part harder to pull off effectively.
sailonsilvergirl said... (1/21/05 9:22 PM) Reply
Thanks for the extra detail that make this a pattern to get. Without this detail, I figured it's just another shell. Maybe not! Do you think it's possible to eliminate the CF seam and still get the benefits of the pattern?
drsue said... (1/21/05 7:16 PM) Reply
Jenifer: Welll, it was a final markdown clearance sale sort of fabric from fabricl.com. I didn't realize when I bought it that there were 12" flowers and a 24" reapeat on it.
Jennifer shaw said... (1/21/05 6:24 PM) Reply
Great top! Thanks for the review and the helpful hints. Where did you find your gorgeous fabric?
drsue said... (1/21/05 5:17 PM) Reply
Lisa: Gigi is the one who gets credit for the Lingiere elastic idea, though I don't think she used it on a hem. Since I read her review of the Jaile wrap top in which she used it for the neckline stabilization I've just become enamored with the stuff.
jlg said... (1/21/05 4:55 PM) Reply
Great looking top.
Hilary said... (1/21/05 4:26 PM) Reply
Very pretty! It looks wonderful in the fabric you chose- far better than the pattern photo, I agree!
Annette H said... (1/21/05 4:10 PM) Reply
Beautiful, and so much more interesting than the one in the pattern photo.
Lisa Laree said... (1/21/05 3:50 PM) Reply
Lingerie elastic! What a great idea! (do you see the head slapping?) I'm going to use that one! I really like that print on your top...looks like high end RTW! I still grab this pattern when I want a quick knit top. BTW, another good use-up-that-last-bit-of-fabric pattern is Loes Hinse's Sweater Set Shell.
PhyllisC said... (1/21/05 2:54 PM) Reply
Great looking top and great review too! Lots of good tips.
Modiste Madness said... (1/21/05 2:44 PM) Reply
Love the fabric, it is a great match for the pattern. This is going to look great on.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Fashion in Harmony 1001

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Pattern Details