SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2556 (Issey Miyake skirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2562 times 
Reviewed by:Melody

About Melodystarstar
MI United States
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews: 60 (patterns: 57)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 45 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/05 8:24 PM
Last Updated:4/1/05 5:52 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
nanneke said... (5/19/07 9:46 AM) Reply
Thank you for your review, I bought and made the pattern. It looks good on you!
Joyfullife said... (4/1/05 11:37 PM) Reply
Way cool! Great job!
Gigi Louis said... (1/22/05 9:20 AM) Reply
What an entertaining review. The skirt looks like fun once the sizing issues are worked out.
Hilary said... (1/22/05 8:40 AM) Reply
Very cool, Melody! I really enjoyed your review- sounds like an adventure just *wearing* it! I may have to get this just to try it out :oP I was thinking the same thing as Mag-maybe a stretch woven would work out better? Along with a couple darts and stabilizing the waist...I hope if you try this again you'll do another review!
mag said... (1/22/05 8:25 AM) Reply
What a neat outfit. Maybe it would hold together better out of something like a stretch cotton. Sounds like a fun project to sew.
marjenann said... (1/22/05 7:57 AM) Reply
What a really great looking skirt. Very cutting edge. I love it!!!!
Ann Smith said... (1/21/05 11:30 PM) Reply
I see that you have your top worn on the outside. I had assumed from the pattern picture that there would be too much bulk and puckering to wear one's top outside. Since I never tuck tops in I have hesitated on making this skirt. So it is ok to have the top out?
bunz said... (1/21/05 9:00 PM) Reply
Some guts, Melody, for going for a Miyake! It's hard to tell from the picture how it fits. Couldn't you just cut this one down or add darts? Then, I guess the existing snaps would be decorative and you'd have to add new ones. Anyway, thanks a bunch for reviewing this. I've been looking at it, but hadn't a clue. Great review.
Mandolin82 said... (1/21/05 8:30 PM) Reply
Good, and entertaining, review.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Pattern Details
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 8886

by: MNBarb