Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2556 (Issey Miyake skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2532 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Melody
photo
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/05 8:24 PM
Last Updated:4/1/05 5:52 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mandolin82 said...
Good, and entertaining, review.
1/21/05 8:30 PM
bunz said...
Some guts, Melody, for going for a Miyake! It's hard to tell from the picture how it fits. Couldn't you just cut this one down or add darts? Then, I guess the existing snaps would be decorative and you'd have to add new ones. Anyway, thanks a bunch for reviewing this. I've been looking at it, but hadn't a clue. Great review.
1/21/05 9:00 PM
Ann Smith said...
I see that you have your top worn on the outside. I had assumed from the pattern picture that there would be too much bulk and puckering to wear one's top outside. Since I never tuck tops in I have hesitated on making this skirt. So it is ok to have the top out?
1/21/05 11:30 PM
marjenann said...
What a really great looking skirt. Very cutting edge. I love it!!!!
1/22/05 7:57 AM
mag said...
What a neat outfit. Maybe it would hold together better out of something like a stretch cotton. Sounds like a fun project to sew.
1/22/05 8:25 AM
Hilary said...
Very cool, Melody! I really enjoyed your review- sounds like an adventure just *wearing* it! I may have to get this just to try it out :oP I was thinking the same thing as Mag-maybe a stretch woven would work out better? Along with a couple darts and stabilizing the waist...I hope if you try this again you'll do another review!
1/22/05 8:40 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What an entertaining review. The skirt looks like fun once the sizing issues are worked out.
1/22/05 9:20 AM
Joyfullife said...
Way cool! Great job!
4/1/05 11:37 PM
leiden said...
Thank you for your review, I bought and made the pattern. It looks good on you!
5/19/07 9:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Silhouette Patterns 310 Marie's Top
photo
Review by ggf2005 on 2/8/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8489 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by blessedtos... on 4/3/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2255 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
McCalls 2255 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5215 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
Butterick 5215 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us