SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1127 (MISSES' JACKET, SKIRT AND BLOUSE)

28 more reviews
Viewed 458 times 
Reviewed by:Sewtox
photo

 
 
About Sewtox
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 6/15/12
Reviews: 2 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/12 11:36 AM
Last Updated:10/7/12 4:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said... (10/7/12 5:23 PM) Reply
Very pretty!
Sewtox said... (10/7/12 4:12 PM) Reply
Many thanks again ReBecca again, for technical support, and to prttynpnk and prostheticsgirl for kind comments. Will look up the suggestion for silk as I have just started a silk blouse (if at first ...). Hope blog link works so you can see the zipper in its full horror!
prostheticsgirl said... (10/7/12 2:43 PM) Reply
I can not wait to see your pics and am completely impressed with you completing such a HUGE project after so much time off. There is some good data on here (gelatin soak) for working with silk, that is if you plan to wash it vs dry clean.
Re Becca said... (10/7/12 1:14 PM) Reply
I see your thumbnail, you are getting there. The help tab at the top of the screen and FAQ's, #3 goes through the photo process. It looks to me like you need to remove the pattern photo as your finished garment photo and save it, then re-edit it and add your actual finished garment photo.
prttynpnk said... (10/7/12 11:47 AM) Reply
Lovely work- I can't wait to see whats next!
Sewtox said... (10/7/12 11:25 AM) Reply
Thanks for the encouragement Re Becca. Next project has to be photo uploads, but I fear this could take longer than making an entire suit ...
Re Becca said... (10/5/12 10:49 PM) Reply
Added a lining and made bound buttonholes? That officially updates your status from (re)newbie. Welcome to PR, and back to sewing. I am sorry your first priject was a bust, but it sounds like you remember enough of the details to make a stunning garment. Sigrid has the best tutorials, I refer there often. I look forward to seeing your pictures, and can't wait to see what you sew next. Don't give up after one iffy project.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Japanese Pattern Books Shape Shape: wave skirt

photo
by: highroad

Review
McCall's M6700

photo
by: Dellia45

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Pattern Details