Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6097 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 688 times 37 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:QuiltSewSewSue
photo
About QuiltSewSewSuestarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:10/6/12 0:55 AM
Last Updated:3/23/14 7:33 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6097 by QuiltSewSewSue

Pattern Photo:New Look 6097
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
ETA - I have made View A of this dress now as well. Love it as much as the first version. Link to photos of the second version at the end of the review

Pattern Description:
Misses' Dresses - Workroom from Project Runway - misses' belted knit dress with neckline and sleeve variations. New Look Just 4 Knits sewing pattern.

Pattern Sizing:
Multisize US 10-22. This pattern runs true to size I made a size 12 top and used the size 14 for the skirt, which correspond to my bust and hip sizes!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes. The only difference is that my belt is longer than the one pictured, but that is easily fixed.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were better than usual. This pattern is written for knits and suggests when to use an overlocker (serger) to finish the seams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love that the faux wrap sits beautifully without any gaping. I love the pockets and the details. No dislikes in this pattern!

Fabric Used:
Knit jersey which is dry to the touch.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
No alterations made.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I hope to sew it again in Autumn and make view A with the collar and 3/4 sleeves with tabs. I think this is a great pattern and highly recommend it!

Conclusion:
A winner!

More photos (of View B) in this blog post - here.

View A photos in this blog post - here.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress! I'm sewing this pattern at the moment. You are right about the instructions are better than usual.
10/6/12 1:05 AM
SewWil said...
Duplicate post. Sorry.
10/6/12 1:05 AM
Vonnevo said...
Sue, your dress (and you :) look fabulous !!! Thanks for your VH review - another New Look winner to add to my list :)
10/6/12 2:03 AM
Dilliander said...
Lovely Sue, great choice of fabric too!
10/6/12 3:19 AM
goosegreen said...
Looks great Sue. Nice to sew something up with no adjustments required!
10/6/12 6:12 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! You look fantastic!
10/6/12 10:31 AM
marec said...
You look absolutely fab in this dress. Lovely.
10/6/12 11:07 AM
brissie71 said...
Looks great, Sue. Seems like an easy dress to sew and wear. That's a winner in my book.
10/6/12 2:14 PM
rivergum said...
Lovely dress! i like the way it skims the body without being tight, and the no gape bodice is such a bonus. Great silhouette!
10/6/12 5:50 PM
Sharonspils said...
Wonderful dress Sue.
10/7/12 1:14 AM
cocosloft said...
Beautiful! your pics and review make me want to sew this pattern. you look lovely!
10/7/12 8:16 AM
caper81 said...
Great fit and I love your fabric choice! :)
11/21/12 8:47 AM
Skye said...
lovely looking dress the style and colour really suit you
3/23/14 7:31 PM
Renren said...
I do really,really like the first dress in snakeskin print but I think the color of this second version suits your hair/skin tones perfectly. Really fabulous cuff detail shown at the blog and I read that tip about the tissue paper over the flash in the comment--I'll be trying that one! (I'm pretty sure my figure won't carry off this Best of 2013 pattern, but for those of you who can wear it, what great dresses have been made from it.) By the way, I think you have chosen the perfect length for this style dress.
3/24/14 8:52 AM
julie w said...
Great dress, looks like a TNT for sure.
3/24/14 9:58 AM
rivergum said...
You look great in that dress! Very stylish.
3/24/14 3:29 PM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful dress. Lovely style on you.
3/24/14 6:58 PM
Mel.J said...
I really like both of these versions, you look great in both. (Good to know about the pockets too! Pockets are always handy.)
3/25/14 7:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 5965
photo
Review by trinicity on 11/21/13
Read Review

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T-Shirt and Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T-Shirt and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Balthazar 144 Balthazar 144
photo
Review by Calder and... on 4/27/11
Read Review

McCalls 6937 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6937 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6034 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6034 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us