Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5814 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 707 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:LizJaneB
photo
About LizJaneBstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/12/12
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/12 4:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cristinagf said...
Lovely! Very pretty fabric!
10/7/12 4:32 PM
BillieJean said...
You look smokin hot in this little number!
10/7/12 5:17 PM
nickelc624 said...
Beautiful dress...you look fantastic!
10/7/12 8:11 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very pretty on you, saw this pattern and it is lovely, you did it justice! Looks super!!
10/7/12 8:41 PM
tsedai said...
Awesome!
10/8/12 1:41 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous! I agree "smokin hot" is the best description!
10/8/12 6:46 AM
lamstu said...
Vavavoom! As a curvy girl, I can say there's no way I could wear that dress in public without a lot more coverage up top. It looks totally awesome on you though. And the inside looks lovely too.
10/8/12 9:35 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
WOW!! Your dress looks gorgeous and the fit is superb. I love your fabric choice too! The cut is incredibly flattering
10/8/12 1:15 PM
Nenewhis said...
Amazing, I just love it to bits!
10/8/12 1:23 PM
LizJaneB said...
Thanks everyone :-) xx
10/8/12 4:47 PM
SewPrincess said...
Absolutely beautiful!
10/8/12 6:28 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
You look fantastic. (and I'm a huge fan of your blog)
10/8/12 9:01 PM
ChristineX said...
Such an awesome dress! Gorgeous!
10/10/12 8:55 PM
LizJaneB said...
Thanks again - every single comment has put a smile on my face
10/11/12 7:22 AM
Shira88 said...
Looks great! Is it really not that hard to make? I consider myself an "advanced beginner" and haven't had any experience with boning, plus those pleats across the bodice look a little intimidating. On a scale of 1 to 5, how hard (or easy) would you say this pattern is? (1 being very easy, 5 being hard)
11/19/12 5:11 PM
LizJaneB said...
Hi, Sorry only just spotted your question about the Butterick dress I made (red/black spots). I'm an intermediate stitcher and while I didn't find this pattern hard it is time consuming. I spent time hand basting the underlining, hand basting the pleats and so on. If you mark the fabric well it's not that hard. Gertie has started a sewalong on her blog which would help greatly. I found there were some fit issues and her advice would be invaluable. She also recommends using something with more drape than taffeta - the pattern recommends it but Gertie herself doesn't. Hope this helps! Lizzy
12/8/12 5:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns V8581 Vogue
photo
Review by Ruth Desig... on 6/12/11
Read Review

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 222502-1002
photo
Review by moonshae on 10/28/13
Read Review

Butterick 5685 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5685 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4654 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4654 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us