SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5814 (Misses Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 731 times 
Reviewed by:LizJaneB
photo

 
 
About LizJaneBstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/12/12
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/12 4:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cristinagf said...
Lovely! Very pretty fabric!
10/7/12 4:32 PM
BillieJean said...
You look smokin hot in this little number!
10/7/12 5:17 PM
nickelc624 said...
Beautiful dress...you look fantastic!
10/7/12 8:11 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very pretty on you, saw this pattern and it is lovely, you did it justice! Looks super!!
10/7/12 8:41 PM
tsedai said...
Awesome!
10/8/12 1:41 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous! I agree "smokin hot" is the best description!
10/8/12 6:46 AM
lamstu said...
Vavavoom! As a curvy girl, I can say there's no way I could wear that dress in public without a lot more coverage up top. It looks totally awesome on you though. And the inside looks lovely too.
10/8/12 9:35 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
WOW!! Your dress looks gorgeous and the fit is superb. I love your fabric choice too! The cut is incredibly flattering
10/8/12 1:15 PM
Nenewhis said...
Amazing, I just love it to bits!
10/8/12 1:23 PM
LizJaneB said...
Thanks everyone :-) xx
10/8/12 4:47 PM
SewPrincess said...
Absolutely beautiful!
10/8/12 6:28 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
You look fantastic. (and I'm a huge fan of your blog)
10/8/12 9:01 PM
ChristineX said...
Such an awesome dress! Gorgeous!
10/10/12 8:55 PM
LizJaneB said...
Thanks again - every single comment has put a smile on my face
10/11/12 7:22 AM
Shira88 said...
Looks great! Is it really not that hard to make? I consider myself an "advanced beginner" and haven't had any experience with boning, plus those pleats across the bodice look a little intimidating. On a scale of 1 to 5, how hard (or easy) would you say this pattern is? (1 being very easy, 5 being hard)
11/19/12 5:11 PM
LizJaneB said...
Hi, Sorry only just spotted your question about the Butterick dress I made (red/black spots). I'm an intermediate stitcher and while I didn't find this pattern hard it is time consuming. I spent time hand basting the underlining, hand basting the pleats and so on. If you mark the fabric well it's not that hard. Gertie has started a sewalong on her blog which would help greatly. I found there were some fit issues and her advice would be invaluable. She also recommends using something with more drape than taffeta - the pattern recommends it but Gertie herself doesn't. Hope this helps! Lizzy
12/8/12 5:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 5423

photo
by: sarahark

Review
Amy Butler AB043HR

photo
by: CMae

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now