SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5814 (Misses Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 720 times 
Reviewed by:LizJaneB
photo

 
 
About LizJaneBstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/12/12
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/12 4:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cristinagf said...
Lovely! Very pretty fabric!
10/7/12 4:32 PM
BillieJean said...
You look smokin hot in this little number!
10/7/12 5:17 PM
nickelc624 said...
Beautiful dress...you look fantastic!
10/7/12 8:11 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very pretty on you, saw this pattern and it is lovely, you did it justice! Looks super!!
10/7/12 8:41 PM
tsedai said...
Awesome!
10/8/12 1:41 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous! I agree "smokin hot" is the best description!
10/8/12 6:46 AM
lamstu said...
Vavavoom! As a curvy girl, I can say there's no way I could wear that dress in public without a lot more coverage up top. It looks totally awesome on you though. And the inside looks lovely too.
10/8/12 9:35 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
WOW!! Your dress looks gorgeous and the fit is superb. I love your fabric choice too! The cut is incredibly flattering
10/8/12 1:15 PM
Nenewhis said...
Amazing, I just love it to bits!
10/8/12 1:23 PM
LizJaneB said...
Thanks everyone :-) xx
10/8/12 4:47 PM
SewPrincess said...
Absolutely beautiful!
10/8/12 6:28 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
You look fantastic. (and I'm a huge fan of your blog)
10/8/12 9:01 PM
ChristineX said...
Such an awesome dress! Gorgeous!
10/10/12 8:55 PM
LizJaneB said...
Thanks again - every single comment has put a smile on my face
10/11/12 7:22 AM
Shira88 said...
Looks great! Is it really not that hard to make? I consider myself an "advanced beginner" and haven't had any experience with boning, plus those pleats across the bodice look a little intimidating. On a scale of 1 to 5, how hard (or easy) would you say this pattern is? (1 being very easy, 5 being hard)
11/19/12 5:11 PM
LizJaneB said...
Hi, Sorry only just spotted your question about the Butterick dress I made (red/black spots). I'm an intermediate stitcher and while I didn't find this pattern hard it is time consuming. I spent time hand basting the underlining, hand basting the pleats and so on. If you mark the fabric well it's not that hard. Gertie has started a sewalong on her blog which would help greatly. I found there were some fit issues and her advice would be invaluable. She also recommends using something with more drape than taffeta - the pattern recommends it but Gertie herself doesn't. Hope this helps! Lizzy
12/8/12 5:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2959

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review