SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Gertie's NBBS (Shirtwaist dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 423 times 
Reviewed by:Cashrhymes
photo

 
 
About Cashrhymes
MI USA
Member since: 12/3/11
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/13 9:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
I'm not familiar with the pocket placement for this dress, but if they're in-seam pockets in the skirt, it could be that the top is squared off so that the top part can be included in the waist seam. This technique is pretty common and helps the pockets retain their positioning while the garment is being worn.
10/19/12 3:27 PM
Cashrhymes said...
That is a really smart idea! Mine didn't match up to the waist, unfortunately, but that would have made a lot more sense!
11/5/12 10:47 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
The fit looks great in the pic, I commend you on all those alterations!
1/6/13 9:53 AM
mnitts said...
That's looks so cute, and, dare I say, I prefer your version to gerties!!
1/6/13 10:16 AM
becca a said...
What a pretty dress! The color, the fit, the style--all so pretty!
1/6/13 11:03 AM
KAHooke said...
This dress is on my January sewing list so I really appreciate the review. What do you think caused the "aggressive stretchiness" of the back?
1/6/13 12:30 PM
Cashrhymes said...
KAHooke- I think what caused it to pull apart so much was the rows of elastic shirring in the back. It's very very stretchy. On my next ones I'll either use one less row of elastic, or I'll just make it not as wide in the back.
1/6/13 2:08 PM
katski said...
Your dress looks great and thanks for the tip about the shirring. This dress is currently on my sewing table and I just finished sewing the shirring tonight so we will see!
1/7/13 0:11 AM
Symon said...
Oh you do the same alterations I do! ^_^ FBA and waist adjustment - yours looks great on you!!! I really like the collar and sleeves; perhaps they'll grow on you :) Thanks for the tip on the shirring, too! :)
1/7/13 1:32 AM
LDT2011 said...
I was thinking about sewing this pattern....but I don't want to include the shirring not sure how to eliminate it (it seemed a bit silly if you had buttons up the front to me) so its interesting you say about the 'pull'.
1/10/13 5:31 AM
Thenikkihuff said...
I'm currently in the middle of sewing this dress and am really wishing I had taken some puffiness out of the sleeves, since the act of setting them in is currently causing much frustration. Also, I think the fabric I chose is a little bit too crispy for this dress. But your version looks really nice, good job.
3/13/13 5:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2007-4

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5629

photo
by: rooskie

Review