Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Gertie\'s NBBS (Shirtwaist dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 412 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Cashrhymes
photo
About Cashrhymes
MI USA
Member since: 12/3/11
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/13 9:38 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
I'm not familiar with the pocket placement for this dress, but if they're in-seam pockets in the skirt, it could be that the top is squared off so that the top part can be included in the waist seam. This technique is pretty common and helps the pockets retain their positioning while the garment is being worn.
10/19/12 3:27 PM
Cashrhymes said...
That is a really smart idea! Mine didn't match up to the waist, unfortunately, but that would have made a lot more sense!
11/5/12 10:47 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
The fit looks great in the pic, I commend you on all those alterations!
1/6/13 9:53 AM
mnitts said...
That's looks so cute, and, dare I say, I prefer your version to gerties!!
1/6/13 10:16 AM
becca a said...
What a pretty dress! The color, the fit, the style--all so pretty!
1/6/13 11:03 AM
KAHooke said...
This dress is on my January sewing list so I really appreciate the review. What do you think caused the "aggressive stretchiness" of the back?
1/6/13 12:30 PM
Cashrhymes said...
KAHooke- I think what caused it to pull apart so much was the rows of elastic shirring in the back. It's very very stretchy. On my next ones I'll either use one less row of elastic, or I'll just make it not as wide in the back.
1/6/13 2:08 PM
katski said...
Your dress looks great and thanks for the tip about the shirring. This dress is currently on my sewing table and I just finished sewing the shirring tonight so we will see!
1/7/13 0:11 AM
Symon said...
Oh you do the same alterations I do! ^_^ FBA and waist adjustment - yours looks great on you!!! I really like the collar and sleeves; perhaps they'll grow on you :) Thanks for the tip on the shirring, too! :)
1/7/13 1:32 AM
LDT2011 said...
I was thinking about sewing this pattern....but I don't want to include the shirring not sure how to eliminate it (it seemed a bit silly if you had buttons up the front to me) so its interesting you say about the 'pull'.
1/10/13 5:31 AM
Thenikkihuff said...
I'm currently in the middle of sewing this dress and am really wishing I had taken some puffiness out of the sleeves, since the act of setting them in is currently causing much frustration. Also, I think the fabric I chose is a little bit too crispy for this dress. But your version looks really nice, good job.
3/13/13 5:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4920
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 2/5/12
Read Review

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6435 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by wendybirde on 4/13/12
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us