Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewaholic Patterns: 1201 (Renfrew Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 497 times 127 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Byrdie
photo
Friend of PR
About Byrdiestarstar
NM USA
Member since: 2/1/09
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 108
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:10/12/12 7:26 PM
Last Updated:2/4/14 4:05 PM
Project Photo:Sewaholic Patterns: 1201 by Byrdie

Pattern Photo:Sewaholic Patterns 1201
Sewaholic Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.98 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Version 2 is made using the cowl neck version and a black rayon jersey. I omitted the petite adjustment, making this the original pattern length. Another quick and easy project!

Version 2 Blogged
_______________________________________________________
Pattern Description: Fitted top with sleeve and neckline variations. I made the short sleeved v-neck.

Pattern Sizing: This is available in sizes 0-16. I made a 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? So easy!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love me a basic tee. I wear them all the time either by themselves or layered with other pieces. The v-neck is one of my two favorite necklines (my other favorite is the boatneck) and this one was very easy to sew. I love the neck, sleeve, and hem binding.

No dislikes.

Fabric Used: I used a cotton knit from Mood Fabrics. I spent $12.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I shortened the length by about 1 inch. The one change I may do if I make another short sleeved version is to add a smidge to the sleeve band. My upper arms are a bit on the plump side and the band is a bit tight. It's totally wearable as is but if you have larger upper arms like mine, you might want to add some length to the band.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will sew this one again! I would recommend it to others.

Conclusion: Great basic tee that will get tons of wear!

More on my blog!

Buy this pattern for $15.98     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
megumi said...
Nice job with the stripes! Thanks for the tip about the sleeves. I have the same fitting adjustment and I plan to make this shirt too.
10/12/12 7:59 PM
Doobee64 said...
I can see why you want to make more of these - looks like you have nailed the fitting perfectly. Super little T...
10/12/12 10:46 PM
JEF said...
Great looking T - love the stripes!
10/13/12 9:27 AM
Susan C said...
This top looks great on you! I'm so glad you reviewed this. I'm must be the only person who hasn't made this top but my patterns on its way and its nice to see another positive review!
10/13/12 12:32 PM
Susan C said...
This top looks great on you! I'm so glad you reviewed this. I'm must be the only person who hasn't made this top but my patterns on its way and its nice to see another positive review!
10/13/12 12:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Jenny, your top is fabulous!
10/13/12 1:36 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I love it! The Renfrew looks great on you!
2/4/14 4:43 PM
Levone said...
Love this in black! I was thinking I want to try this version with longer sleeves in a black ponte knit. I better hurry before it gets hot.
2/5/14 0:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1051
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/29/08
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8087
photo
Review by Maree P on 10/18/09
Read Review

McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us