Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1314 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 985 times 50 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:allycovey
photo
Friend of PR
About allycoveystar
AR USA
Member since: 11/16/07
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:10/15/12 9:51 AM
Last Updated:10/17/13 11:48 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1314
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Dress with rouching on either side
Pattern Sizing: I used size 14

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes sort of
Were the instructions easy to follow?THe instructions were good

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like teh style of the dress, I have been looking at it since it came out and really liked how it came out in others reveiws.
Fabric Used: I used a slinky nice print I had purchased last year and can't remember specifics about it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did a very small sloped shoulder adjustment, lowered the arm holes slightly, did a 1" FBA . In hind sight I should of either not done the FBA or made the pattern much smaller. The dress was just huge on me when I got it done.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I think it is a cool pattern, but not flattering if you have an expanding abdomen. (As early as 6 years ago I would have rocked this dress,,, LOL) Oh well, time goes on and we all must adjust. I may cut it much smaller and try again.

Conclusion: This dress came out much larger than I thought it would. I probably shoudl have cut a 12. I am not used to Big 4 pattern as I pretty much only work with Burda and their european measurments. I had no idea how vogue woudl come out. I tried to use the lining as a muslin. Iended up taking up an inch and a half on the sides and that I think kind of messed up the rouching on the side. I kind of saved it though and will probably wear it. But, I really need to try this one again.


back
dresses

OK I made it again..... this time no lining. I just turned under all the edges even the neck and used my cover stitch setting. I used a strip of interfacing on the sides and used my ruffle foot on the evolution. The fabric was ruffled and attached to the interfacing just perfectly and the dress lays much nicer on. I also cut it down to the next size smaller and now it fits much better.
new dress

only bad thing is DH did a terrible job taking a photo. I need to go back to using a timer. And I now have Old Lady body.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Thanks for the review and info on sizing. I missed this one on the last Vogue sale but will definitely grab it next time...good work!
10/15/12 11:44 AM
norie creates said...
Looks great on you. Don't know what vogue was thinking with the models pose! They should really send you a check for your review b/c I would have totally passed this one up if it was based on the illustration!
10/15/12 1:14 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty! Looks great on you!
10/15/12 2:34 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Looks wonderful! Way better than the silly picture on the pattern envelope for sure
10/15/12 5:45 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Looks great on you!
10/16/12 9:07 AM
cocosloft said...
Very good looking! and I love your fabric choice!
10/16/12 9:12 AM
Deepika said...
I love how this looks on you. The back fits so well! This is a perfect winter dress! Thanks for sharing.
10/16/12 10:08 AM
redrockcity said...
Looks great!!
10/16/12 10:47 AM
SewWil said...
Great looking dress!
10/16/12 8:24 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love your dress! I keep eyeing this pattern but haven't picked it up yet. I may have to now that I have seen yours. :)
10/16/12 8:32 PM
jannw said...
It looks great on you..the fit looks good to me. I'm only disappointed that you aren't flat on your back in the model's pose! lol..at least we can see your beautiful dress!
10/17/12 8:30 AM
ggf2005 said...
I think it looks great because the ruching helps camo the tummy that we get as time goes on. I agree that the sizing runs large.
10/17/12 5:11 PM
Judy Kski said...
A very nice looking cool weather dress.
10/17/12 11:31 PM
cerulean said...
Great job! The dress looks lovely! It's good to know about the sizing!
10/17/12 11:35 PM
isecondsis said...
Thanks for the info about the sizing, but you really do look great in this dress in the picture. Like they said - I'm going to get this pattern too, now that I've seen how good the dress looks on you.
10/18/12 8:01 AM
Joan Morley said...
You look great in this cute dress!
10/18/13 11:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 8825
photo
Review by MissCelie on 11/6/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6073 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6073 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7800
photo
Review by morzel on 5/6/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us