SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8679 (Misses' Jacket, Top, Dress, Skirt And Pants)

10 more reviews
Viewed 508 times 
Reviewed by:Marge99
photo

 
 
About Marge99star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/8/10
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/12 9:57 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
I like the way it looks now...all distressed and unusual. The neat tailoring turns it into a very chic garment.
10/17/12 10:13 PM
PattyE said...
I love your jacket.
10/17/12 11:18 PM
carolynw said...
Though I am not a great fan of godets in jackets I would have to give this a definite thumbs up - very well fitted even though you say it still needs some tweaking - has a sense of fun - I do like it
10/18/12 0:00 AM
isecondsis said...
Very cool looking jacket. The combination of funky fabric and ladylike style is fantastic.
10/18/12 7:43 AM
NJcowgirl said...
I think the fabric is great. It truly is one-of-a-kind. That's why we sew, right? What a thorough review. I have this pattern but haven't made it up. Thanks to this review I may now attempt it. I love the back effect.
10/18/12 8:25 AM
Dagmar O. said...
Even though you say your fabric choice was just for the sake of a muslin, I feel that the mottled, distressed look really adds to the steampunk styling of the design and lends an added edge. If you get a similar look in a higher quality fabric, I think you would be really happy. Do you mind if I ask how tall you are and whether you normally consider yourself to be long waisted? I read that you lengthened the waist and am wondering if I would need to do the same as I stand at 5'8.5".
10/18/12 8:59 AM
sarahark said...
Love your jacket! Love how the fabric looks in the picture. Very inspirational.
10/18/12 9:04 AM
Marge99 said...
Dagmar, I am 5'6 and I usually add that little bit to the waist as I am slightly long-waisted with short limbs compared to the "Vogue body." If you have a usual waist length adjustment for Vogue patterns, I would guess that it will be fine for this pattern too, but it is probably better to make a test garment to be sure.
10/18/12 9:22 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
That "test" jacket is fabulous!
10/18/12 9:24 AM
lamstu said...
This toile has an equestrian vibe to it, with the whole funky tie-dye thing - awesome and fun!! can't wait to see your 'real' one.
10/18/12 9:30 AM
karen n said...
I'd definitely wear it out and a lot! I had a tie die dress in these exact colors/pattern and I've held onto it for 20 years I love it so much.
10/18/12 1:02 PM
allycovey said...
I think it is a really cool color. It looks like the leather fabric, one of the designers on project runway poored bleach on for the effect. it is a beautiful jacket
10/18/12 3:57 PM
knitlitcamper said...
I think it looks fantastic :)
10/20/12 5:28 PM
Carolyn.S said...
I love it in the funkier fabric!
10/21/12 11:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Ottobre Design 03-2011-34

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now