Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8679 (Misses' Jacket, Top, Dress, Skirt And Pants) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 503 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Marge99
photo
About Marge99star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/8/10
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/12 9:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
I like the way it looks now...all distressed and unusual. The neat tailoring turns it into a very chic garment.
10/17/12 10:13 PM
PattyE said...
I love your jacket.
10/17/12 11:18 PM
carolynw said...
Though I am not a great fan of godets in jackets I would have to give this a definite thumbs up - very well fitted even though you say it still needs some tweaking - has a sense of fun - I do like it
10/18/12 0:00 AM
isecondsis said...
Very cool looking jacket. The combination of funky fabric and ladylike style is fantastic.
10/18/12 7:43 AM
NJcowgirl said...
I think the fabric is great. It truly is one-of-a-kind. That's why we sew, right? What a thorough review. I have this pattern but haven't made it up. Thanks to this review I may now attempt it. I love the back effect.
10/18/12 8:25 AM
Dagmar O. said...
Even though you say your fabric choice was just for the sake of a muslin, I feel that the mottled, distressed look really adds to the steampunk styling of the design and lends an added edge. If you get a similar look in a higher quality fabric, I think you would be really happy. Do you mind if I ask how tall you are and whether you normally consider yourself to be long waisted? I read that you lengthened the waist and am wondering if I would need to do the same as I stand at 5'8.5".
10/18/12 8:59 AM
sarahark said...
Love your jacket! Love how the fabric looks in the picture. Very inspirational.
10/18/12 9:04 AM
Marge99 said...
Dagmar, I am 5'6 and I usually add that little bit to the waist as I am slightly long-waisted with short limbs compared to the "Vogue body." If you have a usual waist length adjustment for Vogue patterns, I would guess that it will be fine for this pattern too, but it is probably better to make a test garment to be sure.
10/18/12 9:22 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
That "test" jacket is fabulous!
10/18/12 9:24 AM
lamstu said...
This toile has an equestrian vibe to it, with the whole funky tie-dye thing - awesome and fun!! can't wait to see your 'real' one.
10/18/12 9:30 AM
karen n said...
I'd definitely wear it out and a lot! I had a tie die dress in these exact colors/pattern and I've held onto it for 20 years I love it so much.
10/18/12 1:02 PM
allycovey said...
I think it is a really cool color. It looks like the leather fabric, one of the designers on project runway poored bleach on for the effect. it is a beautiful jacket
10/18/12 3:57 PM
knitlitcamper said...
I think it looks fantastic :)
10/20/12 5:28 PM
Carolyn.S said...
I love it in the funkier fabric!
10/21/12 11:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5215
photo
Review by fourkid on 2/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4954
photo
Review by shanntarra on 2/25/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1494 Pattern ( Size S-M-L-XL-XXL-XXXL )
Simplicity 1494 Pattern ( Size S-M-L-XL-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us