SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5499 (Medieval Dress)

12 more reviews
Review submitted in Costume Contest Contest
Viewed 411 times 
Reviewed by:CathyWeeks
photo

 
 
About CathyWeeksstar
MN USA
Member since: 9/5/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/12 12:36 PM
Last Updated:10/28/12 9:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sweetheart3 said...
That is super cool! My kids love Brave. Maybe next year I'll make a Merida costume.
10/21/12 12:52 PM
Jrhee said...
Great job with this costume! Your daughter sounds to be the same size as mine, and I face the same kind of alterations when I make clothes for her.
10/21/12 1:38 PM
Sew Whatever said...
This is great! I am sure she will enjoy it. and it can be trotted out in future years in other incarnations. It lookes like she would even have room for other warmer garments under it for now for Halloween. Well done. Some of that stuff about learning the undergarments need to be voluminous are a real eye opener when you do them, aren't they? It makes you wonder how they endured the lumps and bumps in their clothing! :)
10/21/12 2:57 PM
Wujko said...
Great job! I've made two costumes before and find them very fun to make. Hope your daughter enjoys her new dress :-)
10/21/12 3:10 PM
CathyWeeks said...
There's plenty of room under it, for warmer clothes. But she has a cloak from previous years that she can wear over it, that is more in keeping with the character/time (it's a fake leatherette outside, lined in fleece, so it's actually quite warm).
10/21/12 3:37 PM
CathyWeeks said...
Thanks, guys! It was fun to make, and work through how to modify, and what order to do things in. (Basically you put the two dresses together, and join them LAST).
10/21/12 3:38 PM
Sharonspils said...
Amazing dress and you have added so much details.
10/21/12 6:27 PM
Sarah Sew and Sew said...
This is wonderful! I love the velco-zipper closing. It is quite sensible!
10/21/12 8:46 PM
Elke said...
Fabulous costume and I am sure your daughter is going to enjoy wearing it!
10/21/12 11:32 PM
KamiSue2 said...
Wow! It looks great, and the velco/zipper closure was ingenious.
10/22/12 2:42 AM
arianamaniacs said...
That is the best costume! So cute!
10/22/12 2:48 AM
cocosloft said...
Great costume! Beautiful work on this.
10/22/12 8:21 AM
MissParayim said...
I love this, and it looks like your daughter does too. I especially like the embellishment at the neckline. Great job!
10/22/12 9:49 AM
jynclr said...
Cute! I love this! I love seeing how you customized the pattern.
10/25/12 11:55 AM
cowgirlbb said...
Your final version is extremely well done. I really like the alterations you made they make the outfit more authentic looking.
10/27/12 9:41 AM
NancyZL said...
Love this, great work,can you make one for me?
10/28/12 10:35 PM
Butter Bean said...
I think you did a Magnificent Job! Totally a beautiful costume! I can tell by your daughter's beautiful smile that she appreciates all the hard work you put into creating it for her.
10/29/12 6:48 PM
marvelous said...
Very nice! Love the embellishments you added. The faux lace in the back was genius! Your daughter makes a great Merida. Great job!
10/31/12 1:54 PM
LM2HYD said...
Beautiful job, lovely color!
11/1/12 5:38 PM
meleliza said...
I just love it! You've done a truly impressive job. Great design choices, great fabric choice. You've got my vote! I really want to try some like this when my baby gets a little older.
11/3/12 2:13 PM
Fairworthy said...
I love this. Fabulous job!!!
11/15/12 10:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Butterick 6883

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now