Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Gertie's Sultry Sheath (The Sultry Sheath) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 934 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:sugarduck
photo
About sugarduckstar
FRANCE
Member since: 2/7/10
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/12 2:15 PM
Last Updated:10/22/12 6:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful dress! I love the fabric you used too. After taking the Bombshell dress, I really think this book is going to be on my Christmas wish list. I love the idea of Gertie's work with retro inspired dresses/techniques compiled in a book. Don't even mind the couture effort either. The results are so worth it!
10/22/12 6:36 AM
birdmcfarland said...
wow! this is exquisite! I think you talked me into buying this book. You look incredible. Fabulous work!
10/22/12 6:57 AM
jlg said...
Fabulous dress and jacket. So elegant.
10/22/12 7:09 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
My oh my! I'm sold on this pattern and I love your dress. Great job and thanks for the review!
10/22/12 7:24 AM
sewnotwork said...
Very nice! Especially the neckline. I always worry that necklines like that would gape on me. Especially bateau neck lines.
10/22/12 7:51 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Tres, TRES chic. The fit and fabric are perfection and the neckline is extremely flattering. I'm ordering this pattern for the holidays, without a doubt. Thanks for bringing it to my attention..
10/22/12 9:09 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
This silhouette is wonderful at showcasing your figure! The neckline is super flattering and the skirt highlights your slim hips and curves. Gorgeous!
10/22/12 9:47 AM
ArtAttack said...
Simply gorgeous and both pieces look sensational on you! Great job!
10/22/12 10:02 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your dress is fabulous!! I love Gertie's blog. I will have to get her book now.
10/22/12 10:34 AM
lakaribane said...
J'ADORE!!! Trop classe!
10/22/12 1:48 PM
Deepika said...
Beautiful dress. Fits perfectly!
10/22/12 2:55 PM
sugarduck said...
Thank you everyone for your lovely comments! It's always so encouraging when a fellow seamstress appreciates your work!
10/22/12 4:10 PM
sewbarbie said...
This is a great marriage of style and cloth.
10/22/12 11:47 PM
tigergirl said...
Wow! This looks fantastic on you - great job.
10/23/12 0:06 AM
Cristinagf said...
Looks awesome!!! I have the book and you've motivated me to try sewing from it now....
10/23/12 4:54 AM
Symon said...
Great review, thank you for the info and for confirming that the pattern was drafted on a B cup - that's so helpful to know ahead of time! ^__^ Your version turned out so stunning - beautiful fabric, and the back view especially is just lovely! :) I'm so glad it hasn't got too much excess ease as well... I'm really looking forward to sewing a lot of the garments in this book! :)
10/23/12 10:45 AM
JEF said...
Absolutely lovely.
10/23/12 12:48 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress and great review! I have this book as well and agree it is wonderful. I think you've motivated me to try to sew something from him. Honestly so far I've been just content with reading through it and looking at all of the wonderful garments.
10/24/12 10:33 AM
AncientElna said...
Thanks for including your wonderful detailed comments on pattern alterations. Very useful. And, of course, I must say your cocktail ensemble is stunning on you!
10/25/12 3:09 PM
Leu said...
I love your dress! I sent you a pm about that slit because I am working on the pencil skirt, too!
10/27/12 11:45 AM
SquishSews said...
Wow, gorgeous!!! Very inspiring!
10/30/12 11:16 PM
LDT2011 said...
Your dress looks great.
11/2/12 7:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's 5433 shirts
photo
Review by OP Gal on 1/3/10
Read Review

Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7330 Pattern
Burda 7330 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6009 JJ Blouse
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 3/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us