Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3938 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1633 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:PegL
photo
About PegLstar
MO USA
Member since: 2/18/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/05 1:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nickle said...
Your jacket looks like it fits you to a tee! Very nice jacket, I like your fabric choice. You made it sound so easy. Penny
1/24/05 2:04 PM
Mary Reed said...
Wow!! I have this OOP!! I'll have to make it up - what do you think about fleece?
1/24/05 2:23 PM
Denny1600 said...
Peg--Wow! You did a very nice job. The jacket fits you well, the binding looks great and the buttons are well done, too. The whole thing is great!
1/24/05 2:47 PM
CatherineN said...
The self binding is better looking than another trim would have been. It doesn't detract from the pretty color of the fabric.
1/24/05 3:07 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely! Wonderful color.
1/24/05 4:28 PM
BjP said...
Good review and very nice looking jacket. I also like the fact that you used self-covered buttons - something we just don't do much anymore but yet looks so nice.
1/24/05 4:35 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful craftmanship, as usual. Amen to Nickle's comment: You make it sound easy. I wish I had your experience with, for example, mitering--to name just one sewing skill brought to bear on this lovely jacket.
1/24/05 6:55 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your jacket looks terrific, and I especially like the big covered buttons. Usually I just go with store buttons, but the covered ones you did really give the jacket a great look.
1/24/05 7:00 PM
PegL said...
Oh my goodness...Thanks everybody for the really nice comments! Penny -- it really is an easy jacket! Only 3 pattern pieces and as I said sew the sleeve in flat. Penelope - mitering binding is really very simple -- I'll send you a drawing for an easy way to do it. Mary Reed, I think this jacket would be excellent in fleece! In fact, that's what the pattern lists to use. I guess I'm old fashioned, I really prefer the fabric covered buttons for a lot of things -- just looks more polished and classy to me.
1/24/05 7:17 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Peg, great jacket! I love self-fabric covered buttons too. It just adds that extra touch because you don't see them so much these days. Your quilting experience shows -- your binding looks perfect! Looks like a very comfortable *and* flattering jacket, a combo not always easy to find.
1/24/05 7:36 PM
jlg said...
Your jacket looks great on you. Beautifully done.
1/24/05 8:03 PM
Shellia said...
Great jacket. I would like to make one for my Mother, I hope it is not OOP.
1/24/05 8:13 PM
JoleneF said...
This turned out beautiful. It looks like you got a nice fit too.
1/25/05 7:35 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a professional looking jacket! You did a beautiful job.
1/25/05 1:46 PM
PegL said...
Thanks for the nice comments! I should check back here more often -- it really brightened my day!
1/25/05 10:18 PM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the close up detail, I had no idea just how cool this jacket was until I saw that. What sort of 'make your own button' blank do you use? Beautiful work!
1/25/05 10:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice. I like the look of this jacket, classic. Thanks for reviewing.
1/26/05 5:47 AM
PegL said...
Georgene, I picked up a package of "Maxant" buttons to cover from Hancocks. It was these are Dritz and I just don't like Dritz so..... This kit came with the little plastic do-hickey (the technical term!) to push the fabric and button blank into and a little plastic thing to help push the back of the button in place. I couldn't do it with my fingers so I used the wood block from my buttonhole cutter and a small hammer! Those buttons are not going to come apart on me! LOL The package only costs $1.39 -- lots cheaper than buttons!
1/26/05 12:03 PM
rhgadavis said...
Your binding looks great--so professional. Nice job. A pattern doesn't have to be complicated to look really good.
1/28/05 11:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2011-109
photo
Review by Jali on 12/5/11
Read Review

Simplicity 4040 Pattern (Size 8-10-12)
Simplicity 4040 Pattern (Size 8-10-12)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6794 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6794 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3422 Men Shirts
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 5/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us