Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 716 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR
About Jstarr4250starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 90 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:10/23/12 11:34 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Super great job on your first pair of jeans, and pants, for that matter! I urge you to make another pair to reinforce what you learned and you will be surprised how easy jeans, pants and fly zippers will become. Congratulations on a great pair of jeans!!
10/23/12 11:57 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks! Making them certainly did increase my confidence level.
10/23/12 12:43 PM
MNBarb said...
They fit you like a dream and make you look like a model. Yes, make more and keep learning. If you have the fit, you have everything. Maybe try a different method of fly. There are many tutuorials out there. If you aren't a jeans wearer, these also work well in stretch corduroy or twill. I don't know what to say about the topstitching woes. Did you use a jean-a-ma-jig for the lumpy areas? A new machine is always fun (and expensive).
10/23/12 12:59 PM
ssssdeb said...
I had the same problem with the "exposed" zipper! We both need to make another pair. Your fit is fabulous!
10/23/12 1:29 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jeans. I do hope more are in your future. First pair of pants??? Wow.
10/23/12 1:37 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Love your Jalie Jeans! I have just made 3 Jalie Jeans and 2 J stern Jeans. I have a Viking SE that did pretty good over the thick areas. I accidentally made an exposed zipper on a pair too. I'm sure you will double check that area on the next pair like I did. I think it is just catching the edge of the zipper tape on the left side instead of sewing by the teeth (I would have to double check - haha).
10/23/12 1:50 PM
SavageCoco said...
Absolutely outstanding. Your first pair of pants ever and you chose jeans?! A braver soul there isn't! Well done!
10/23/12 3:24 PM
blessedtosew said...
Those are perfect!!
10/23/12 3:52 PM
Raye Ann said...
congratulations on jeans that fit and look great! I wish every project could turn out garments the way this pattern does!
10/23/12 4:18 PM
bluenines said...
great pair of jeans! congratulations
10/23/12 4:33 PM
meggipeg said...
Your jeans look lovely on you. I have made a few pairs of these and I was terrified the first time. I used a zip tutorial (http://stitchesandseams.blogspot.com.au/2001/04/techniques-jeans-fly.html) which was really helpful and now I always do it this way. Great job!
10/23/12 6:42 PM
Jrhee said...
These look great and I can't wait until you make your khaki pair!
10/23/12 9:02 PM
hme75 said...
Great jeans! Fantastic fit!
10/23/12 10:57 PM
cleverkitty said...
Don't think for one minute your machine is less powerful then any new machine today. I use to sell Viking sewing machines and those 900 series are sought after, in fact I look on Craigslist all the time for them. You have me baffled was to why you had trouble top-stitching you seem to have done everything right. I use stitchesand seams method for my zippers too along with Sandra Betzina video http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/3831/video-an-easy-flat-fly-front-zipper. Success all the time. Yes I agree the pocket lining print would look nice facing out. Overall you did a beautiful job sewing these :)
10/24/12 8:40 AM
Levone said...
Amazing job on these jeans!
10/24/12 9:21 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
JStarr - Excellent job on the jeans. They are superb. Great fit and great style.
10/24/12 9:30 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thank you everyone for the kind comments and helpful feedback. The credit really must go to Jalie. After wearing them last night I'm even more impressed with the comfort and cut of them. I have printed the Stitches and Seams fly tutorial for my next pair. Cleverkitty; thanks for the great information on Vikings. Last month I bought a Singer with a zillion fancy stitches that I probably would never use. After two days it was returned because the stitch quality was nowhere close to my old Viking and I couldn't see what I was sewing - the needle was so far back under the arm and the lighting was so poor I would not consider keeping it. I just bought a combo serger/coverstitch machine and love that so far, so I'll just hang on to my Viking for a while.
10/24/12 3:56 PM
JEF said...
Gorgeous jeans. I echo what everyone else says - they are wonderful on you!
10/24/12 8:22 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
Muslin? How high are your standards!? These jeans look like they fit great and your topstitching looks great. You may want to try hammering the thick layers before topstitching. Sallieoh.blogspot.com is the site that taught me the rtw right hand fly. Wear with pride cuz you made great jeans!
10/25/12 3:55 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Wow! I'd never know this was your first pair of jeans. Just think how much easier your next pair will be :) Great job!!
10/29/12 9:43 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! I can't believe these are your first pair of jeans. I am getting closer to having the courage to make these. I would be thrilled if mine wind up looking as great as yours.
11/7/12 0:55 AM
JUNIPERJUNE said...
awesome results!
4/30/13 5:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Sew Liberated 117
photo
Review by VintageTem... on 10/15/13
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by withoutsea... on 3/23/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us