SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-114 (Blouse)

4 more reviews
Viewed 447 times 
Reviewed by:Maree P
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Maree Pstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/12 7:22 PM
Last Updated:10/5/14 3:32 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-114 by Maree P

BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-114 by Maree P  BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-114 by Maree P  
Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Magazine Pattern Info

More Info provided by Maree P

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
Fabric:Shirting - Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
This review is an update from my first review of this pattern, Version 1 (see below), in which I erronously traced and used the wrong collar.
Pattern Description:
Casual shirt blouse.
This is a shirt with bust darts, collar with stand, fold back front facing and a yoke.

Pattern Sizing:
The pattern is available in sizes 38-42; I regraded the pattern to a 36.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are very limited.
For Version 1 and 2, I used David Coffin's book for placket template and construction; and Off the Cuff Style's excellent tutorials for collar and stand construction.
The pale blue shirt, Version 3, I made following tutorials on a series I bought on custom shirt making (I will review Mike Maldonado series soon) - it gave great results.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This is a classic style. Fitted but with just the right amount of wearing ease. I love wearing this shirt; it is so comfortable.

Fabric Used:
1. Version 1- striped cotton from Spotlight. Please note this collar is the not the correct draft for this shirt - I traced the wrong one.
2. Version 2- Blue (which has a fine white check not clearly visible in the photos) Italian shirting from Gardams, Brisbane.
3. Version 3- Pale blue shirting cotton from Fabric Collection, Brisbane.

Interfacing Pro-Woven Shirt Crisp fusible - excellent interfacing. The darker blue shirt has been washed innumerable times and this interfacing has maintained its integrity.
Shell Buttons.
Thread Mettler Poly Sheen - this lovely silky look thread gives a fine stitch.
Schmetz 60 needle.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I am super happy with the fitting of the pale blue shirt:
1. I used David Coffin's template for the placket. After using happily using David Coffins placket instructions for years I used Maldonado's instructions on the pale blue shirt- these also give a great placket.
2. I lengthened the sleeves by 4 cm and the torso by 4 cm.
3. I sewed felled seams on the sides and sleeves.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think this is my favourite shirt pattern for a classic semi-fitted shirt.

Conclusion:
This is a great pattern, with an excellent draft for a classic shirt. I have no hesitation in recommending this pattern.
My newest version, the pale blue one is my favourite shirt - I wear it often with trousers from Burda 7447.






<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
This style of shirt is perfect for you and your detailed work is wonderful. I have been reading David Coffin's book before sleep each night, absorbing details as I snooze.
10/5/14 5:22 PM
Nessa09 said...
Beautifully made shirt!
10/5/14 5:21 PM
gmagina said...
Love this shirt. I don't know why Burda hasn't made a nice classic shirt pattern in a while. I will have to go back in my magazines and find this one. It is just what I have been looking for. Thanks for the great review.
10/5/14 1:31 PM
Elke said...
Your shirt looks great!
10/5/14 8:06 AM
Smonks said...
Great looking shirts!
10/5/14 7:19 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Great detail in your review and your shirt is lovely.
10/28/12 5:23 PM
ChristianaT said...
you did an amazing job of this tailored shirt style. Looks fantastic on you and it will prove to be a very flexible piece in your wardrobe. Thanks for all the great references in your review. Christiana
10/28/12 11:41 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Great looking shirt!
10/28/12 9:05 AM
PattyE said...
Nice button down shirt. Regarding interfacing...have you tried the Palmer/Pletsch? I love it.
10/28/12 0:37 AM
Levone said...
Great looking shirt!
10/27/12 8:58 PM
FreyaStark said...
A great shirt, in spite of your reservations. The placket is wonderful, and the collar is just right. I share your frustration with interfacing and have reverted to the sew-in variety after bad experiences with iron on. Surely there has to be a better way than either of those! You might be interested to know that Kwik Sew 3027, view C (which I haven't tried), or Style Arc's Jenny shirt both offer a similar look without the hassle of tracing your own pattern and, in the case of KS, with excellent instructions.
10/27/12 7:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 286481-1009

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
McCall's 6078

photo
by: usbeckers

Review
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

More Info