SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-114 (Blouse)

4 more reviews
Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:Maree P
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Maree Pstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/12 7:22 PM
Last Updated:10/5/14 3:32 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-114 by Maree P

BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-114 by Maree P  BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-114 by Maree P  
Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Magazine Pattern Info

More Info provided by Maree P

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
Fabric:Shirting - Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
This review is an update from my first review of this pattern, Version 1 (see below), in which I erronously traced and used the wrong collar.
Pattern Description:
Casual shirt blouse.
This is a shirt with bust darts, collar with stand, fold back front facing and a yoke.

Pattern Sizing:
The pattern is available in sizes 38-42; I regraded the pattern to a 36.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are very limited.
For Version 1 and 2, I used David Coffin's book for placket template and construction; and Off the Cuff Style's excellent tutorials for collar and stand construction.
The pale blue shirt, Version 3, I made following tutorials on a series I bought on custom shirt making (I will review Mike Maldonado series soon) - it gave great results.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This is a classic style. Fitted but with just the right amount of wearing ease. I love wearing this shirt; it is so comfortable.

Fabric Used:
1. Version 1- striped cotton from Spotlight. Please note this collar is the not the correct draft for this shirt - I traced the wrong one.
2. Version 2- Blue (which has a fine white check not clearly visible in the photos) Italian shirting from Gardams, Brisbane.
3. Version 3- Pale blue shirting cotton from Fabric Collection, Brisbane.

Interfacing Pro-Woven Shirt Crisp fusible - excellent interfacing. The darker blue shirt has been washed innumerable times and this interfacing has maintained its integrity.
Shell Buttons.
Thread Mettler Poly Sheen - this lovely silky look thread gives a fine stitch.
Schmetz 60 needle.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I am super happy with the fitting of the pale blue shirt:
1. I used David Coffin's template for the placket. After using happily using David Coffins placket instructions for years I used Maldonado's instructions on the pale blue shirt- these also give a great placket.
2. I lengthened the sleeves by 4 cm and the torso by 4 cm.
3. I sewed felled seams on the sides and sleeves.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think this is my favourite shirt pattern for a classic semi-fitted shirt.

Conclusion:
This is a great pattern, with an excellent draft for a classic shirt. I have no hesitation in recommending this pattern.
My newest version, the pale blue one is my favourite shirt - I wear it often with trousers from Burda 7447.






Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
This style of shirt is perfect for you and your detailed work is wonderful. I have been reading David Coffin's book before sleep each night, absorbing details as I snooze.
10/5/14 5:22 PM
Nessa09 said...
Beautifully made shirt!
10/5/14 5:21 PM
gmagina said...
Love this shirt. I don't know why Burda hasn't made a nice classic shirt pattern in a while. I will have to go back in my magazines and find this one. It is just what I have been looking for. Thanks for the great review.
10/5/14 1:31 PM
Elke said...
Your shirt looks great!
10/5/14 8:06 AM
Smonks said...
Great looking shirts!
10/5/14 7:19 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Great detail in your review and your shirt is lovely.
10/28/12 5:23 PM
ChristianaT said...
you did an amazing job of this tailored shirt style. Looks fantastic on you and it will prove to be a very flexible piece in your wardrobe. Thanks for all the great references in your review. Christiana
10/28/12 11:41 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Great looking shirt!
10/28/12 9:05 AM
PattyE said...
Nice button down shirt. Regarding interfacing...have you tried the Palmer/Pletsch? I love it.
10/28/12 0:37 AM
Levone said...
Great looking shirt!
10/27/12 8:58 PM
FreyaStark said...
A great shirt, in spite of your reservations. The placket is wonderful, and the collar is just right. I share your frustration with interfacing and have reverted to the sew-in variety after bad experiences with iron on. Surely there has to be a better way than either of those! You might be interested to know that Kwik Sew 3027, view C (which I haven't tried), or Style Arc's Jenny shirt both offer a similar look without the hassle of tracing your own pattern and, in the case of KS, with excellent instructions.
10/27/12 7:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Storm Mountain Designs 14

photo
by: Seamingly ...

Review
Butterick B4958

photo
by: material e...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

More Info
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

More Info