SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Ann T-top (Ann T-top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 670 times 
Reviewed by:LynnRowe
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LynnRowestarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 3/9/09
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/12 1:35 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RatRace said...
You have a way with knits. I'm calling you the Knit Whisperer. Gorgeous top and lovely fabric. I need to try EOS fabric store but I'm afraid of getting addicted to her stock.
10/28/12 2:06 PM
Elona said...
That's a beautiful top and a perfect, perfect neckline!
10/28/12 3:01 PM
Barbara3 said...
Another really beautiful top and helpful review, Lynn. I'm also an avid StyleArc and EOS fan, but I've avoided the tissue weight fabrics thinking they'd drape less well. You've proved me wrong.
10/28/12 3:06 PM
frame said...
Love the fabric. Wish I could see a picture of the pattern. Did you post one and I missed it?
10/28/12 3:38 PM
clotheshorse said...
Another fabulous knit top! Beautiful sewing and great fabric choice! I have this pattern on my wish list now.
10/28/12 4:01 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful knit top; in fact I just looked at your past reviews and love every one of them. I'm dying to try a Style Arc pattern. They all look wonderful.
10/28/12 4:01 PM
Nan Kay said...
Another Style Arc that I NEED! Well, want any way. You did a lovely job with it and the fabric is really nice!
10/28/12 4:30 PM
sewpelican said...
Great top in your fabric choice. I have been waiting to make this up, so having read your review, what am I waiting for? Rhetorical question! Thanks for tip re gathering instead of applying elastic, maybe that's why I have been dithering.
10/28/12 5:03 PM
SavageCoco said...
Beautifully made!
10/28/12 10:38 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous top!
10/29/12 0:46 AM
sewing addict said...
I love your top too and your neckline is perfect. Could you add a little more information on that - where is the joining? Were there markings to show you where to line up centre fronts etc?how did you get it to lie so flat without any visible stitching from the outside? (maybe I just didn't see it) was it all done with an overlocker/coverstitch machine? Sorry to ask so many questions. I have this pattern in my wish list but have yet to brave the knits/stretch fabrics.
10/29/12 8:27 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous fabric, lovely top, and a great review too!!
10/29/12 10:01 AM
CissieW said...
Fabulous top. Love the ruching and the fabric. Great job!
10/29/12 12:16 PM
A Beginners Needle said...
Love it!! I have this and it's on my to sew list. I just wish I had such wonderful taste in knits as you do!
10/29/12 12:44 PM
Pj3g said...
Love it too!
10/29/12 1:05 PM
LynnRowe said...
Sewing addict; the seam is at the center back. I sewed the two short ends of the binding together to make a circle, folded in half wrong sides together and pressed. Then I sewed and serged the binding to the top with a 1/4" seam allowance, with the binding seamline placed at center back of the top. The binding is shorter than the neckline, so I stretched the binding slightly along the back area and slightly more along the upper chest and front area to fit the top neckline. I turn the garment inside out and place the binding on the right side of the garment. The wrong side of the garment is placed on the feed dogs and I sew from inside the fabric "loop". The important thing to make the neck binding lay flat is to press the seam after sewing and/or serging. First press the seam flat as sewn, then flip the binding upwards into position and press the seam downwards towards the body of the garment. If desired, you could top stitch or coverstitch the binding to secure it. I usually don't, as pressing is enough to keep the seam allowance in proper position. I "walk" the binding along the neckline to determine the length needed for the binding, and I attach the binding by "feel", rather than by quartering the garment and binding, or following pattern join marks, because every knit is different and has more or less stretch. The pattern markings may be perfect for one knit, but not for another. This is just a matter of practise and experience. For your first tries, either follow the join markings on the pattern, or quarter the garment neckline and binding. Then if the binding is too loose, rip it back out and shorten it. If too tight, cut another binding slightly longer. It really is a trial and error thing for the first while. HTH!
10/31/12 11:59 AM
sewing addict said...
Thank you so much Lynn for that wonderful explanation. Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. It will be lots of trial and error for me. Knits kinda scare me. I've never ventured there but I have purchased quite a few bits so it's time to bite the bullet now.
11/21/12 11:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2012-03

photo
by: cerulean

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now