Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6103 (skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 223 times 2 more reviews
Reviewed by:carolinascallin
photo
About carolinascallin
NC USA
Member since: 10/29/12
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/12 3:24 PM
Last Updated:2/15/14 2:17 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6103 by carolinascallin

Pattern Photo:New Look 6103
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: I made View A. This appeared to be just a simple straight pencil style skirt. It does have a back double pleat for some unknown reason. You can read my blog on this at www.windows2wearables.com

Pattern Sizing: I sewed the size 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Instructions were easy to follow - even for a beginner like me! The double pleat kind of threw me off as I didn't notice it was there when I bought the pattern, but experienced sewers won't have any trouble with it

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The yoked waistline give the skirt a nice, smooth front. The double pleat ...not so sure about it

Fabric Used: A polyester woven fabric with some stretch to it. Lined the skirt with static-free polyester lining.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Other than shortening the skirt, I didn't make any real changes. It could probably stand to be taken in a bit, though.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? While I like this skirt, I think there might be better basic skirts out there to try. I might make this again in the size 6 just to see if that makes enough of a difference. Again, the double pleat thing...not so sure. It's a nice look, though.

Conclusion: I think this is a good, solid pattern. It's certainly simple - just 4 pattern pieces! Good basic skirt with a twist (double pleat) to add to one's wardrobe!

Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sugarduck said...
Congratulations on your first review! This looks like a good basic skirt pattern. I like the double pleat in the back. Nice job.
10/30/12 3:34 PM
Scheri said...
I like the double pleat at the skirt back Cheryl. Congratulations on your first review and blog.
10/31/12 1:10 AM
Scheri said...
I like the double pleat at the skirt back Cheryl. Congratulations on your first review and blog.
10/31/12 1:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

brerrabbit.com Funky Friends Factory
photo
Review by Westy85 on 5/16/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5968 Women's Dress
photo
Review by Peter in N... on 11/25/09
Read Review

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1392 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1392 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1358 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1358 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us