Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 78396-1010 (Skirt) - Type:Skirts
Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Refashion / Repurpose Contest    printable version
Viewed 318 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:velosewer
photo
Friend of PR
About velosewerstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/11/06
Reviews written: 309
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 286
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/12 4:37 PM
Last Updated:11/11/12 6:29 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyE said...
Wow, what a fabulous job you did on this skirt! I'm dying to do something with leather and your tip to test with a used garment is very smart.
11/8/12 5:55 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super job! Great skirt...love the zipper!
11/8/12 6:35 PM
sewtime said...
Fantastic! So cute and love the exposed zipper!
11/8/12 8:02 PM
Sharonspils said...
Excellent skirt and the fit looks fantastic!
11/8/12 8:16 PM
Renata said...
The skirt turned out really great but together with that jacket, one sensational outfit. You really know how to put pieces together. Super well done!!
11/8/12 10:14 PM
Dilliander said...
Wonderful skirt and great combo with the jacket. You have made some lovely leather garments!
11/8/12 11:05 PM
Baja Susana said...
Nice work! I have to know, is the skirt whiffy?
11/9/12 5:42 PM
velosewer said...
Actually, I've now sprayed the skirt with Resolve and the wiffy-ness has disappeared. Thanks for asking Baja Susana. I thought the spray might affect the leather colour but it didn't. I didn't test it because I've used this spray on other upholstery and the finish wasn't affected. So I'm guessing this was actually a good piece of leather.
11/9/12 7:09 PM
barebear said...
Ooo, nice job! It's fun working with leather, eh? You have to get creative coming up with new methods for standard sewing techniques (i.e. pinning). I love how your skirt turned out, much nicer than the original garment!
11/10/12 10:08 PM
annakeeton said...
Lovely skirt and this is a super reuse of the jacket!
11/11/12 6:25 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You are certainly getting the hang of sewing with leather. Great job!
11/11/12 8:18 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a great idea! Your skirt is so cute! Thanks for all of the leather resources too. I have definitely been thinking about leather these days, especially after seeing Clio's jacket.
11/11/12 8:20 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Love your 'fearlessness' ....you just jump in there and give it a whirl....and wow...what a great result!
11/14/12 4:42 AM
nancy2001 said...
What an amazing transformation! Your skirt turned out beautifully.
11/14/12 3:46 PM
lbrundage said...
I like it! Very, very sassy. Isn't re-styling such fun?
11/15/12 3:36 PM
ModCat said...
Hee hee-great review! I also would like to work with leather someday and these are great tips. Love the tip on practicing on a used piece first- I have not thought of that.
11/20/12 5:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

StyleArc Jade Dress jade
photo
Review by momsurfing on 3/21/12
Read Review

Burda 9828 Pattern
Burda 9828 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1716
photo
Review by Willowwear... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us