Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2169 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/05 9:21 PM
Last Updated:1/25/05 9:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Denny1600 said...
Kathleen--Wow! THis is beautiful. You did a great job on this dress. And the fabric is a hit. It makes me think of Hawaii, so it's a great combination for summer!
1/25/05 9:39 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow- this is so gorgeous!! Your dress looks fantastic on you, Kathleen. Thanks for your review.
1/25/05 11:03 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Your dress looks fabulous on you, Kathleen! I hope some good fabric finds its way to you, because I don't think you could have too many of these.

You sound just like me with the slowness - I also spend so much time on every step, even on simple projects! I've also been trying to push myself to see if I can be faster (usually I can). Maybe we should start a slow sewer's sew-along :)
1/26/05 2:49 AM

Gloria Allender said...
Kathleen, your dress looks really great! I am getting ready to make this myself and really appreciate your comments. I will be sure to watch the overall length because mid-calf isn't flattering to me.
1/26/05 2:56 AM
AnneM said...
Great dress. Amazing how fast you made it; very encouraging. I'm in the slow-sewers club. I've mulled this pattern over many times; I probalby need to get it. Oh, & great idea on lining the back only to prevent show-through.
1/26/05 4:41 AM
Gail S said...
I just ordered this pattern this week. It looks great on you.
1/26/05 6:57 AM
JoleneF said...
Very nice and very good review!
1/26/05 7:17 AM
marjenann said...
Definitely a winner!!! Lovely look!
1/26/05 7:28 AM
Deepika said...
Love it! and looks so awesome on you.
1/26/05 7:44 AM
Annika said...
Wonderful choice of colors!
1/26/05 10:37 AM
Levone said...
Very pretty dress.
1/26/05 12:31 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great version of this pattern. I agree, it is a nice one.
1/26/05 3:12 PM
ryan's mom said...
This dress looks beautiful on you. Great job!
1/26/05 4:06 PM
JDpenelope said...
Very nice! You certainly have the figure for this dress. Your in-depth review will be very helpful should I take the plunge and sew this up (I have the pattern.) I like my skirts a little longer than yours and I'm not sure the trumpet style would work.
1/26/05 6:03 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. You thin folks look so nice in this dress. Great review.
1/26/05 8:00 PM
Lisa Laree said...
excellent review! I've looked at this dress a few times but haven't sprung for it yet...not being willow thin, I'm not sure I wouldn't just look like an Eckrich sausage in it... ;). Actually, this dress looks very much like the Loes Hinse Sweater Set Shell, lengthened into a dress. That pattern I have...hmmm....
1/27/05 8:01 AM
goldengirl said...
This is very nice and very flattering on you! Thanks for the thorough review. I think I will have to GET this one also.
1/27/05 10:36 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks everyone! I think that this dress is not really for the stick-thin boy's figure. I feel it shows off what curves I have, and would do the same on a larger but hourglass figure. On the other hand, it is very fitted - it shows off rather than disguising, so you have to be comfortable with that.

Asa and Anne, maybe we do need to start a sew-along for slow sewers! I know I could be so much faster.
1/28/05 2:06 AM

kirianth said...
If there's ever a slow sewing sew-along, I'm there too! I've been meaning to take this one out of my stash; sounds like it's still working wonders.
1/29/05 2:11 AM
slanden99 said...
Gorgeous dress! It's very flattering on you.
6/20/06 2:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5215
photo
Review by fourkid on 2/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4954
photo
Review by shanntarra on 2/25/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1494 Pattern ( Size S-M-L-XL-XXL-XXXL )
Simplicity 1494 Pattern ( Size S-M-L-XL-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us