SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1409 (Madison Avenue Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 2171 times 
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/05 9:21 PM
Last Updated:1/25/05 9:21 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slanden99 said...
Gorgeous dress! It's very flattering on you.
6/20/06 2:43 PM
kirianth said...
If there's ever a slow sewing sew-along, I'm there too! I've been meaning to take this one out of my stash; sounds like it's still working wonders.
1/29/05 2:11 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks everyone! I think that this dress is not really for the stick-thin boy's figure. I feel it shows off what curves I have, and would do the same on a larger but hourglass figure. On the other hand, it is very fitted - it shows off rather than disguising, so you have to be comfortable with that.

Asa and Anne, maybe we do need to start a sew-along for slow sewers! I know I could be so much faster.
1/28/05 2:06 AM

goldengirl said...
This is very nice and very flattering on you! Thanks for the thorough review. I think I will have to GET this one also.
1/27/05 10:36 AM
Lisa Laree said...
excellent review! I've looked at this dress a few times but haven't sprung for it yet...not being willow thin, I'm not sure I wouldn't just look like an Eckrich sausage in it... ;). Actually, this dress looks very much like the Loes Hinse Sweater Set Shell, lengthened into a dress. That pattern I have...hmmm....
1/27/05 8:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. You thin folks look so nice in this dress. Great review.
1/26/05 8:00 PM
JDpenelope said...
Very nice! You certainly have the figure for this dress. Your in-depth review will be very helpful should I take the plunge and sew this up (I have the pattern.) I like my skirts a little longer than yours and I'm not sure the trumpet style would work.
1/26/05 6:03 PM
ryan's mom said...
This dress looks beautiful on you. Great job!
1/26/05 4:06 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great version of this pattern. I agree, it is a nice one.
1/26/05 3:12 PM
Levone said...
Very pretty dress.
1/26/05 12:31 PM
Annika said...
Wonderful choice of colors!
1/26/05 10:37 AM
Deepika said...
Love it! and looks so awesome on you.
1/26/05 7:44 AM
marjenann said...
Definitely a winner!!! Lovely look!
1/26/05 7:28 AM
JoleneF said...
Very nice and very good review!
1/26/05 7:17 AM
Gail S said...
I just ordered this pattern this week. It looks great on you.
1/26/05 6:57 AM
AnneM said...
Great dress. Amazing how fast you made it; very encouraging. I'm in the slow-sewers club. I've mulled this pattern over many times; I probalby need to get it. Oh, & great idea on lining the back only to prevent show-through.
1/26/05 4:41 AM
Gloria Allender said...
Kathleen, your dress looks really great! I am getting ready to make this myself and really appreciate your comments. I will be sure to watch the overall length because mid-calf isn't flattering to me.
1/26/05 2:56 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Your dress looks fabulous on you, Kathleen! I hope some good fabric finds its way to you, because I don't think you could have too many of these.

You sound just like me with the slowness - I also spend so much time on every step, even on simple projects! I've also been trying to push myself to see if I can be faster (usually I can). Maybe we should start a slow sewer's sew-along :)
1/26/05 2:49 AM

Jennifer shaw said...
Wow- this is so gorgeous!! Your dress looks fantastic on you, Kathleen. Thanks for your review.
1/25/05 11:03 PM
Denny1600 said...
Kathleen--Wow! THis is beautiful. You did a great job on this dress. And the fabric is a hit. It makes me think of Hawaii, so it's a great combination for summer!
1/25/05 9:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info
Maggie

Maggie

More Info
Simplicity 2360

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review