Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Petite Plus Patterns: 104 (Shapely Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1972 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:madebymarie
photo
About madebymarie
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/29/03
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/05 10:18 PM
Last Updated:1/25/05 11:41 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $21.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $21.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
I'm not in the target audience for this pattern but it does sound really good - well, anything that fits straight out of the envelope has got to be good! Your shirt does look nice and RTW.
1/26/05 0:57 AM
AnneM said...
Isn' it great to hve a pattern that doesn't need a lot of alterations? !! Of course, you have an advantage on this one (in looking "like" the model on the pattern envelope). I like the peblum style.
1/26/05 4:46 AM
JoleneF said...
I really like this, yours turned out really good. I am usually one that doesn't wear anything real fitted and this looks nice.
1/26/05 7:22 AM
Ann B. said...
Marie, this is a great shirt. Is the empire seam truly below the bust, on the torso, or is the seam farther up? It is very flattering on you, but I really want to know if it is comfortable to wear. I think button up blouses on well endowed woment are one of the more difficult garments to be both comfortable and attractive. You've done both.
1/26/05 7:47 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for the great review! Great picture of you wearing your gorgeous new top!!
1/26/05 8:39 AM
Annika said...
It is a darling shirt and looks great on you! I have something similar I'm about to make - Kwik Sew 3199 -
1/26/05 10:35 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for the review, I've been curious about these. I really want this pattern now.
1/26/05 12:12 PM
Plantwizard said...
How did you get to be the pattern model? Just curious. Shirt looks really cute but I think I've lost enough weight to be out of the pattern size range.
1/26/05 2:03 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Flattering and attractive. Can't beat that.
1/26/05 3:00 PM
madebymarie said...
Thanks everyone for your nice comments! Ann, I would describe the empire seam as below the bust, but not snugly 'underneath', if that makes any sense. I will be making one in a stretchy satin, lighter in colour, and I'll post that, too. It will show the detail a bit better. I wore the shirt to work today, and it is EXTREMELY comfortable! No gapposis, and lots of range of motion in the arms.
1/26/05 7:51 PM
madebymarie said...
Jan, I met Kathleen at our local (Victoria, BC) sewing show, and volunteered to model in her runway show. I go over to the mainland quite often, and she asked if I'd be interested in doing some photo shoots. Why the heck not, I thought! It's been fun. In the catalog on her website, she's got photos of the clothing on 'real' people in addition to just what's on the pattern envelope.
1/26/05 7:59 PM
PhyllisC said...
Newark Dressmaker Supply carries this pattern - with a pretty good line drawing of it - in their latest catalog. Very flattering!
1/27/05 12:13 PM
AlaskaBerninaGirl said...
Thanks for the review, we have same size bust and was wondering if this shirt would accomodate me, yippee now I will have no problem driving 50 miles to Anchorage to buy this pattern tomorrow!
7/26/09 2:37 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thank you for a great review. I,too, am a 38DDD. Looks great on you.
8/24/09 2:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5466
photo
Review by Couturemum on 6/28/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2010-103A Circle Skirt
photo
Review by EveS on 3/8/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3334 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3334 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5869 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3-4 )
Butterick 5869 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us