SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3315 (Stretch Jeans)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2699 times 
Reviewed by:SewingSkater
photo

 
 
About SewingSkaterstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/05 9:57 AM
Last Updated:1/29/05 4:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rennie Ashby said...
I have sewn KS 3193 and debated on getting this one. I reasoned going down a size would be the way to go for sewing stretch denim. I did order this one from PR.com. It's in the mail. You say it runs large so now I'm wondering what is the difference in these 2 patterns. Guess I'll have to make this one up and report back here. Thanks for the advance warning about the sizing and the high rise.
4/26/05 9:14 PM
SewingSkater said...
To take in the waist, I took in 5/8" on each side seam. I took in a 2 inch seam at the top of the yoke (prior to putting on the waistband) and tapered in to the regular seam allowance in the back (about 6" down). Probably not the best way, but it was fast and it worked. The waistband is straight and is all one piece. For the topstitching, I used a Schmetz extra wide twin needle. (130/705), and the coats Extra Strong Thread for Jeans, both bought at JoAnns. I put the thread in the bobbin as well, and it worked great. Thanks for all the great comments! If I make this again in cordoury (as planned) I'll post more pictures!
1/30/05 1:21 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Great topstitching on the pants - did you use that new Coats/Clark jeans thread? Love the boots, too!
1/29/05 7:52 PM
KathleenS said...
I've had the same experience with KS - too big and a pattern "for stretch fabrics only" that doesn't need the stretch. Nice topstitching!
1/29/05 7:10 PM
Robin H said...
hmm, maybe I will give this a try, I never can buy jeans because the crotch length is too short...., and I have reached that point where (after two kids) my belly really shouldn't be seen.
1/29/05 6:26 PM
Tailypo said...
I am a big gal, with a big butt, and had the same problem with my first, still-incomplete attempt at KS pants -- waaay too big around the waist, and the waistline coming up to my ribs. Please post detailed info on how you take them in, so maybe I will finish mine, too! Very helpful review.
1/29/05 5:24 PM
KitnRose said...
I can't believe this is your first attempt at pants, they look amazingly good. I agree, you need a lower waist, but apparently that's an easy thing to draft. I've got nearly the same measurements and figure as you and am nearly done with some KS sweat pants and found the same sizing problem. I also have fabric pooling a bit under my bum (despite my j-lo-esque assets) and found that pulling the back waist up by about 1" fixes that. I think it's essentially a sway-back alteration. Thanks for the detailed review and the excellent pictures! So much better than the standard front-side-only review that "others" (like, um, me...) do. :)
1/29/05 4:53 PM
SewingSkater said...
Hi Everyone! Here are the pictures. They aren't the best... but you can see how much extra was in before I took in the back seam. Also, on the finished pictures, you can see how high-waisted they are. I had a bit of a problem with wrinkles at the back of the legs (under my butt). Any advice on how to fix that?
1/29/05 4:27 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on the pants. I just made some K.S. sweat pants, & they are huge on me. I took them apart & am going to re-cut them to the next size down. Someone said here that the size goes up to the lower measurement of the next size up (so if L had a hip measurement of 38-42, say, the M would fit up to 38). Don't know if it is true, but it certainly seems it! My hips are about the same size as yours, so thanks for the info!
1/27/05 7:43 PM
Jan B. said...
Good review--thank you!
1/27/05 2:20 PM
Karla Kizer said...
My pattern is on its way to me; that PR "BUY" button is dangerous ;-) Your observations about the fit of these pants echoes my thoughts about KS pants patterns. They are well-drafted, but I always find the crotch length to be very, very long; the fit is usually a little generous, even on well-padded me. I trace 1/2 size smaller by eyeballing an imaginary line exactly between 2 printed sizes, and I always, always shorten the crotch length.
1/27/05 5:56 AM
gabrielle said...
Yay!! Great to see these reviewed so quickly. I also plan on getting this pattern, and your review is both timely and helpful. Looking forward to your photo as well. :)
1/26/05 8:47 PM
Hilary said...
Wow you've already made this! Tha's fast :o) I have this and I appreciate the tips-I will have to lower the waist too. Thanks, I can't wait to see your pics!
1/26/05 4:31 PM
PegL said...
This pattern is on my wish list and I was hoping someone would review them! Thanks for the sizing information. I too am looking forward to seeing the photo!
1/26/05 1:47 PM
Sew it seams said...
I'm looking forward to the photos too. I'm anxious to make a pair of pants, but afraid of all the alterations I know I will need. Great job on "jumping in"! I think I'll order this pattern.
1/26/05 10:54 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, you are quick! Thanks for the review. I too plan to make these soon, so your review is really helpful. I will lower the waist too. Looking forward to the photo.
1/26/05 10:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 78396-1012

photo
by: velosewer

Review
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now