Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3315 (Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2696 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:SewingSkater
photo
About SewingSkaterstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/05 9:57 AM
Last Updated:1/29/05 4:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Wow, you are quick! Thanks for the review. I too plan to make these soon, so your review is really helpful. I will lower the waist too. Looking forward to the photo.
1/26/05 10:06 AM
Sew it seams said...
I'm looking forward to the photos too. I'm anxious to make a pair of pants, but afraid of all the alterations I know I will need. Great job on "jumping in"! I think I'll order this pattern.
1/26/05 10:54 AM
PegL said...
This pattern is on my wish list and I was hoping someone would review them! Thanks for the sizing information. I too am looking forward to seeing the photo!
1/26/05 1:47 PM
Hilary said...
Wow you've already made this! Tha's fast :o) I have this and I appreciate the tips-I will have to lower the waist too. Thanks, I can't wait to see your pics!
1/26/05 4:31 PM
gabrielle said...
Yay!! Great to see these reviewed so quickly. I also plan on getting this pattern, and your review is both timely and helpful. Looking forward to your photo as well. :)
1/26/05 8:47 PM
Karla Kizer said...
My pattern is on its way to me; that PR "BUY" button is dangerous ;-) Your observations about the fit of these pants echoes my thoughts about KS pants patterns. They are well-drafted, but I always find the crotch length to be very, very long; the fit is usually a little generous, even on well-padded me. I trace 1/2 size smaller by eyeballing an imaginary line exactly between 2 printed sizes, and I always, always shorten the crotch length.
1/27/05 5:56 AM
Jan B. said...
Good review--thank you!
1/27/05 2:20 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on the pants. I just made some K.S. sweat pants, & they are huge on me. I took them apart & am going to re-cut them to the next size down. Someone said here that the size goes up to the lower measurement of the next size up (so if L had a hip measurement of 38-42, say, the M would fit up to 38). Don't know if it is true, but it certainly seems it! My hips are about the same size as yours, so thanks for the info!
1/27/05 7:43 PM
SewingSkater said...
Hi Everyone! Here are the pictures. They aren't the best... but you can see how much extra was in before I took in the back seam. Also, on the finished pictures, you can see how high-waisted they are. I had a bit of a problem with wrinkles at the back of the legs (under my butt). Any advice on how to fix that?
1/29/05 4:27 PM
KitnRose said...
I can't believe this is your first attempt at pants, they look amazingly good. I agree, you need a lower waist, but apparently that's an easy thing to draft. I've got nearly the same measurements and figure as you and am nearly done with some KS sweat pants and found the same sizing problem. I also have fabric pooling a bit under my bum (despite my j-lo-esque assets) and found that pulling the back waist up by about 1" fixes that. I think it's essentially a sway-back alteration. Thanks for the detailed review and the excellent pictures! So much better than the standard front-side-only review that "others" (like, um, me...) do. :)
1/29/05 4:53 PM
Tailypo said...
I am a big gal, with a big butt, and had the same problem with my first, still-incomplete attempt at KS pants -- waaay too big around the waist, and the waistline coming up to my ribs. Please post detailed info on how you take them in, so maybe I will finish mine, too! Very helpful review.
1/29/05 5:24 PM
Robin H said...
hmm, maybe I will give this a try, I never can buy jeans because the crotch length is too short...., and I have reached that point where (after two kids) my belly really shouldn't be seen.
1/29/05 6:26 PM
KathleenS said...
I've had the same experience with KS - too big and a pattern "for stretch fabrics only" that doesn't need the stretch. Nice topstitching!
1/29/05 7:10 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Great topstitching on the pants - did you use that new Coats/Clark jeans thread? Love the boots, too!
1/29/05 7:52 PM
SewingSkater said...
To take in the waist, I took in 5/8" on each side seam. I took in a 2 inch seam at the top of the yoke (prior to putting on the waistband) and tapered in to the regular seam allowance in the back (about 6" down). Probably not the best way, but it was fast and it worked. The waistband is straight and is all one piece. For the topstitching, I used a Schmetz extra wide twin needle. (130/705), and the coats Extra Strong Thread for Jeans, both bought at JoAnns. I put the thread in the bobbin as well, and it worked great. Thanks for all the great comments! If I make this again in cordoury (as planned) I'll post more pictures!
1/30/05 1:21 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
I have sewn KS 3193 and debated on getting this one. I reasoned going down a size would be the way to go for sewing stretch denim. I did order this one from PR.com. It's in the mail. You say it runs large so now I'm wondering what is the difference in these 2 patterns. Guess I'll have to make this one up and report back here. Thanks for the advance warning about the sizing and the high rise.
4/26/05 9:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Cake patterns 0144
photo
Review by thecurious... on 8/5/13
Read Review

McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 70883-1002
photo
Review by jannw on 2/10/10
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us