Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5707 (Misses' Dress and Belt) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 573 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 250
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/12 7:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jstarr4250 said...
There's still a lot to love about it even if you aren't totally pleased with your result. The skirt has a beautiful fit and the fabric is lovely.
11/6/12 7:54 PM
Sondra Leigh said...
I think it's stunning, and will be even moreso after you've "saved" it.
11/6/12 8:01 PM
Scheri said...
Wow I love this pattern. But I am so glad you did your review. The fabric is beautiful your sewing is exqusite. Sorry that you do not like the finished result. But thank you so much for sharing.
11/6/12 8:15 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I only wish my "flops" were this gorgeous! Sometimes us sewing ladies have incredibly high expectations. Maybe take a little break and see what inspiration strikes for adjustments. I wasn't thrilled with the fit of my NL 6968 and after a month vacation from it, I felt inspired to do the necessary rework. Even if your dress never sees another needle, I think it is lovely!
11/6/12 8:29 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks so much for your kind words.
11/6/12 8:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, I wouldn't give up on it yet! The color is gorgeous on you and the retro style is very cool. I think with a little tweaking of the bodice you will have a total winner. I hope you end up loving it! Great review, too.
11/6/12 8:58 PM
cmarie12 said...
Thanks for a thorough and honest review. I can understand how the fabric choice is making you dissatisfied with the final dress. I hope you're able to selvage it!
11/6/12 9:44 PM
SewWil said...
Hang in there! You are very close to making this work. The color and style are definitely right for you. I'm sure you will wind up loving this dress. It is beautiful.
11/7/12 0:53 AM
regal80 said...
great smile, great pattern and fit, great fabric choice :)
11/7/12 1:37 AM
Margaret said...
Sorry that you do not like the result. Hope your adjustments make it work for you -- I think it's very pretty though. I've found that with a lot of vintage patterns the skirt turns out more flared/full than the drawing -- sounds like that happened with this reprint too.
11/7/12 7:41 AM
sunnysewer said...
I see what you mean and so frustrating. I think most of the issue is with the fabric choice. Wonder if it would be better with the short sleeves? I just bought this pattern on a whim as well. that belt is perfection.
11/7/12 10:40 AM
MissCelie said...
Nooooo!!!! The color is STUNNING on you. I feel your disappointment :(
11/7/12 12:49 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks for sharing what you feel is a"flop" - I think most of us like me don't do this so it's good to get your opinion. That said there is a lot about this dress to like - the color and fabric are beautiful and looks quite nice on you - hang it in the re-think closet for a while and you probably will find it's really beautiful
11/7/12 1:13 PM
ggf2005 said...
This is a beautiful dress;however, I totally understand where you are coming from. I agree that your fabric is just too crisp for the bodice of the dress.
11/7/12 3:39 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I hope you are able to salvage the dress because there are many beautiful details worth saving! Your workmanship is exquisite!
11/7/12 3:56 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks to everyone for sharing your thoughts. I thought it was important to review a project that didn't necessarily turn out perfect for me. I'm going to take a break from it and sew something else. God knows I have about 20 things cut and ready to sew. When I get back to this dress, I've update the review. Thanks again. Cennetta
11/7/12 5:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8317
photo
Review by otterine on 2/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-109 Striped blouse
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 6/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us