SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5105 (Zipper Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1814 times 
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo

 
 
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/05 10:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pecan said...
Just a lovely jacket. love the fabric!!
8/5/06 11:21 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Sharon - since you asked, I assume it is not a violation to answer... This black satin zipper with gold plated teeth is a Riri Zipper - a Swiss line that is now available to sewers here in the U.S. Very exciting. I handle them at my website. Check my Profile for further information.
3/24/05 6:44 AM
Sharon Smith said...
Thanks for the heads up on the skinny sleeve. And a purple lining! You're a wild one! You are creative, I'd never thought of it, but it's very complimentary. As you say, the style is ordinary and I wouldn't think to spend the money for this pattern either. But you do say she has an interesting method of putting in the zipper. So will I buy it and chalk the price up to lessons? Sounds reasonable. Please tell, where do you find satin zippers? In general I have a hard enough time just finding ordinary separating ones that are long enough and standard color. Satin is very exotic! Just the thing to go with your black ruffles. Lovely.
3/23/05 4:07 PM
shard said...
i love your controlled embellishment. you 'hit it up' just right - not too much, not too little, moves the eye to just the right places and in the right order. (bet i'm telling you stuff you already know.) anyway. i can only aspire to this level of taste, resourcefulness and technical skill. your solution to the 'skinny sleeves' issue is stunning.
2/4/05 5:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely and very creative! Thanks for review.
1/28/05 6:01 PM
MaryBeth said...
Londa: I saw this on your website and I'm glad you've brought the review here so I can tell you that I love love love your sleeves solution. Very pretty!
1/28/05 2:49 PM
JoleneF said...
Very Elegant!
1/28/05 12:42 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful jacket. It looks nothing like the envelope. Better, if you ask me!
1/28/05 7:38 AM
SuzanM said...
Love everything about your jacket - the fabric, the zipper and your design changes!
1/28/05 7:30 AM
AnneM said...
Great review, Londa. Fun adjustments you made.
1/28/05 7:06 AM
Georgene said...
I have noticed the narrow sleeves in LH patterns that I have helped to fit. Your version has a lot more oomph than the original. Correct me if I'm wrong, but isnt this one of her earlier designs? She was still into the major shoulder pads when this was drafted. You are much better off taking her Bistro jacket and changing to the zip front neckline.
1/28/05 0:43 AM
PVA said...
Well, if the man is old enough, his tie might have real lambswool "innards"! Thanks for the review, Londa. I do like your version of this pattern. Lovely fabric.
1/27/05 10:35 PM
Liana said...
Very nice Londa! Love your sleeves, but does it have to be an "old man's tie" or will any age man do? ; )
1/27/05 10:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-141

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review
Butterick 5748

photo
by: guineveres...

Review

Pattern

Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now