Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5105 (Zipper Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1806 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/05 10:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Liana said...
Very nice Londa! Love your sleeves, but does it have to be an "old man's tie" or will any age man do? ; )
1/27/05 10:05 PM
PVA said...
Well, if the man is old enough, his tie might have real lambswool "innards"! Thanks for the review, Londa. I do like your version of this pattern. Lovely fabric.
1/27/05 10:35 PM
Georgene said...
I have noticed the narrow sleeves in LH patterns that I have helped to fit. Your version has a lot more oomph than the original. Correct me if I'm wrong, but isnt this one of her earlier designs? She was still into the major shoulder pads when this was drafted. You are much better off taking her Bistro jacket and changing to the zip front neckline.
1/28/05 0:43 AM
AnneM said...
Great review, Londa. Fun adjustments you made.
1/28/05 7:06 AM
SuzanM said...
Love everything about your jacket - the fabric, the zipper and your design changes!
1/28/05 7:30 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful jacket. It looks nothing like the envelope. Better, if you ask me!
1/28/05 7:38 AM
JoleneF said...
Very Elegant!
1/28/05 12:42 PM
MaryBeth said...
Londa: I saw this on your website and I'm glad you've brought the review here so I can tell you that I love love love your sleeves solution. Very pretty!
1/28/05 2:49 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely and very creative! Thanks for review.
1/28/05 6:01 PM
shard said...
i love your controlled embellishment. you 'hit it up' just right - not too much, not too little, moves the eye to just the right places and in the right order. (bet i'm telling you stuff you already know.) anyway. i can only aspire to this level of taste, resourcefulness and technical skill. your solution to the 'skinny sleeves' issue is stunning.
2/4/05 5:43 PM
Sharon Smith said...
Thanks for the heads up on the skinny sleeve. And a purple lining! You're a wild one! You are creative, I'd never thought of it, but it's very complimentary. As you say, the style is ordinary and I wouldn't think to spend the money for this pattern either. But you do say she has an interesting method of putting in the zipper. So will I buy it and chalk the price up to lessons? Sounds reasonable. Please tell, where do you find satin zippers? In general I have a hard enough time just finding ordinary separating ones that are long enough and standard color. Satin is very exotic! Just the thing to go with your black ruffles. Lovely.
3/23/05 4:07 PM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Sharon - since you asked, I assume it is not a violation to answer... This black satin zipper with gold plated teeth is a Riri Zipper - a Swiss line that is now available to sewers here in the U.S. Very exciting. I handle them at my website. Check my Profile for further information.
3/24/05 6:44 AM
Pecan said...
Just a lovely jacket. love the fabric!!
8/5/06 11:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 8294
photo
Review by Jane S on 10/27/10
Read Review

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Home Sweet Home Pillow
photo
Review by Sew Nanny on 12/12/08
Read Review

Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us