SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Sandra Betzina Coat (Sandra Betzina Coat)

Viewed 1464 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/05 9:22 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie Bonner said...
I have made this coat three times. I don't line it because we don't need a very heavy coat in the California Central Valley. I used some mystery fabrics that I bought from Loes Hinse boutique. All had some synthetic in them because the coats, even without a lining, were very warm. I even took one to China in October and it kept me warm enough (along with the silk long underwear). This coat is so simple. I am fortunate that I can get into Britex for binding since that can make the coat.
7/12/05 10:01 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Ooo, this would be a cool raincoat; what did you use for binding? I wore it to church Sunday...it was a windy day and I had trouble keeping the coat closed; something I didn't even think about. Mayhap I should put a snap about pocket level... ;)
1/31/05 10:55 PM
Diane E said...
Lisa, your coat is wonderful! I love this pattern. I made mine out of "pleather" and it's my stock raincoat. One of my son's friends calls it my "Matrix" coat. The only frustrating thing is the way the coat opens up in the front, letting the rain in. I wonder if it would benefit from a bit more walking ease, even if that isn't' in keeping with the tapered design. Meantime I think your coat is very very nice and it makes me want to make another.
1/31/05 10:46 PM
annsew65 said...
Lisa, No kidding! We all have things that we'd rather our sewing friends didn't see! Sometimes those things help others see what NOT to do! LOL I've had more than my share of those too! I'll bring my jacket I just finished and let you see how I ended up piecing the sleeve lining because I ran out of fabric! It doesn't show unless you turn the sleeve wrong side out! LOL
1/31/05 6:33 AM
Lisa Laree said...
*Gulp* And let all you top notch seamstresses view the almost-too-wide-and-floppy backside of the binding? :0 LOL, I guess I'm game...at least maybe if someone is on the fence about making the coat I could let them try mine on ;)
1/30/05 7:43 PM
annsew65 said...
Lisa, Great coat! I know about the intimidating thing! I've done the same thing - just now finishing up a coat for myself that I cut out 2 years ago! I really like the coat! You did a fabulous job. Bring it to show and tell in Atlanta!
1/30/05 4:54 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks so much, ladies! I didn't mention that I cut out the shell part of the coat eleven months ago and it just kinda sat around waiting on me to get over the fear of cutting that binding precisely! :rolleyes: I wish I hadn't been so intimidated...it really wasn't that bad...
1/30/05 7:23 AM
Kathryn said...
Lisa, this is a wonderful review, so informative and well-written. Your coat turned out so pretty, and practical as well, allowing you to wear it over bulkier garments. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it...I have printed it out and put it right in the pattern envelope, so I can have it on hand when I make this coat. Thank you so much!
1/29/05 8:38 AM
Georgene said...
Thanks LIsa, mush better view this time around. I like your binding and the heirloom button looks great.
1/28/05 11:25 PM
MaryBeth said...
Good review, Lisa: you really had to put some work into explaining to us the pattern problems and your very thoughtful changes. Glad it came out as well as it did and that you will get some good use out of your new coat!
1/28/05 11:20 PM
marjenann said...
Great write up!!Thanks for the info. Very sophisticated look!!!! Love it!
1/28/05 3:48 PM
PhyllisC said...
I've always liked this pattern...good review Lisa; your insight on the printing error is invaluable.
1/28/05 1:00 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Very informative review, with great results!
1/28/05 12:39 PM
JoleneF said...
This turned out very nice and you gave a great review!
1/28/05 12:38 PM
Liana said...
Great coat, and a good review. I'm always planning to make a coat, but never quite have the nerve to start...Maybe this year!
1/28/05 12:36 PM
PegL said...
Great looking coat Lisa! Very thorough review too -- thanks!
1/28/05 11:29 AM
mudcat said...
Lisa, the coat turned out well and it also confirms my prior decision to not make it as much as I still like the style. (I bought the pattern, decided it was going to be way too big on me and sold it on eBay).
1/28/05 10:51 AM
Melody said...
Lisa, I love your coat, it looks beautiful. I appreciate what you noted about the sleeves. I wish I'd made mine longer.
1/28/05 10:50 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Georgene, try clicking on 'view photos larger' after you launch the 'slide show'; it's not great but it does show up a little better. The button pretty much blends in ; it is kind of a tortise shell looking thing that I found in a box of buttons I inherited from my grandmother. It was an orphan, with no mates, so I thought this would be a good place for it.
1/28/05 10:47 AM
Georgene said...
Excellent review, and good results. I wish I could see your photo more clearly, but that is always the trouble when working in dark colors...Did you use a 'fun' button, or does it blend in?
1/28/05 10:38 AM
PVA said...
What a wonderful top coat! I'm sure it is going to be great the way you want to use it. Thanks for the review with all the construction details. (I admire your patience!) I also appreciate the tip on using faux-suede for the binding.
1/28/05 10:09 AM
LindaS. said...
Thanks, Lisa, for a great review. I love how your coat came out - very pretty and practical, too.
1/28/05 9:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Butterick 5474

photo
by: Jojo

Review
Simplicity 1776

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

More Info
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

More Info