Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1003 (Soho Pant) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1982 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Liane M
photo
Friend of PR
About Liane Mstar
TN USA
Member since: 1/5/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:12 AM
Last Updated:1/29/05 7:05 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marjenann said...
I also made these pants in the Ottoman knit from EOS and love them. I have the capri jacket cut out and ready to go!!!! Its true you really don't even need the zipper when using the knit fabric!!!
1/29/05 7:14 AM
Karla Kizer said...
This pattern is the one I use to compare other patterns to because I love the fit. I leave the zipper out when I can get away with it, too (think s-t-r-e-t-c-h-y fabric). Next time, I'm going to modify the design a little by changing the leg taper to straight or boot-cut; the top of the pant is perfect just the way it is. I'm glad you're having success with it, too.
1/29/05 7:25 AM
Michelle T said...
Please correct me if I am wrong. But if you use a stretch fabric, you can make these as pull-ons? How much stretch does those the fabric need. Do you leave the darts in? What sort of waistband/casing technique do you use? I am also plus sized, but fund I really do not need bulk at my waist, but like the confort of pull-on pants.
1/29/05 3:06 PM
Liane M said...
Michelle These pants have two darts on each side in the front and one on each side in the back, this really helps the shaping at the waist. The moleskin I used has very little stretch and I did not use a zipper. The elastic is quarter marked, and then surged the the top edge of the pants, turned and tacked down at the seams. This doesn't really look like an elastic waist. I don't wear tops tucked in so this really doesn't matter much to me. These fit thru the waist but have more room in the butt and thighs where I carry most of my weight. This pattern was worth the $$
1/29/05 3:15 PM
Karla Kizer said...
"But if you use a stretch fabric, you can make these as pull-ons? How much stretch does those the fabric need. Do you leave the darts in? " I figure out whether I can eliminate the zipper by measuring out a width of the fabric equal to my waist, and tugging on it to see it I can stretch it out to something close to my hip measurement. For instance, take 27" of fabric (in my DREAMS) and see if you can stretch it far enough to go over 36" hips (which I did have once. Then I got out of elementary school and things changed...) The darts can be made narrower to allow more room for a billowy waistline; on a couple pairs of these pants, I barely edgestitched what was supposed to be a dart. These pants go together SO fast when you don't put a zipper in!
1/29/05 5:18 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, without the zipper? I suppose with a knit that makes sense. My favorite RTW pants are this style.
1/30/05 8:42 AM
MaryBeth said...
I'm finally armed with enough slinky to attempt to duplicate some of the beautiful garments you've shared with the ASG Nashville group a few weeks ago. Thanks for your reviews and for sharing your great tips in your reviews.
4/27/05 5:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 6113
photo
Review by Dawnabbey on 4/20/13
Read Review

Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)
Simple Things Simply Sweet Circle Scarf Digital Pattern (006)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1100
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 5/19/12
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3853 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3853 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7069 Pattern
Burda 7069 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us