SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Scarves (Scrappy Ends Scarf)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Refashion / Repurpose Contest
Viewed 103 times 
Reviewed by:Tina Rathbone
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tina Rathbonestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:11/15/12 1:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
That turned out really cute. I don't keep scraps, but I have fabric and a rotary cutter. Thanks for the idea.
11/15/12 2:10 AM
Marlene J said...
WOW! Really cute! I'm going to give it a try. It's just so colorful. WAY better than all of the browns & blacks I'm seeing out there for winter. Are the strips about 3/8" wide? .
11/15/12 1:08 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Thanks, Sherril. A rotary cutter will do the job. Marlene, thanks for your Wow-some response! The strips vary: some are just 1/8" wide tapering to nothing. With stabilizer top and bottom, like a sandwich, you can basically do what you want as long as you stitch it enough (lengthwise and crosswise).
11/15/12 1:36 PM
JEF said...
Agree it's cute - so colorful and pretty.
11/16/12 9:13 PM
sewpelican said...
I love how you used up even skinny leftover scraps. What type of thread did you use and what stitches did you choose?
11/17/12 8:17 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Thanks, JEF. SewPelican, I used Superior Threads' Rainbow, variegated, in a random up, down, and diagonal free-motion stitching. I tried to hit all the strips but without over stitching to make it stiff. Rainbow's a poly, which I generally avoid, but this one's super high-quality. I heart Superior Threads!
11/17/12 8:25 PM
barebear said...
This is an incredible scarf! Very creative use for all of your scraps.
11/25/12 7:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2008-103

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now