SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Scarves (Scrappy Ends Scarf)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Refashion / Repurpose Contest
Viewed 103 times 
Reviewed by:Tina Rathbone
photo

 
 
About Tina Rathbonestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews: 20 (patterns: 13)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:11/15/12 1:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barebear said... (11/25/12 7:39 PM) Reply
This is an incredible scarf! Very creative use for all of your scraps.
Tina Rathbone said... (11/17/12 8:25 PM) Reply
Thanks, JEF. SewPelican, I used Superior Threads' Rainbow, variegated, in a random up, down, and diagonal free-motion stitching. I tried to hit all the strips but without over stitching to make it stiff. Rainbow's a poly, which I generally avoid, but this one's super high-quality. I heart Superior Threads!
sewpelican said... (11/17/12 8:17 AM) Reply
I love how you used up even skinny leftover scraps. What type of thread did you use and what stitches did you choose?
JEF said... (11/16/12 9:13 PM) Reply
Agree it's cute - so colorful and pretty.
Tina Rathbone said... (11/15/12 1:36 PM) Reply
Thanks, Sherril. A rotary cutter will do the job. Marlene, thanks for your Wow-some response! The strips vary: some are just 1/8" wide tapering to nothing. With stabilizer top and bottom, like a sandwich, you can basically do what you want as long as you stitch it enough (lengthwise and crosswise).
Marlene J said... (11/15/12 1:08 PM) Reply
WOW! Really cute! I'm going to give it a try. It's just so colorful. WAY better than all of the browns & blacks I'm seeing out there for winter. Are the strips about 3/8" wide? .
Sherril Miller said... (11/15/12 2:10 AM) Reply
That turned out really cute. I don't keep scraps, but I have fabric and a rotary cutter. Thanks for the idea.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Pattern Details
Simplicity 4020

photo
by: KAHooke

Review