SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Scarves (Scrappy Ends Scarf)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in Challenge Contest 2012 - Refashion / Repurpose Contest
Viewed 103 times 
Reviewed by:Tina Rathbone
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tina Rathbonestar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:11/15/12 1:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
That turned out really cute. I don't keep scraps, but I have fabric and a rotary cutter. Thanks for the idea.
11/15/12 2:10 AM
Marlene J said...
WOW! Really cute! I'm going to give it a try. It's just so colorful. WAY better than all of the browns & blacks I'm seeing out there for winter. Are the strips about 3/8" wide? .
11/15/12 1:08 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Thanks, Sherril. A rotary cutter will do the job. Marlene, thanks for your Wow-some response! The strips vary: some are just 1/8" wide tapering to nothing. With stabilizer top and bottom, like a sandwich, you can basically do what you want as long as you stitch it enough (lengthwise and crosswise).
11/15/12 1:36 PM
JEF said...
Agree it's cute - so colorful and pretty.
11/16/12 9:13 PM
sewpelican said...
I love how you used up even skinny leftover scraps. What type of thread did you use and what stitches did you choose?
11/17/12 8:17 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Thanks, JEF. SewPelican, I used Superior Threads' Rainbow, variegated, in a random up, down, and diagonal free-motion stitching. I tried to hit all the strips but without over stitching to make it stiff. Rainbow's a poly, which I generally avoid, but this one's super high-quality. I heart Superior Threads!
11/17/12 8:25 PM
barebear said...
This is an incredible scarf! Very creative use for all of your scraps.
11/25/12 7:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-105

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now