SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2012-112 (Godet Pencil Skirt)

Viewed 277 times 
Reviewed by:tiadia
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tiadiastar
ON CANADA
Member since: 2/21/08
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/12 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
Looks way better on you than the model!!;)
11/15/12 10:01 PM
dragon10 said...
Beautiful skirt.
11/15/12 10:07 PM
persevering said...
Your review is appreciated. The colour of this skirt is great on you. I'm wondering why you underlined the skirt in addition to lining it...could you please explain why? Thanking you. :)
11/15/12 10:24 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
This is an absolutely gorgeous skirt!! Thanks for the review. Must try it.
11/16/12 8:47 AM
tiadia said...
@persevering: I prefer to underline my skirts, particularly if they're a lightweight wool crepe, as this was, because it just adds that little bit more of stability to the fabric. I find it also extends the longevity of the garment, and prevents it from stretching out of shape through wear. I like to line my skirts, too, which may seem like overkill, but again, it helps the garment hang properly (not stick to me) and increases the longevity and wear of the garment. Besides, it feels and looks nice lined!
11/17/12 4:11 PM
persevering said...
Tiadia, Your answer explains everything I wanted to know. And your kindness in responding is also greatly appreciated. Thank you.
11/17/12 8:39 PM
sugarduck said...
Ooh, I love this! Your version is much nicer looking than the one in the magazine. Great job!
11/18/12 3:24 AM
Levone said...
Lovely skirt! And I appreciate your answer concerning both lining and underlining as i've often wondered what's the deciding factor in that.
11/20/12 12:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 5624

photo
by: Alison Cum...

Review

Pattern

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6607

photo
by: mhoutz

Review