SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5559 

49 more reviews
Viewed 791 times 
Reviewed by:Jessamaka
photo

 
 
About Jessamakastar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/14/10
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/13 1:31 PM
Last Updated:1/6/13 1:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissie71 said...
Beautiful dress and detailed review! Thanks!
1/12/13 3:58 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks for sharing your method on the tucks. I've loved this pattern since I first saw it. One of these days l'll get around to making it and I'll refer back to your review.
1/8/13 6:38 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful dress and I love your version. The fabric color is awesome! I made this dress a while back and agree with you about the neckline. It's much too wide. Plus I don't particularly like bateau necklines anyway and for some reasons, the fashion industry LOVES them. Great job!
1/8/13 5:31 AM
waltzqueen said...
The dress is gorgeous and the tucks better than any store-bought could be. Congratulations. Could you cut small pieces of the leftover fabric and sew them at the ends of the neckline on each side to enable you to wear a regular bra? I have seen that kind of addition on ready to wear tops.
1/8/13 0:12 AM
velosewer said...
Stunning dress. I've love to wear your version because it's so well made.
1/7/13 5:44 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Very pretty - you should be proud!
1/6/13 8:35 PM
norie creates said...
your dress is beautiful! This is still one of my favorite patterns!
1/6/13 6:57 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Your dress is VERY pretty! I love the style and color. Where did you get the fabric? It's "my color"!! Nice job and great review.
1/6/13 4:36 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely job and dress!
1/6/13 2:39 PM
Jessamaka said...
Thanks for the heads up- I changed the link for the final picture..
1/6/13 1:46 PM
pdiddly said...
I agree what I can see it looks lovely
1/6/13 2:54 AM
SewWil said...
Great job on the tucks. Your dress is very pretty.
1/6/13 1:43 AM
BlossomKyle said...
your dress looks great! i put bra strap holders in mine to keep the bra straps from showing. i just used some grograin ribbon and snaps.
1/5/13 10:02 PM
CynthiaSue said...
You did a wonderful job with this dress. I can appreciate the difficulty of the tucks and how they can look ugly if you don't slow them slowly. Yours looks perfect.
1/5/13 9:52 PM
guineveresmom said...
Wow. I love the effect of the tucks with the fabric you chose.
1/5/13 3:53 PM
Lisa p said...
Double posted .
1/5/13 3:47 PM
Lisa p said...
From what I can see it is a beautiful dress . ( your picture isn't clickable so you can only see the thumbnail ) I love the way you thread traced the tucks. I will remember that one.
1/5/13 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

More Info