SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5559 

49 more reviews
Viewed 791 times 
Reviewed by:Jessamaka
photo

 
 
About Jessamakastar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/14/10
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/13 1:31 PM
Last Updated:1/6/13 1:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissie71 said...
Beautiful dress and detailed review! Thanks!
1/12/13 3:58 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks for sharing your method on the tucks. I've loved this pattern since I first saw it. One of these days l'll get around to making it and I'll refer back to your review.
1/8/13 6:38 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful dress and I love your version. The fabric color is awesome! I made this dress a while back and agree with you about the neckline. It's much too wide. Plus I don't particularly like bateau necklines anyway and for some reasons, the fashion industry LOVES them. Great job!
1/8/13 5:31 AM
waltzqueen said...
The dress is gorgeous and the tucks better than any store-bought could be. Congratulations. Could you cut small pieces of the leftover fabric and sew them at the ends of the neckline on each side to enable you to wear a regular bra? I have seen that kind of addition on ready to wear tops.
1/8/13 0:12 AM
velosewer said...
Stunning dress. I've love to wear your version because it's so well made.
1/7/13 5:44 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Very pretty - you should be proud!
1/6/13 8:35 PM
norie creates said...
your dress is beautiful! This is still one of my favorite patterns!
1/6/13 6:57 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Your dress is VERY pretty! I love the style and color. Where did you get the fabric? It's "my color"!! Nice job and great review.
1/6/13 4:36 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely job and dress!
1/6/13 2:39 PM
Jessamaka said...
Thanks for the heads up- I changed the link for the final picture..
1/6/13 1:46 PM
pdiddly said...
I agree what I can see it looks lovely
1/6/13 2:54 AM
SewWil said...
Great job on the tucks. Your dress is very pretty.
1/6/13 1:43 AM
BlossomKyle said...
your dress looks great! i put bra strap holders in mine to keep the bra straps from showing. i just used some grograin ribbon and snaps.
1/5/13 10:02 PM
CynthiaSue said...
You did a wonderful job with this dress. I can appreciate the difficulty of the tucks and how they can look ugly if you don't slow them slowly. Yours looks perfect.
1/5/13 9:52 PM
guineveresmom said...
Wow. I love the effect of the tucks with the fabric you chose.
1/5/13 3:53 PM
Lisa p said...
Double posted .
1/5/13 3:47 PM
Lisa p said...
From what I can see it is a beautiful dress . ( your picture isn't clickable so you can only see the thumbnail ) I love the way you thread traced the tucks. I will remember that one.
1/5/13 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 1972-5478

photo
by: pyrxtc

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 140

photo
by: Samantha82

Review
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

More Info