Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5559 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 750 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Jessamaka
photo
About Jessamakastar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/14/10
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/13 1:31 PM
Last Updated:1/6/13 1:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa p said...
From what I can see it is a beautiful dress . ( your picture isn't clickable so you can only see the thumbnail ) I love the way you thread traced the tucks. I will remember that one.
1/5/13 3:47 PM
Lisa p said...
Double posted .
1/5/13 3:47 PM
guineveresmom said...
Wow. I love the effect of the tucks with the fabric you chose.
1/5/13 3:53 PM
CynthiaSue said...
You did a wonderful job with this dress. I can appreciate the difficulty of the tucks and how they can look ugly if you don't slow them slowly. Yours looks perfect.
1/5/13 9:52 PM
BlossomKyle said...
your dress looks great! i put bra strap holders in mine to keep the bra straps from showing. i just used some grograin ribbon and snaps.
1/5/13 10:02 PM
SewWil said...
Great job on the tucks. Your dress is very pretty.
1/6/13 1:43 AM
pdiddly said...
I agree what I can see it looks lovely
1/6/13 2:54 AM
Jessamaka said...
Thanks for the heads up- I changed the link for the final picture..
1/6/13 1:46 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely job and dress!
1/6/13 2:39 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Your dress is VERY pretty! I love the style and color. Where did you get the fabric? It's "my color"!! Nice job and great review.
1/6/13 4:36 PM
norie creates said...
your dress is beautiful! This is still one of my favorite patterns!
1/6/13 6:57 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Very pretty - you should be proud!
1/6/13 8:35 PM
velosewer said...
Stunning dress. I've love to wear your version because it's so well made.
1/7/13 5:44 PM
waltzqueen said...
The dress is gorgeous and the tucks better than any store-bought could be. Congratulations. Could you cut small pieces of the leftover fabric and sew them at the ends of the neckline on each side to enable you to wear a regular bra? I have seen that kind of addition on ready to wear tops.
1/8/13 0:12 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful dress and I love your version. The fabric color is awesome! I made this dress a while back and agree with you about the neckline. It's much too wide. Plus I don't particularly like bateau necklines anyway and for some reasons, the fashion industry LOVES them. Great job!
1/8/13 5:31 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks for sharing your method on the tucks. I've loved this pattern since I first saw it. One of these days l'll get around to making it and I'll refer back to your review.
1/8/13 6:38 AM
brissie71 said...
Beautiful dress and detailed review! Thanks!
1/12/13 3:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's 2940
photo
Review by HanPanda on 12/27/13
Read Review

Burda 7645 Pattern
Burda 7645 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3320 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3320 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8323
photo
Review by MNBarb on 10/29/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us