Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2860 (Misses ) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 386 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:KatC83
photo
About KatC83star
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 9/26/09
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/12 7:45 PM
Last Updated:11/17/12 7:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
I had to laugh at your description of these slacks...not all pants have to cup every curve :-) Sorry you were disappointed in the results. I know the feeling!
11/18/12 0:47 AM
KatC83 said...
Hahahaha I know, I know. I just prefer my pants to fit more closely, otherwise I look huge! On to the next pattern I guess - then I can forget about this disaster :-)
11/18/12 2:25 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I had a look at the pattern and I think the envelope photograph is really misleading. The photograph of the pants looks like a slim leg but the drawing is a waaaay different story. Not fair of the pattern company. Have you given StyleArc a go? ( I have nothing to do with the company.)
11/18/12 3:38 AM
Huntwoman said...
I have this pattern and the Jalie pattern. Thank you for saving me the time and fabric I'd have wasted on these. Hope it was an inexpensive fabric. Size on the big 4 is just crazy, so hard to know. I usually measure the actual pattern pieces but it shouldn't be that hard. Thanks for the picture that was worth a 1000 words! Sure didn't resemble the example they show on the pattern front by any stretch.
11/18/12 6:09 AM
ggf2005 said...
The line drawing is more representative of how they really look. One thing to do before cutting based on your measurement is to look at the amount of ease given on the pattern pieces and if it is not shown then measure. I too have problems because of my bodacious butt and short waist.
11/18/12 1:08 PM
KatC83 said...
You are all completely right - the line drawing should have told me what I needed to know, but I guess I wanted to look like the photograph (no chance, hahaha!). Thankfully the fabric wasn't too expensive, and I didn't waste too much time. You're right that I also could/should have checked the ease on the actual pattern pieces... I shouldn't have trusted the envelope measurements! Frustrating that I should have to do this though, when the pattern cost $15. I will give Style Arc a go, it's been suggested to me a few times. Onwards and upwards :-)
11/18/12 2:55 PM
JEF said...
Agree that photo is very misleading. Hope your next pants come out closer to expectations.
12/9/12 7:26 AM
vannie said...
Just made this pattern. I thought they looked huge as I cut them out so laid a good-fitting pair of pants on top and noticed the different and promptly cut them down 2 sizes from what the measurements said I should wear. Fit perfectly. I didn't have trouble with the fly instructions, but did have to read them carefully and really examine the pictures. Yes, wider leg than anticipated--they are straight leg pants.
1/15/13 11:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 1941 Misses blouse
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 6/19/12
Read Review

New Look 6463 Pattern
New Look 6463 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4885 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 4885 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7196
photo
Review by Kim Winson on 11/5/02
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us