Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5685 (Misses' Jacket and Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 744 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:RebeccaMarie
photo
Friend of PR
About RebeccaMariestarstar
DC
Member since: 5/5/12
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/12 4:13 PM
Last Updated:11/22/12 1:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CreativeDiva said...
I actually like it. It's cool, in that funky Pam Grier/Foxxy Brown way I love.
11/20/12 4:44 PM
regal80 said...
I think it's pimptatstic, and I meant hat in a good way. I'm too shy to wear it out in public so I understand, but this is quite a sexy coat, you have to wear this with some attitude and some big old heels.
11/20/12 5:29 PM
butterflyfly said...
You are too harsh to your creation.. I actually like the fabric you chose! Do you have any pictures without the fur? By the look of the picture it does fit you and I would totally wear it.
11/20/12 5:51 PM
harpsew said...
The velveteen is gorgeous, and the coat seems to fit well - I, too, would like to see a photo without the fur. You really did a good job on this coat.
11/20/12 7:17 PM
miausiau said...
It's hilarious and crazy fun...you'll find the right time to wear it I hope. Fabulous!!
11/20/12 7:39 PM
Lynnelle said...
How else can a garment be described as road-kill chic and pimptastic at the same time and not be fabulous? Thanks for the great review!
11/20/12 8:47 PM
sewtime said...
I reall love your coat! Fun and cute. I hope you change Your mind.
11/20/12 9:46 PM
LynnRowe said...
I thought Yeti fur was protected...
11/20/12 11:54 PM
BettyMike said...
I think your coat is AWESOME! Anyone that makes a coat like that has to wear it. Thanks for the fun to read review!
11/21/12 5:15 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Your reviews always crack me up! I think it could totally work with some tweaks. The velveteen is beautiful- very retro chic. I would love to see pics of it without the yetti. I bet it's lovely just as is with a self collar. Have you thought about scouring vintage shops for some real fur for the cuffs/collar or maybe contrast velvet?
11/21/12 8:12 AM
NJcowgirl said...
You're way too hard on yourself. I think it's actually a fun coat. Wear it--it's one of a kind.
11/21/12 9:13 AM
Ciclista said...
Crazy fabulous review! Just like your coat :)
11/21/12 9:25 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Put that white flag away girl, that coat is fantastic! It's one of those garments that needs the total look going on. You've got the boots, how about a really curly updo in your hair? Obviously, you've got the personality to totally rock this look. Go for it!! Thanks for a great review.
11/21/12 10:35 AM
sew4grands said...
I love the velveteen, but the fake fur...not so much. Is it possible to replace the fur with a solid velveteen, a color that is already in the body of the coat, then you would have a winner.
11/21/12 11:40 AM
MNBarb said...
A well-written fun review. I want to see the coat without the collar. It seems to fit you really well in the photos. You look like a 1960-70's Marianne Faithfull or Michelle Phillips from the Mamas and Papas. Live it up and wear your jacket around town. It's unique and retro! Show off your work.
11/21/12 12:49 PM
AuntieShel said...
Have to agree that this coat is awesome!! Love at first sight when I clicked on the picture, then I read "ok but did not work for me," ??? then I read your hilarious review. However, you totally rock this coat!! Looks perfect to me. I am sorry the velveteen was much stiffer than you thought, one of the pitfalls of buying fabric online. But you did a great job with it!!
11/21/12 2:54 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I have to agree with MNBarb. You coat does look just like the era you were aiming for. It looks like it fits (of course the amazing collar does obscure things a bit). I'm not sorry to disagree with you, I rather like it. It doesn't look like it's wearing you, it suits you. Put it in the closet and let it mellow. Perhaps the enormity of it will dissipate. (You know you want to wear it!)
11/21/12 4:30 PM
Gwinnier said...
too much fun, especially for DC !! just keep rockin', no matter what - oh, the coat: so much talent ... What's next???
11/22/12 3:57 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I too, like many reviewers, love your coat. I am wondering if you'd like it better with different buttons? Just wondering. Wear this wonderful coat with pride! It is adorable! I have this pattern so I appreciate the honest review. :)
11/22/12 7:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
LOL! Great review. Thanks for the laugh. I hope you find somewhere to wear your coat after all your work.
11/23/12 4:20 PM
ChristineX said...
Great, even though in a heroin addict kinda way ;-) The lines of the coat are very nice.
11/24/12 8:29 PM
kerrymay said...
your review made me laugh out loud - I made it the coat in deep red (see review above yours) and it ended up looking like a dressing gown - you win some you lose some
1/12/13 6:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 3609
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Oversized Fashionista Bag
photo
Review by Sewphistic... on 2/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us