SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1128 (MISSES' COAT, TOP AND PANTS)

4 more reviews
Viewed 365 times 
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/12 6:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Annie your coat is fabulous, it looks warm and stylish!
11/20/12 7:19 PM
miausiau said...
I looked at that pattern more than several times...there's a lot to like about it but I did not realize those were pleats in the back instead of seams. I don't really see dumpy and in the pics here it looks a buttery yellow. Jazzing it up with bright accessories is a brilliant solution as it is a yummy looking coat, and the lining is luX!
11/20/12 7:27 PM
frame said...
Beautiful coat.
11/20/12 9:24 PM
marec said...
It's a fabulous coat Annie. I think the dropped shoulders are so extreme that your fear of them looking "dumpy" is not a worry. It's obvious that the shape is meant to be that way. Styling it with a bold red or black and a wild patterned scarf is what I see in my imagination. I love it and wish I could wear this style but I'm too short.
11/20/12 10:58 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I really love your coat and think it looks great. Try wearing it a few times before you make any decisions about whether you like it.
11/21/12 1:44 AM
Pj3g said...
It is beautiful!!!
11/21/12 8:39 AM
annie11 said...
Thanks, everyone! Hearing all of your nice comments makes me look at this coat in a new way. Mary- I think that you are right about black or red for the accessories. I will see if I can find a wild scarf and give that a try.
11/21/12 9:44 AM
lesliez said...
Looks great on you, not dumpy at all. I agree that bold accessories are all that it needs.
11/21/12 11:44 AM
mars418 said...
Ann another GREAT coat! It looks beautiful!
11/21/12 12:03 PM
ghijsmom said...
I love your coat. It looks so elegant and "Stylin". The back is really different. It doesn't look dumpy at all. I hope you get a lot of wear out of your beautiful new coat.
11/21/12 12:14 PM
MNBarb said...
I think the coat is just as it should be. The fabric looks wonderfully soft and the oversized look works because it IS the style. We just aren't accustomed to oversized in an era of super-fitted. Another idea for accent would be to find a scarf with a pattern, the color of the coat, plus another color that compliments you. That way there isn't so much contrast between the garment and accessories. A paisley silk or rayon scarf would be perfect. I love your coat!
11/21/12 12:41 PM
AuntieShel said...
Please count me in with the others who LOVE your coat!! I do not see "dumpy" the least little bit and was surprised when I read that. Great idea to accessorize with some color. I have this pattern but have not made it because I would have to shorten it and with the hemline as a big part of the style you would need to know exactly what length to shorten. Any tips on that, short of making a muslin? Really beautiful coat that looks terrific on you.
11/21/12 2:41 PM
annie11 said...
Barb- I was thinking about a pastel paisley pashmina too! And you are right- I think that we just don't see the oversized silhouette here, as much as in other countries. You guys are really giving me confidence in the look. AuntieShel-Thank you for your encouraging words! I think it would be pretty easy to shorten, as there are a couple of lines on it for shorten/lengthen. I knew that I wanted mine to hit around the knee because I wear dresses a lot and didn't want a whole lot of space between the top of the boot and the dress, but you might prefer yours above the knee if you wear pants more often.
11/21/12 3:23 PM
lamstu said...
I really like your coat! All the suggestions for accessorizing sound awesome. Maybe a smaller bag too? Sometimes wearing it will change your mind...
11/22/12 5:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 5743

photo
by: jaxjax

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now