Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1128 (MISSES' COAT, TOP AND PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 353 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:annie11
photo
Friend of PR
About annie11starstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 3/3/06
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/20/12 6:36 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Annie your coat is fabulous, it looks warm and stylish!
11/20/12 7:19 PM
miausiau said...
I looked at that pattern more than several times...there's a lot to like about it but I did not realize those were pleats in the back instead of seams. I don't really see dumpy and in the pics here it looks a buttery yellow. Jazzing it up with bright accessories is a brilliant solution as it is a yummy looking coat, and the lining is luX!
11/20/12 7:27 PM
frame said...
Beautiful coat.
11/20/12 9:24 PM
marec said...
It's a fabulous coat Annie. I think the dropped shoulders are so extreme that your fear of them looking "dumpy" is not a worry. It's obvious that the shape is meant to be that way. Styling it with a bold red or black and a wild patterned scarf is what I see in my imagination. I love it and wish I could wear this style but I'm too short.
11/20/12 10:58 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I really love your coat and think it looks great. Try wearing it a few times before you make any decisions about whether you like it.
11/21/12 1:44 AM
Pj3g said...
It is beautiful!!!
11/21/12 8:39 AM
annie11 said...
Thanks, everyone! Hearing all of your nice comments makes me look at this coat in a new way. Mary- I think that you are right about black or red for the accessories. I will see if I can find a wild scarf and give that a try.
11/21/12 9:44 AM
lesliez said...
Looks great on you, not dumpy at all. I agree that bold accessories are all that it needs.
11/21/12 11:44 AM
mars418 said...
Ann another GREAT coat! It looks beautiful!
11/21/12 12:03 PM
ghijsmom said...
I love your coat. It looks so elegant and "Stylin". The back is really different. It doesn't look dumpy at all. I hope you get a lot of wear out of your beautiful new coat.
11/21/12 12:14 PM
MNBarb said...
I think the coat is just as it should be. The fabric looks wonderfully soft and the oversized look works because it IS the style. We just aren't accustomed to oversized in an era of super-fitted. Another idea for accent would be to find a scarf with a pattern, the color of the coat, plus another color that compliments you. That way there isn't so much contrast between the garment and accessories. A paisley silk or rayon scarf would be perfect. I love your coat!
11/21/12 12:41 PM
AuntieShel said...
Please count me in with the others who LOVE your coat!! I do not see "dumpy" the least little bit and was surprised when I read that. Great idea to accessorize with some color. I have this pattern but have not made it because I would have to shorten it and with the hemline as a big part of the style you would need to know exactly what length to shorten. Any tips on that, short of making a muslin? Really beautiful coat that looks terrific on you.
11/21/12 2:41 PM
annie11 said...
Barb- I was thinking about a pastel paisley pashmina too! And you are right- I think that we just don't see the oversized silhouette here, as much as in other countries. You guys are really giving me confidence in the look. AuntieShel-Thank you for your encouraging words! I think it would be pretty easy to shorten, as there are a couple of lines on it for shorten/lengthen. I knew that I wanted mine to hit around the knee because I wear dresses a lot and didn't want a whole lot of space between the top of the boot and the dress, but you might prefer yours above the knee if you wear pants more often.
11/21/12 3:23 PM
lamstu said...
I really like your coat! All the suggestions for accessorizing sound awesome. Maybe a smaller bag too? Sometimes wearing it will change your mind...
11/22/12 5:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

brerrabbit.com Lucinda Skirt Lucinda Skirt
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 5/2/13
Read Review

Burda 8341 Pattern
Burda 8341 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-20 Rose Dress
photo
Review by 21wale on 2/8/13
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us