Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Bernina MyLabel: T-Shirt (T-Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 391 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:rutaliet
photo
Friend of PR
About rutalietstar
IL USA
Member since: 8/10/08
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/12 11:12 AM
Last Updated:11/24/12 12:37 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
61sew4fun said...
Beautiful! I love tone on tone, white work, candle-wicking, this is so elegant. Thanks for sharing.
11/24/12 11:24 AM
RadarRadiance said...
It is just beautiful and so elegant. What a marvel to look at all the work you put into it and the results are astonishing!!! Yes...thanks for sharing!
11/24/12 12:00 PM
Restart06 said...
Wow, I love it!! I just ordered some stuff from Alabama Chanin as this is next on my list to start! Thanks for the review. It inspires me to get started!!
11/24/12 12:06 PM
Liz in Cville said...
That. Is. So. Beautiful. I am tempted to do something similar now, though only if I can stitch by machine. Will have to experiment. One question: why don't the edges of the motifs curl, as jersey likes to do? Is the stitching close enough to prevent it? Again, SUCH a beautiful top. Congrats, and enjoy :)
11/24/12 12:35 PM
Quickie said...
I am breathless. It's beautiful
11/24/12 12:47 PM
mnitts said...
That is beautiful work.
11/24/12 1:10 PM
RLL said...
That is incredible! I can understand why you feel like a million bucks wearing it.
11/24/12 1:40 PM
sewpelican said...
Beautiful, tone on tone reverse applique is a great statement. Wonderful achievement, so satisfying for you. Your stitching is is so perfect.
11/24/12 2:07 PM
CSY said...
WOW!
11/24/12 2:21 PM
Elona said...
This is true Wearable Art! Just gorgeous!
11/24/12 3:11 PM
n45 said...
Beautiful! I've used the Alabama Chanin Tee and it fits very well for a B/small C. Bigger than that and you probably need FBA. This is beautiful work you've done, and yes the hand sewing is very relaxing.
11/24/12 3:34 PM
jlg said...
I love this top.
11/24/12 5:01 PM
RMJ said...
I didn't understand the attraction of the Alabama Chanin techniques until I saw this - beautiful!
11/24/12 6:03 PM
PattyE said...
Just stunning!
11/24/12 6:05 PM
meggipeg said...
Oh my gosh, I am sitting here in disbelief. Your top is beautiful. Please don't wear it while eating bolognaise or drinking red wine, OK??!!!
11/24/12 6:57 PM
QueenZ said...
A work of love, a work of art, this is truly fabulous!
11/24/12 7:38 PM
kathi s said...
Wow! Really lovely-
11/24/12 11:07 PM
kathi s said...
Wow! Really lovely-
11/24/12 11:07 PM
Michele W said...
Just awe inspiring! You did a fantastic job on it. Thanks for the great detail pics.
11/25/12 0:08 AM
Michele W said...
Just awe inspiring! You did a fantastic job on it. Thanks for the great detail pics.
11/25/12 0:08 AM
Christas said...
Oh, my! This is SOOOOO very lovely! What a very beautiful creation!
11/25/12 0:35 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Creative, elegant and timeless.
11/25/12 1:43 AM
ghijsmom said...
Wow! That is really something. I applaud your lovely stitches!
11/25/12 1:59 AM
Mary Gillette said...
Ditto from me. It's stunning!
11/25/12 4:06 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I've often wondered about the Alabama Chanin patterns and techniques. Your top is just beautiful - a true heirloom :)
11/25/12 7:01 AM
VivianZ said...
OMG! This is beautiful. The work is so evident. Thanks for sharing.
11/25/12 7:39 AM
mending maven said...
SPECTACULAR! Words do not express!
11/25/12 7:59 AM
JEF said...
Amazingly beautiful.
11/25/12 8:26 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
I have never heard of Alabama Chenin before - thank you for bringing it to my attention. Your top is a triumph and a masterpiece. Wear it with great pride.
11/25/12 9:04 AM
Mary M. Mohr said...
This is an amazing garment. What beautiful execution. Have you done much handwork before? And with the bolero it is ahh! Was the bolero something you just concocted or was it also included in the Chanin book?
11/25/12 1:03 PM
newmama said...
Your handwork is amazing and the result is so elegant and stunning. Such beautiful work, thank you for sharing.
11/25/12 2:47 PM
JOshiro said...
A work of art! Thank you for sharing this with us.
11/25/12 5:28 PM
wimmie said...
Simply beautiful.. I never heard of the Alabama Chanin book either. Looks very classy. thanks for the review.
11/26/12 10:17 AM
lcdrbetty said...
I can't come up with an expletive that hasn't already been used...your work is fabulous! I absolutely love it! The bolero adds a whole new demention to WOW!
11/28/12 9:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 4290 T Shirt tops
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3095 jacket
photo
Review by shard on 4/24/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us