SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2004-103 (Jeans)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1487 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/05 3:03 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Very cool! This pattern is a good design opportunity to make a tuxedo stripe in a contrast color or fabric down the side...
1/30/05 3:08 PM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, great pattern (I must have missed this one, hmmmm) and they fit you like a dream. Love the bias trick you used in the "medium" strip. BTW the klickable links took forever to load but I'm glad they finally made it.
1/30/05 3:31 PM
drsue said...
What a wonderful pair of jeans. I have a RTW pair of pants with that side strip and agree it is very lattering. In addtion to smoothing the hip curve it leads the eye to think that your "side seam" is about and 1" closer to your front, thereby shaving off about 2" of hip diameter, visually. I've been looking for a pattern with this feature, but sadly, I stopped subscribing to WOF a few years ago. I may have to go back and start subscribing again.
1/30/05 3:41 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great pair of jeans. It looks to me that the bias strip would be the perfect place to put some embroidery or appliques. Good job.
1/30/05 3:46 PM
sewsue said...
Great pair of jeans, fiiting so well! They look great.
1/30/05 3:53 PM
noreend said...
Those look RTW, and I mean that in the best possible way. Very nice job!
1/30/05 4:01 PM
Denny1600 said...
Those came out looking very flattering. I like that idea of the "thinning" strip down the side. You were also wise to take advantage of a good fabric opportunity, too. Very good job.
1/30/05 4:10 PM
Darla in PA said...
What a great fitting pair of jeans!
1/30/05 4:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
I wish this pattern would make its way into the Burda catalog. I would love to try the bias strip down the side -- it looks like a great way to smooth out the bumps and to provide a little extra stretch as well. Your jeans look great -- wonderful fit.
1/30/05 5:04 PM
PegL said...
Totally amazing looking jeans and fit!
1/30/05 5:11 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very nice looking jeans, and a great review!!!Wonderful job!
1/30/05 5:16 PM
cindyann said...
I love that side strip on this pattern. Very cool feature. Great fitting jeans.
1/30/05 7:47 PM
Annika said...
Very inspiring! I too love that bias strip - I look like hell in jeans most of the time...maybe I'll try this pattern and see if it works for me.
1/30/05 8:23 PM
Levone said...
Great job! Your jeans fit perfectly.
1/30/05 10:13 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice fitting jeans.
1/31/05 5:23 AM
SandraB said...
Your jeans look wonderful. The fit is very flattering.
1/31/05 9:46 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Kay, I must congratulate you, the fit is very good, it really complements you. One can hardly ever get as nice looking pair of jeans from a shop, the review is also good.
1/31/05 1:30 PM
Vibek said...
Looks fabulous! Very cool trick with the bias strip - I missed that actually even though I have the same Burda issue. I look horrible in jeans (you know - some excess natural resourses) but this IS tempting.
2/3/05 12:40 PM
Karin Mantefors said...
They look so good! i canīt belive I missed this pattern, I had to look it upp in the magazine and found out that it had the illustrated instruction too
2/6/05 12:23 PM
Patti B said...
I must have missed this review -- what great jeans. If anything will smooth the side seam area, I'm for it. Lovely job.
10/28/05 5:49 PM
SansSouci572 said...
I had a class with Kenneth King and he said you could do that strip on the inside of your pants where it doesn't show to smooth out bumps...forgot all about his tip till this! I have to go look it up, did he say use petersham....
11/28/05 10:29 AM
Barbara R said...
Wow, great fitting jeans! I once made a pair of slinky pants that were way too tight, so I added a 5" strip (!) to each side seam. I had forgotten about that, but it adds a nice touch and is indeed slimming. I never thought about doing it on purpose, but now I might keep that in mind!
12/5/05 0:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6350

photo
by: saranoemi

Review
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6125

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review