Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2004-103 (Jeans) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1487 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/05 3:03 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Very cool! This pattern is a good design opportunity to make a tuxedo stripe in a contrast color or fabric down the side...
1/30/05 3:08 PM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, great pattern (I must have missed this one, hmmmm) and they fit you like a dream. Love the bias trick you used in the "medium" strip. BTW the klickable links took forever to load but I'm glad they finally made it.
1/30/05 3:31 PM
drsue said...
What a wonderful pair of jeans. I have a RTW pair of pants with that side strip and agree it is very lattering. In addtion to smoothing the hip curve it leads the eye to think that your "side seam" is about and 1" closer to your front, thereby shaving off about 2" of hip diameter, visually. I've been looking for a pattern with this feature, but sadly, I stopped subscribing to WOF a few years ago. I may have to go back and start subscribing again.
1/30/05 3:41 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great pair of jeans. It looks to me that the bias strip would be the perfect place to put some embroidery or appliques. Good job.
1/30/05 3:46 PM
sewsue said...
Great pair of jeans, fiiting so well! They look great.
1/30/05 3:53 PM
noreend said...
Those look RTW, and I mean that in the best possible way. Very nice job!
1/30/05 4:01 PM
Denny1600 said...
Those came out looking very flattering. I like that idea of the "thinning" strip down the side. You were also wise to take advantage of a good fabric opportunity, too. Very good job.
1/30/05 4:10 PM
Darla in PA said...
What a great fitting pair of jeans!
1/30/05 4:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
I wish this pattern would make its way into the Burda catalog. I would love to try the bias strip down the side -- it looks like a great way to smooth out the bumps and to provide a little extra stretch as well. Your jeans look great -- wonderful fit.
1/30/05 5:04 PM
PegL said...
Totally amazing looking jeans and fit!
1/30/05 5:11 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very nice looking jeans, and a great review!!!Wonderful job!
1/30/05 5:16 PM
cindyann said...
I love that side strip on this pattern. Very cool feature. Great fitting jeans.
1/30/05 7:47 PM
Annika said...
Very inspiring! I too love that bias strip - I look like hell in jeans most of the time...maybe I'll try this pattern and see if it works for me.
1/30/05 8:23 PM
Levone said...
Great job! Your jeans fit perfectly.
1/30/05 10:13 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice fitting jeans.
1/31/05 5:23 AM
SandraB said...
Your jeans look wonderful. The fit is very flattering.
1/31/05 9:46 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Kay, I must congratulate you, the fit is very good, it really complements you. One can hardly ever get as nice looking pair of jeans from a shop, the review is also good.
1/31/05 1:30 PM
Vibek said...
Looks fabulous! Very cool trick with the bias strip - I missed that actually even though I have the same Burda issue. I look horrible in jeans (you know - some excess natural resourses) but this IS tempting.
2/3/05 12:40 PM
Karin Mantefors said...
They look so good! i canīt belive I missed this pattern, I had to look it upp in the magazine and found out that it had the illustrated instruction too
2/6/05 12:23 PM
Patti B said...
I must have missed this review -- what great jeans. If anything will smooth the side seam area, I'm for it. Lovely job.
10/28/05 5:49 PM
SansSouci572 said...
I had a class with Kenneth King and he said you could do that strip on the inside of your pants where it doesn't show to smooth out bumps...forgot all about his tip till this! I have to go look it up, did he say use petersham....
11/28/05 10:29 AM
Barbara R said...
Wow, great fitting jeans! I once made a pair of slinky pants that were way too tight, so I added a 5" strip (!) to each side seam. I had forgotten about that, but it adds a nice touch and is indeed slimming. I never thought about doing it on purpose, but now I might keep that in mind!
12/5/05 0:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4063
photo
Review by TalyQ on 1/29/09
Read Review

Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-126 Trousers
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/6/07
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us