Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7131 (Misses Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 325 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/12 3:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $8.96  List Price: $11.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
What a clever woman you are! This coat is beautiful and perfect for its intended use. Your friend will feel like a queen in her soft pink coat. I love the video sections. Aren't you so tech savvy!
11/25/12 3:34 PM
Karendee said...
I can say this whole review equals an advanced sewing workshop featuring many, many techniques. I especially enjoying seeing the demonstration videos and understanding your reasoning behind the sewing decisions. I'm further impressed with your precise work but I guess that's why your garments are so professionally sewn. The fabic, workmanship and style of the coat is just outstanding. Your friend Jolyn is a lucky lady. And what a generous warm gift for you to make for your friend!
11/25/12 4:09 PM
Christas said...
Annette, this coat is a work of art! You have put so much thought into each and every detail to make it more "user friendly" for JoLyn. What a very special friend you are to put so much of yourself and your time into a gift. She is going to cherish this coat forever. I don't doubt that! You are such a dear friend and so very thoughtful and generous. I just wish I could be there when you give this lovely and very beautiful creation to JoLyn! :-)
11/25/12 4:33 PM
Karen Easter said...
I second what everyone else said! It's so nice to see what you're doing these days! The coat is lovely and so very thoughtful.
11/25/12 5:33 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! This coat is beautiful and so well thought out. Great job! I LOVE the fabric. As usual your review was very informative. Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
11/25/12 5:35 PM
prttynpnk said...
Sharp! I love this and great review info.
11/25/12 6:16 PM
miausiau said...
I was just contemplating those woolens by Marc Jacobs at Mood. Nice to see it! Very cute coat.
11/25/12 7:24 PM
Catbird said...
Where can I rate this review EXTRAORDINARY? Annette the Jacket Queen, you have certainly outdone yourself. I enjoyed those videos so much and hope you'll continue to include them in future reviews, although I feel selfish to write that because it must have taken a lot of extra time. What a treat to hear your thought process and to see it all in action. And little Bucky appearing as a bonus! This is a beautiful, thoughtful and heartfelt gift for your lucky friend.
11/25/12 7:30 PM
annie11 said...
I love this coat, and especially love following your process. Great review!
11/25/12 8:01 PM
ArtAttack said...
WOW! I agree...work of art, as well as a labor of love. This is simply gorgeous! Your reveiw is outstanding, too. And thanks for the "anti-frump" vote on my sweater set! You're a doll!
11/25/12 11:59 PM
Nancywin said...
Great looking jacket/ cape. How wonderful of you to make this for your friend. I'm sure she will feel so special when she receives it. Thank you for the outstanding review. Even if I never make this garment, the information you have included is so informative and helpful. I always look forward to your reviews, but you really outdid yourself here! :-)
11/26/12 0:47 AM
lamstu said...
Wow great review even without the video. And an inspiration to all of us. AND a beautiful result from an interesting pattern. Thanks for all of it!
11/26/12 8:20 AM
Margaret said...
Great redesign of the coat and such a wonderful gift! Thanks for the very helpful review, too!
11/26/12 9:36 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice review! I think you will appreciate that I have the same fabric in another color to make doggie coats! That aside, your friend must be thrilled with her coat. It is beautiful.
11/26/12 10:08 AM
Barbara V said...
How beautifully this turned out Annette, in spite of the heavy fabric, tricky lining, designing changes. Yes, what a clever woman you are!!!! Even though my internet service is dismal right now, I still enjoyed some of your youtube tutorials and thought processes. You are so thoughtful to create such a lovely gift for your friend.
11/26/12 9:05 PM
sfshaza said...
Annette, I am so blown away by your new video reviews. How fabulous! I was dying to know how to managed to make the videos and then, in the first clip, when you mentioned how you were doing it, I was laughing out loud. Such a clever woman! I was also very moved by the project itself and your extreme kindness. It is beautiful and I hope Jolyn enjoys your labors for many years. It is such a cheerful, beautiful coat. You are such a class act!
12/1/12 10:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Amy Butler AB033AT Anna Tunic
photo
Review by Sew Mother... on 4/15/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2812
photo
Review by zazzie on 3/23/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us