Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2012-118 (Side Gather Cowl Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Little Black Dress Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 754 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/12 9:47 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redside said...
What a beautiful dress! I love the fit on you. Although I don't wear dresses, this might be nice to have in the closet for a special event.
11/28/12 9:56 AM
redrockcity said...
Gorgeous. It does look fantastic with the gold shoes too. The little jacket is pretty spiffy as well!!
11/28/12 10:00 AM
CissieW said...
Perfect LBD! Looks wonderful on you and I love the boots with it!
11/28/12 10:01 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wow! I think you are ready for any occassion with that LBD!
11/28/12 10:05 AM
61sew4fun said...
I love your LBD and your collage of photos. The dress is classic and fits you so well. Good luck in the contest.
11/28/12 10:07 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful dress and looks gorgeous on you...the fit looks perfect! Thanks for the great review!
11/28/12 10:22 AM
frame said...
Your dress is beautiful and your review is really terrific.
11/28/12 11:04 AM
clothingengineer said...
Love this! I am dealing with a similar curve in the back and I get the best results when I take out the excess fabric from the side seam of the back piece only instead of the darts.
11/28/12 11:06 AM
annie11 said...
Wonderful dress! It fits you like a glove and looks fantastic!
11/28/12 12:43 PM
Nan Kay said...
Love the Texas orange and cowboy boots!!! Great dress.
11/28/12 12:56 PM
mnitts said...
Stunning work
11/28/12 12:59 PM
Levone said...
Great version of this dress!
11/28/12 1:04 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL! Very very nice. Love this - what a nice style 0 the lines are just designer!
11/28/12 1:11 PM
michellep74 said...
I love this on you! This has to be just about your perfect LBD!
11/28/12 1:20 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Lovely dress! I may have to get this pattern now. The cowl neckline and side ruching make for a much more interesting LBD
11/28/12 1:46 PM
Peggyscloset said...
Beautiful dress and very flattering! The day and night looks are perfect.
11/28/12 2:21 PM
SewWil said...
Lovely LBD! The fit IS excellent and looks great on you. Love the orange tights and boots.
11/28/12 3:23 PM
cowgirlbb said...
I think you look better than the model on the pattern. I like it without the sleeves as well. You did a terrific job.
11/28/12 4:29 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute and versatile LBD. Love the TX version!
11/28/12 7:38 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Great job! This is a super pretty dress.
11/28/12 9:06 PM
norie creates said...
Super cute and love the neckline origami : )
11/28/12 11:14 PM
4u2cme said...
Your LBD is lovely! Your reviews are always so helpful and very detailed.
11/29/12 1:25 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review. I like the how you've styled this dress to fit any occasion. Cute and classic.
11/29/12 12:35 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thanks for showcasing this great pattern. Its such a nice restrained cowl. You've put your collage together beautifully, i especially like the Tiffany backdrop!
11/29/12 10:23 PM
Quickie said...
Style is exellent for the purpose
11/30/12 4:32 PM
crazygrad said...
supernice!
11/30/12 5:04 PM
Baja Susana said...
How was your breakfast at Tiffany's. The store as a backdrop is a nice touch. This dress fills the bill and you have styled it well.
12/2/12 8:08 AM
mochimo said...
The dress is beautiful and the fit is great. I'm glad to see that it worked even if you changed the grainline because I have a similar dress (also Burda) in muslin stage since last December. I did not like the skirt on the bias. I think I will try to change the grain and see if it looks better.
12/2/12 9:34 AM
Terri A said...
Gorgeous!
12/3/12 3:09 AM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dress -- basic but with great details! Nice fit too!
12/4/12 9:15 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review, Trena. Love your dress and your styling options. Good luck.
12/5/12 2:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 6355
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 12/7/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 08-2010-03 Blouse
photo
Review by treefrog on 10/24/11
Read Review

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us